Dirt racing roundup: Kyle Larson, Brad Sweet score wins over weekend

Tim Aylwin/All-Star Circuit of Champions

Kyle Larson led all 25 laps in the A Main to win Sunday’s Ollie’s Bargain Outlet All Star Circuit of Champions race at 81 Speedway in Park City, Kansas.

It was the second victory this season and 11th of his career in the 410 winged sprint car series for Larson, who beat Zeb Wise. Cory Eliason, whom Larson passed for the lead on the opening lap, took third ahead of Dominic Scelzi.

Three-time champion Tony Stewart, who owns the All Star Circuit, finished fifth in the A main after winning a heat race.

KYLE LARSON’S FUTURE: Driver says Outlaws in his plans

“That was a lot of fun. I just want to thank all of the fans for coming out and supporting this race,” said Larson, who has been concentrating on racing sprint cars for the past month since being indefinitely suspended by NASCAR. “It definitely feels good to be out here racing sprint cars.

“I knew I needed to be aggressive at the start because it was a shorter race. I was able to get the lead on the first lap and then I just followed the cushion.”

Larson, who earned $5,000 for the victory, finished second Friday to points leader Aaron Reutzel in the series’ A Main at Red Dirt Raceway in Meeker, Oklahoma.

In other dirt racing over the weekend:

WORLD OF OUTLAWS: Brad Sweet swept a Friday-Saturday doubleheader in the World of Outlaws NOS Energy Sprint Car Series at Beaver Dam Raceway in Wisconsin.

After a last-lap pass on Sheldon Haudenschild for the victory Friday night, Sweet led the final 30 laps of Saturday’s 40-lap main event and beat 10-time series champion Donny Schatz by nearly 2 seconds on the 0.333-mile track.

Brad Sweet celebrates after his sweep Saturday (Trent Gower/World of Outlaws).

“You don’t know how many times I’d lead a race until 25-30 laps in and he’d (Schatz) go driving by me,” Sweet said in a World of Outlaws release. “I wouldn’t call him a mentor because he didn’t tell me his secrets, but years and years of studying him is why we’re standing here. I feel like we got a little bit of an edge right now. He’s going to push his team and we’re going to push our team. It’s going to be a heck of a battle this year.”

With his back-to-back wins, the defending series champion reclaimed the points lead from Logan Schuchart (21st Saturday). Sweet is 28 points ahead of Schatz, who moved past Schuchart into second in the standings. Schuchart is ranked third, 36 points behind the leader.

Kasey Kahne, Sweet’s teammate and car owner, led the first 10 laps of Saturday’s main event and finished ninth.

The Outlaws Sprint Car Series will return to Knoxville Raceway in Iowa this weekend to race before a socially distanced crowd Friday and Saturday.

ELDORA SPEEDWAY: Tim McCreadie triumphed in the 67-lap A feature of the Dirt Late Model Stream at Eldora Speedway. Bobby Pierce finished second after starting 17th, and Brandon Sheppard was third.

The event at the half-mile dirt track was held without spectators.

Seattle Supercross by the numbers: Three riders separated by 17 points


Three riders remain locked in a tight battle with 17 points separating the leader Cooper Webb from third-place Chase Sexton and these are only a few Supercross numbers to consider entering Seattle.

Seattle Supercross numbers
Chase Sexton made a statement in Detroit with his second win of 2023. – Feld Motor Sports

For the fifth time in 10 rounds. Sexton, Webb, and Eli Tomac shared the podium in Detroit. Between them, the trio has taken 23 podiums, leaving only seven for the remainder of the field. Jason Anderson, Ken Roczen and Justin Barcia have two each with Aaron Plessinger scoring the other.

Webb and Tomac won the last four championships with two apiece in alternating years, but they were not one another’s primary rival for most of those seasons. On the average, however, the past four years show an incredible similarity with average points earned of 21.0 for Webb and 21.3 for Tomac. With five wins so far this season, Tomac (23 wins) leads Webb (19) in victories but Webb (43) edges Tomac (41) in podium finishes during this span.

Tomac has won two of the last three Seattle races and those two wins in this stadium are topped only by James Stewart. Fittingly, if Tomac gets a third win this week, he will tie Stewart for second on the all-time wins’ list. Tomac tied Ricky Carmichael for third with 48 wins at Oakland and took sole possession of that spot with his Daytona win.

Sexton still has a lot to say and after winning last week in Detroit, he is speaking up. The Supercross numbers are against him entering Seattle, however, because a points’ deficit this large after Round 10 has been erased only once. In 1983 David Bailey was 47 points behind Bob Hannah, and like Sexton he was also in third place. Bailey took the points’ lead with one race remaining.

The seven points Sexton was penalized last week for jumping in a red cross flag section in Detroit could prove extremely costly.

In fact, it has been a series of mistakes that has cost Sexton the most. In the last two weeks, he lost 10 points with a 10th-place finish to go with his penalty. Erase those, and all three riders hold their fate in their hands.

Plessinger’s heartbreak in Detroit is still fresh, but the upside of his run is that was his best of the season and could turn his fortunes around. Prior to that race, he led only seven laps in three mains. He was up front for 20 laps in Detroit with five of those being the fastest on the track.

Last week’s win by Hunter Lawrence tied him with his brother Jett Lawrence for 17th on the all-time wins’ list. With the focus shifting to 250 West for the next two rounds, Jett has a great opportunity to pull back ahead. The real test will be at the first East / West Showdown in East Rutherford, New Jersey on April 22.

Last Five Seattle Winners

2022: Eli Tomac
2019: Marvin Musquin
2018: Eli Tomac
2017: Marvin Musquin
2014: Ryan Villopoto

2022: Hunter Lawrence
2019: Dylan Ferrandis
2018: Aaron Plessinger
2017: Aaron Plessinger
2014: Cole Seely

By the Numbers

Anaheim 2
San Diego

More SuperMotocross coverage

How to Watch Seattle Supercross
Dylan Ferrandis may return before SX finale
SMX develops “Leader Lights”
Power Rankings after Detroit
Hunter Lawrence defends Haiden Deegan
Results and points after Detroit
Chase Sexton wins in Detroit, penalized seven points