The Race

Fernando Alonso scores fifth consecutive Legends Trophy victory

Leave a comment

Two-time Formula One champion Fernando Alonso continued his winning ways in the Legend Trophy sim racing league Saturday, winning on the virtual Monaco Grand Prix street course.

Three-time touring car champion Andy Priaulx also won as the series doubleheader on the virtual streets of Monaco kicked off the opening leg of a “Triple Crown”

In the opening race, Alonso started on the pole position and led all 10 laps, passing Helio Castroneves after the three-time Indianapolis 500 winner briefly nabbed the lead from a great start on a daring move through the pit lane into the first turn.

REAL FUN IN SIMULATIONDario Franchitti loving Legends Trophy experience

EMMO’S RETURNAt 73, Fittipaldi has taken to sim racing

CAMARADERIE, COMPETITIONAdrian Fernandez enjoys sim racing second chapter

Alonso, who won Monaco in 2006 and ’07, scored his fifth consecutive Legends Trophy win in The Race AllStar Series powered by ROKiT Phones after sweeping the past two weekends at Indianapolis Motor Speedway and Silverstone.

He won by 10.46 seconds over Juan Pablo Montoya, and Jan Magnussen took third.

“It was good to have a clean race, even if at the start we saw one car in front that I don’t know what
happened there,” Alonso said of Castroneves. “It was a good race. We knew how important qualifying was, so it was vital to put the lap together and start first.”

Priaulx won the second race by 10.7 seconds over Montoya.

Alonso, who started last, went from 13th to a third-place finish over the 10 laps after being caught in a multicar crash on the first lap.

The Legends Trophy will head next to Indianapolis Motor Speedway on June 20 and Le Mans on June 27. If a driver wins all three, a $25,000 donation will be made to their selected charity.

Alonso also leads the championship standings with 90 points, two more than Montoya, followed by Priaulx (76), Castroneves (70) and Magnussen (66).

IMSA results, points, stats package after Sunday at Road America

Leave a comment

Helio Castroneves and Ricky Taylor delivered Team Penske’s first victory this season in the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, winning at Road America from the pole position Sunday and moving up to sixth in points after finishing no better than seventh in the first three races this season.

The Team Penske No. 7 Acura DPi led a race-high 48  of 63 laps, including the final four after Castroneves seized a restart to take first from Renger van der Zande, who finished second with Ryan Briscoe in the No. 10 Cadillac DPi.

Other class winners at the Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin, road course were the No. 81 ORECA LMP2 07 of Henrik Hedman and Ben Hanley in LMP2, the No. 3 Corvette C8.R of Antonio Garcia and Jordan Taylor in GTLM and the No. 12 Lexus RC F GT3 of Townsend Bell and Frankie Montecalvo in GTD.

RAIN-SOAKED RELIEF: Castroneves delivers Penske’s first win with late pass

Here are the race stats, points and results from the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship race at Road America:

RESULTS: Click here for the overall finishing order and here for the class breakdown.

POINTS: In the DPi standings, the No. 10 Cadillac of Briscoe and van der Zande leads by six points (124-118) over the No. 5 Cadillac of Joao Barbosa and Sebastien Bourdais.

The No. 3 Corvette of Antonio Garcia and Jordan Taylor leads the GTLM standings with 130 points, 10 more than the No. 912 Porsche of Earl Bamber and Laurens Vanthoor.

In GTD, the No. 12 Lexus of Bell and Montecalvo moved into the lead by four points (121-117) over AIM Vasser Sullivan teammates Jack Hawksworth and Aaron Telitz in the No. 14 Lexus.

The No. 38 of Performance Tech Motorsport leads in LMP2.

Click here for the points standings for drivers and teams after Road America.


Fastest laps by driver

Fastest laps by driver after race

Fastest laps by driver and class after race

Fastest lap sequence

Leader sequence

Lap chart

Race analysis by lap

NEXT: The IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship’s GT classes will race Aug. 21-22 at Virginia International Raceway.