Motorsports weekend schedules for July 17-19; IndyCar, IMSA, NASCAR, MotoGP, more


With MotoGP’s premier division finally beginning its season, this weekend promises to be one of the busiest of 2020 so far on the major motorsports weekend schedule.

Along with NASCAR at Texas Motor Speedway, IndyCar (Iowa Speedway), IMSA (Sebring International Raceway), Formula One (Hungary) and NHRA (Indianapolis) also will be in action this weekend, as well as the season opener for American Flat Track.

Here’s the major motorsports weekend schedule of when and where each series is on track this weekend (all times are ET):

American Flat Track

Season opener at Volusia Speedway Park in Barberville, Florida

Friday: Main event, 8:15 p.m., TrackPass on NBC Sports Gold

Saturday: Main event, 8 p.m., TrackPass on NBC Sports Gold

Formula One

Hungarian Grand Prix

Friday: Practice, 5-6:30 a.m., 9-10:30 a.m.

Saturday: Practice, 6 a.m.; Qualifying, 9 a.m.

Sunday: Race, 9:10 a.m.


Cadillac Grand Prix of Sebring at Sebring International Raceway

Friday: Michelin Pilot Challenge Advent Health 120 race, 2:30 p.m., TrackPass on NBC Sports Gold; WeatherTech SportsCar Championship practice, 6 p.m.

Saturday: WeatherTech SportsCar Championship practice, 10 a.m.; Prototype Challenge race, 11:50 a.m., TrackPass on NBC Sports Gold; WeatherTech SportsCar Championship qualifying, 1:55 p.m.; WeatherTech SportsCar Championship race, 5:30 p.m., NBCSN, NBC Sports App,, TrackPass on NBC Sports Gold


Iowa Speedway race weekend doubleheader

Friday: Practice, 2-3:30 p.m., NBC Sports Gold; Qualifying, 5:30 p.m., NBCSN; Race No. 1, 8:30 p.m., NBCSN

Saturday: Practice 2:30 p.m., NBC Sports Gold; Race No. 2, 8:30 p.m. NBCSN


Spanish Grand Prix

Friday: Practice, 3:55-4:40 a.m., 8:10-8:55 a.m.,

Saturday: Practice, 3:55-4:40 a.m., 7:30-8 a.m.; Qualifying, 8:10-8:50 a.m.

Sunday: Race, 8 a.m.; livestream:; TV: 3 p.m. NBC; 8 p.m., NBCSN


Texas Motor Speedway

Saturday: Xfinity Series race, 3 p.m., NBCSN and stream on NBC Sports app; Trucks Series race 8 p.m. FS1

Sunday: Cup Series race, 3 p.m., NBCSN and stream on NBC Sports app


Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis

Saturday: Qualifying

Sunday: Eliminations

Winner Josef Newgarden earns $3.666 million from a record Indy 500 purse of $17 million


INDIANAPOLIS — The first Indy 500 victory for Josef Newgarden also was the richest in race history from a record 2023 purse of just more than $17 million.

The two-time NTT IndyCar Series champion, who continued his celebration Monday morning at Indianapolis Motor Speedway earned $3.666 million for winning the 107th running of the Greatest Spectacle in Racing.

The purse and winner’s share both are the largest in the history of the Indianapolis 500.

It’s the second consecutive year that the Indy 500 purse set a record after the 2022 Indy 500 became the first to crack the $16 million mark (nearly doubling the 2021 purse that offered a purse of $8,854,565 after a crowd limited to 135,000 because of the COVID-19 pandemic).

The average payout for IndyCar drivers was $500,600 (exceeding last year’s average of $485,000).

Indianapolis Motor Speedway owner Roger Penske, whose team also fields Newgarden’s No. 2 Dallara-Chevrolet, had made raising purses a priority since buying the track in 2020. But Penske but was unable to post big money purses until the race returned to full capacity grandstands last year.

The largest Indy 500 purse before this year was $14.4 million for the 2008 Indy 500 won by Scott Dixon (whose share was $2,988,065). Ericsson’s haul made him the second Indy 500 winner to top $3 million (2009 winner Helio Castroneves won $3,048,005.

Runner-up Marcus Ericsson won $1.043 million after falling short by 0.0974 seconds in the fourth-closest finish in Indy 500 history.

The 107th Indy 500 drew a crowd of at least 330,000 that was the largest since the sellout for the 100th running in 2016, and the second-largest in more than two decades, according to track officials.

“This is the greatest race in the world, and it was an especially monumental Month of May featuring packed grandstands and intense on-track action,” Penske Entertainment president and CEO Mark Miles said in a release. “Now, we have the best end card possible for the 107th Running of the Indianapolis 500: a record-breaking purse for the history books.”

Benjamin Pedersen was named the Indy 500 rookie of the year, earning a $50,000 bonus.

The race’s purse is determined through contingency and special awards from IMS and IndyCar. The awards were presented Monday night in the annual Indy 500 Victory Celebration at the JW Marriott in downtown Indianapolis.

The payouts for the 107th Indy 500:

1. Josef Newgarden, $3,666,000
2. Marcus Ericsson, $1,043,000
3. Santino Ferrucci, $481,800
4. Alex Palou, $801,500
5. Alexander Rossi, $574,000
6. Scott Dixon, $582,000
7. Takuma Sato, $217,300
8. Conor Daly, $512,000
9. Colton Herta, $506,500
10. Rinus VeeKay, $556,500
11. Ryan Hunter‐Reay, $145,500
12. Callum Ilott, $495,500
13. Devlin DeFrancesco, $482,000
14. Scott McLaughlin, $485,000
15. Helio Castroneves, $481,500
16. Tony Kanaan, $105,000
17. Marco Andretti, $102,000
18. Jack Harvey, $472,000
19. Christian Lundgaard, $467,500
20. Ed Carpenter, $102,000
21. Benjamin Pedersen (R), $215,300
22. Graham Rahal, $565,500*
23. Will Power, $488,000
24. Pato O’Ward, $516,500
25. Simon Pagenaud, $465,500
26. Agustín Canapino (R), $156,300
27. Felix Rosenqvist, $278,300
28. Kyle Kirkwood, $465,500
29. David Malukas, $462,000
30. Romain Grosjean, $462,000
31. Sting Ray Robb (R), $463,000
32. RC Enerson (R), $103,000
33.  Katherine Legge, $102,000

*–Broken down between two teams, $460,000 Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, $105,500 Dreyer & Reinbold Racing/Cusick Motorsports