Pole-sitter Josef Newgarden fastest in IndyCar practice at Iowa


A few hours before starting first Saturday night at Iowa Speedway (8:30 p.m., NBCSN), Josef Newgarden was first in NTT IndyCar Series practice at the 0.894-mile oval.

The defending series champion’s No. 1 Dallara-Chevrolet turned a 170.199 mph lap in the lone session at Iowa, leading Friday night winner Simon Pagenaud, points leader Scott Dixon (second in Friday’s race), Tony Kanaan and Takuma Sato.

Rounding out the top 10 were Alexander Rossi, Felix Rosenqvist, Graham Rahal, Ryan Hunter-Reay and Conor Daly.

SATURDAY NIGHT IN IOWAAll the information for Race No. 2

WICKED CRASHHerta, VeeKay OK after wild restart collision

The rest of the top 15 were: Marcus Ericsson, Alex Palou, Colton Herta, Rinus VeeKay and Pato O’Ward. Herta and VeeKay were involved in a violent crash Friday night, but both drivers were uninjured and back in fresh cars Saturday.

Santino Ferrucci turned the most laps (104) in the one-hour session but ranked 22nd of 23 drivers in practice.

Others who were deep on the speed chart during IndyCar Iowa practice Saturday: Oliver Askew 21st (after a career-best third in Frdiay night’s race), Will Power 20th (after crashing Friday night).

There were no major incidents in practice. Pagenaud missed the first 15 minutes of the session as his team worked out some fuel pressure bugs (which kept his car from starting for qualifying Friday).

Dixon also brushed the wall near the midpoint of practice but avoided major damage to his No. 9 Dallara-Honda.

Click here for the speeds from practice Saturday afternoon at Iowa.

Click here for the combined speeds from practice Friday and Saturday at Iowa.

Formula E announces Portland, Oregon as US race in 2023

Formula E Portland 2023
Andrew Ferraro / LAT Images

The American date for the 2023 Formula E schedule will move from Brooklyn, New York to Portland, Oregon on June 24, 2023, filling the calendar at 16 rounds. This will be the first time in the nine-year history of the series that they have raced on the West Coast in only the third different city in the United States. Miami hosted one Formula E race in 2015. The series has visited the United States every season except 2020 due to the COVID-1+9 pandemic.

The 2023 race will be Round 12.

“We are excited to bring the premier electric motorsport world championship to Portland for the first time in June next year,” said Alberto Longo, Co-Founder & Chief Championship Officer, Formula E in a press release. “There is a big, passionate fanbase for professional sports in the city, together with strong ecological credentials which makes Portland a perfect host for the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship.

“The USA remains an important market for Formula E. We are delighted to maintain that critical presence and engage a new audience in the Pacific Northwest region in all-electric motorsport.”

MORE: McLaren Racing’s Ian James organization’s entry into Formula E

Last year’s American round in Brooklyn was made up of two races with Nick Cassidy from Envision Racing winning Race 1 and António da Costa from DS Techeetah taking the second race.

Portland will host only one Formula E race in 2023.

The 2023 season will be highlighted by the new Gen 3 car, which features a battery capable of generating 350 kilowatts with regeneration capability from both the front and rear axles. This contributes to a top speed of 200 miles per hour (m.p.h.), an increase of about 25 m.p.h. from last year.

The 2023 season also marks the entry of two new iconic teams, Maserati and McLaren, who completed their roster of drivers in late November with the addition of Jake Hughes.

Season 9 Calendar

Round 1:  January 3, Mexico City, Mexico
Rounds 2 & 3: January 27-28, Diriyah, Saudi Arabia
Round 4: February 11, Hyderabad, India*
Round 5: February 6, Cape Town, South Africa*
Round 6: March 8, São Paulo, Brazil*
Rounds 7 & 8: April 22-23, Berlin, Germany
Round 9: May 6, Monaco
Rounds 10 & 11: June 3-4, Jakarta, Indonesia
Round 12: June 24, Portland, Oregon*
Rounds 13 & 14: July 15-16, Rome, Italy
Rounds 15 & 16: July 29-30, London

*subject to final FIA Safety and Technical checks,