Entry list for the 104th Indy 500 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Indy 500 entry list
Chris Owens/IndyCar

Indianapolis Motor Speedway released a 33-car entry list Monday for the 104th Indy 500.

The Aug. 23 race (1 p.m. ET, NBC; green flag, 2:30 p.m.) will include eight past winners: Helio Castroneves (2001, 2002, 2009) and single winners Scott Dixon (2008), Tony Kanaan (2013), Ryan Hunter-Reay (2014), Alexander Rossi (2016), Takuma Sato (2017), Will Power (2018) and Simon Pagenaud (2019).

Fernando Alonso will be attempting to make his second Indy 500. The two-time Formula One champion is aiming to join Graham Hill as the only drivers to complete the “Motorsports Triple Crown” by winning the Monaco Grand Prix, 24 Hours of Le Mans and Indy 500. Alonso has won twice apiece and Monaco and Le Mans.

ENTRY LIST: The 33 drivers in the 2020 Indy 500

HOW TO WATCH THE INDY 500 ON NBCDetails for the Aug. 23 race

There are five drivers making their Indy 500 debuts this year: Oliver Askew, Dalton Kellett, Pato O’Ward, Alex Palou and Rinus VeeKay.

This will be the first time in four years there are as many entrants as spots in the 33-car field, which means no one will be bumped from the field this Sunday on the last day of qualifying. Last year, Alonso, O’Ward and Max Chilton failed to qualify for the race.

DAILY INDY 500 SCHEDULEClick here for all on-track activity in August at Indy


Indy 500 practice will run Wednesday through Friday, followed by qualifying Saturday. The pole position and top nine slots will be determined Sunday.

Practice and qualifying will be covered fully via NBC Sports Gold, NBCSN and NBC.

The 104th edition of the Greatest Spectacle in Racing is the first in the event’s history to be postponed. Because of the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic, the Indy 500 also will be run without fans for the first time during its history.

Click here for the entry list for the 104th Indy 500.