IndyCar results and points standings after Mid-Ohio Race No. 1 Saturday


Team Penske scored its second consecutive victory in the NTT IndyCar Series, sweeping the top two spots in the results Saturday at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course and making headway in the points.

Will Power’s first victory at the 13-turn, 2.258-mile road course also was his first this season, and teammate Josef Newgarden chopped into Scott Dixon’s championship lead with a runner-up finish that was his fourth podium this season.

It was the 216th Indy car victory for Team Penske.

WHAT DRIVERS SAID: A roundup of postrace reactions

Power won from the pole position after qualifying first for the 60th time in his career, leaving him seven short of Mario Andretti’s series record.

“This is probably the first race in about 10 years that I’ve just gone hard,” Power said. “Like every other race we’ve tried to save fuel and play a strategy game. Today I said: ‘Let’s just go hard, man. Screw this. We don’t want to get caught by a yellow. Let’s just run hard and use my raw pace and see what happens.’ And we won the race.

“It was a great strategy.”

Alexander Rossi finished third, tying his season best with the 21st podium of his career.

Here are the IndyCar Mid-Ohio results and points standings from Saturday:


–Click here for the box score from Saturday’s race at Mid-Ohio

–Click here for the lap leader summary from Saturday’s race


After 10 of a scheduled 14 races, Dixon has a 76-point lead (436-360) over Josef Newgarden (who trailed by 96 points entering Saturday’s race).

The rest of the top 10: Pato O’Ward 316, Takuma Sato 287, Will Power 280, Colton Herta 273, Graham Rahal 268, Simon Pagenaud 249, Felix Rosenqvist 236, Santino Ferrucci 232.

Click here for the driver points chart from Saturday’s race at Mid-Ohio.

Here’s what the full points standings are through 10 races for:



Engine manufacturers

NEXT: The series will return to Mid-Ohio for another 75-lap race Sunday at 1 p.m. ET on NBC and then a doubleheader weekend at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course before concluding the season Oct. 25 at St. Petersburg, Florida.

Santino Ferrucci will drive No. 14 for AJ Foyt Racing full time in 2023 IndyCar season

Santino Ferrucci AJ Foyt
James Gilbert/Getty Images

Santino Ferrucci will return to full-time racing in the NTT IndyCar Series next season, joining AJ Foyt Racing.

Ferrucci had made eight IndyCar starts with three teams since his last full-time season in 2020 while also racing part time in the NASCAR Xfinity Series this year.

He will drive the storied No. 14 Dallara-Chevrolet for four-time Indy 500 winner A.J. Foyt’s team, which will field the car from its Waller, Texas headquarters.

“It’s incredibly exciting to be back in the INDYCAR Series full time,” Ferrucci said in a team release. “Being a part-time driver over the last two years has been hard for me, personally. I’m a race car driver, and I want to compete. Working with different teams has been exciting, and I’m proud that no matter which car I’ve raced, I’ve always shown speed and consistency. I couldn’t be more excited to join AJ Foyt Racing in the 14 Chevy. I can’t wait to make the best of it.”

Ferrucci, 24, had finished a career-best fourth in IndyCar four times, including the 104th Indy 500 in 2020. He was the 2019 Indy 500 rookie of the year with a sixth.

In nine Xfinity starts since 2021, Ferrucci has a career-best finish of 13th at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

“I am thrilled to welcome Santino to the team,” Larry Foyt said in a release. “He’s shown a knack for getting toward the front of the field, and I think he is a racer who moves forward on race day. A.J. sees the fire in him and has enjoyed their meetings together. I think Santino’s experience will help his rookie teammate as well, so he is a great addition to our roster.”

Ferrucci will be teamed at AJ Foyt Racing with Benjamin Pedersen, who finished fifth in the 2022 Indy Lights standings. The team has yet to specify the number for Pedersen’s entry, which will be fielded out of its Indianapolis race shop.

Foyt’s two full-time drivers last season were Dalton Kellett and Kyle Kirkwood, who is moving to Andretti Autosport.