Indy 500 qualifying results
Karl Zemlin/IndyCar

Indy 500 qualifying results, Day 1

Leave a comment

INDIANAPOLIS — Day 1 of Indy 500 qualifying results set up a Honda showdown for the pole and a difficult road to the front for perennial contender Team Penske.

Andretti Autosport swept the top four spots in the Fast Nine, setting up an intrasquad Dallara-Honda battle between Marco Andretti (fastest at 231.351 mph), Ryan Hunter-Reay, Alexander Rossi and James Hinchcliffe.

They will face off against Scott Dixon, Rinus VeeKay, Alex Palou, Graham Rahal and Takuma Sato today in a 1 p.m. ET session for the pole on NBC.

RESULTS: Click here for speeds on the first day of Indy 500 qualifying

FINAL RESULTS: Fast Nine speeds Sunday, plus Day 1 Saturday

VeeKay is the lone Chevrolet in the Fast Nine, and several other of the manufacturer’s star drivers will be deep in the field at the green flag of the Aug. 23 race (1 p.m. ET, NBC) as starting positions 10-33 were set Saturday.

Three of Penske’s former Indy 500 winners will start outside the top 20: Will Power (22nd), Simon Pagenaud (25th) and Helio Castroneves (28th). Two-time Formula One champion Fernando Alonso will start 26th, and Tony Kanaan, the 2013 Indy 500 winner, will be in 28th.

Defending series champion Josef Newgarden (13th) of Penske is the next-highest starting Chevy after VeeKay.

Click here for the results of Saturday’s qualifying for the Indy 500

IndyCar entry lists for Harvest GP at Indianapolis Motor Speedway

IndyCar entry lists Indianapolis
Chris Graythen/Getty Images
Leave a comment

There are 25 drivers on the NTT IndyCar Series entry lists at Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course with a few new yet familiar faces for the Oct. 2-3 race weekend.

Four-time champion Sebastien Bourdais will make his season debut in the No. 14 Dallara-Chevrolet (shifting Dalton Kellett to the No. 41) with AJ Foyt Racing, which he is joining full time next season. James Hinchcliffe, who had run three races with Andretti Autosport, will return in place of Zach Veach in the No. 26 Dallara-Honda. Helio Castroneves will drive Arrow McLaren SP’s No. 7 Dallara-Chevy for Oliver Askew, who is out with concussion-like symptoms.

Sage Karam, who has two IndyCar starts this year at IMS (the road course on July 4 and the Indy 500 on Aug. 23), also will return to the series in Dreyer & Reinbold’s No. 24 Dallara-Chevrolet.


Friday and Saturday of the Harvest GP presented by GMR will mark the second and third races this season on Indianapolis Motor Speedway’s 14-turn, 2.439-mile road course. While the July 4 race on the circuit was 80 laps, Friday’s distance is 85 laps, and Saturday will be a 75-lap event.

Championship leader Scott Dixon led 26 of 80 laps to win the July 4 race at the IMS road course. With three races remaining in the series, the five-time series champion enters with a 72-point lead on Josef Newgarden.

Click here to see who’s on the IndyCar entry lists in Race 1 and in Race 2 for the Harvest GP presented by GMR at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course.



IndyCar NTT Series practice: 2:25-3:40 p.m., NBC Sports Gold

IndyCar qualifying, Race 1: 6:20 p.m. (two groups/12 minutes apiece), NBC Sports Gold


—IndyCar Harvest Grand Prix, Race 1: 3:30 p.m. (green flag, 5 p.m.), USA Network, NBC Sports Gold


—IndyCar qualifying: 10:20 a.m. (two groups/12 minutes apiece), NBC Sports Gold

—IndyCar Harvest Grand Prix, Race 2: 2:30 p.m (green flag, 2:31 p.m.)., NBC, NBC Sports Gold