IndyCar results and points standings after Harvest GP Race No. 1 Friday


Josef Newgarden turned up the heat in the NTT IndyCar Series points race with his third victory of the season, breaking through previously mediocre results on the IMS road course.

The two-time and defending series champion entered Race 1 of the Harvest GP with the Indianapolis Motor Speedway ranking as his worst track (with an average finish of worse than 14th on both oval and road course). But he showed little weakness Friday, starting second and leading 34 of 85 laps for his 17th career victory.

Newgarden finished 14.294 seconds ahead of Alexander Rossi in Team Penske’s fifth IndyCar victory on the IMS road course.

WHAT DRIVERS SAID: Postrace quotes Friday from IMS

Rookie Rinus VeeKay, who led 15 laps after starting on the pole position, was third, followed by Colton Herta and Felix Rosenqvist.

Championship leader Scott Dixon had an average day, finishing ninth after starting 12th as the his gap narrowed over Newgarden.

Here are the IndyCar IMS results and points standings from Friday in Race 1 of the Harvest GP:


Click here for the box score from Friday’s Harvest GP Race 1 at IMS

Click here for the lap leader summary from the race


After 12 of a scheduled 14 races, Dixon’s lead has shrunk to 40 points (478-438) over Newgarden (who trailed by 72 points entering the Harvest GP doubleheader race weekend at the IMS road course).

The rest of the top 10: Colton Herta 360, Pato O’Ward 346, Will Power 334, Graham Rahal 328, Takuma Sato 312, Simon Pagenaud 291, Felix Rosenqvist 275, Ryan Hunter-Reay 271.

Click here for the driver points chart from Friday’s race at IMS.

Here’s what the full points standings are through 12 races for:



Engine manufacturers

NEXT: The series will race again Sunday in the closer of the doubleheader race weekend at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course before concluding the season Oct. 25 at St. Petersburg, Florida.

Scott Dixon finished ninth Friday in Race 1 of the Harvest GP (Joe Skibinski/IndyCar).

Starting lineup grid for IMSA Petit Le Mans: Tom Blomqvist puts MSR on pole position

Petit Le Mans lineup

IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar championship contender Tom Blomqvist put the Meyer Shank Racing Acura at the front of the starting lineup for the Motul Petit Le Mans at Michelin Road Atlanta.

Blomqvist turned a 1-minute, 8.55-second lap on the 2.54-mile circuit Friday to capture his third pole position for MSR this season. Earl Bamber qualified second in the No. 02 Cadillac for Chip Ganassi Racing.

Ricky Taylor was third in the No. 10 Acura of Wayne Taylor Racing, which enters Saturday’s season finale with a 19-point lead over the No. 60 of Blomqvist and Oliver Jarvis (who will be joined by Helio Castroneves) for the 10-hour race.

PETIT LE MANS STARTING GRID: Click here for the starting lineup l Lineup by car number

PETIT LE MANS: Info on how to watch

With the pole, MSR sliced the deficit to 14 points behind WTR, which will field the trio of Taylor, Filipe Albuquerque and Brendon Hartley in Saturday’s race.

“We really needed to put the car in this kind of position,” Blomqvist said. “It makes our life a little less stressful tomorrow. It would have given the No. 10 a bit more breathing space. It’s going to be a proper dogfight tomorrow. The guys gave me such a great car. It’s been fantastic this week so far, and it really came alive. I’m hugely thankful to the boys and girls at MSR for giving me the wagon today to execute my job.

“That was a big effort from me. I knew how important it was. It’s just awesome for the guys to give them some sort of reward as well. It’s always nice to be quick. If you do the pole, you know you’ve got a quick car.”

Though WTR has a series-leading four victories with the No. 10, MSR won the Rolex 24 at Daytona and has five runner-up finishes along with its three poles.

The strong performances of the ARX-05s ensure that an Acura will win the final championship in IMSA’s premier Daytona Prototype international (DPi) division, which is being rebranded as Grand Touring Prototype in the move to LMDh cars next season.

Taylor qualified third despite sliding into the Turn 5 gravel during the closing minutes of qualifying while pushing to gain points.

“Qualifying was important for points,” Taylor said. “Going into it, if we outqualified the No. 60 Meyer Shank Acura, they had a lot to lose in terms of championship points. So, we were trying to increase the gap over 20 points which would’ve made a big difference for tomorrow. We would have loved to get the pole and qualify ahead of the No. 60, but in the scheme of the points, it didn’t change a whole lot. I’m feeling good since it’s such a long race, and the No. 10 Konica Minolta Acura team does such a good job strategizing and putting us in a good position.

“I’m very confident in our lineup and our team compared to them over the course of 10 hours. I’d put my two teammates up against those guys any day. I think we are all feeling optimistic and strong for tomorrow.”

In other divisions, PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports (LMP2), Riley Motorsports (LMP3), VasserSullivan (GTD Pro) and Paul Miller Racing (GTD) captured pole positions.

The broadcast of the 10-hour race will begin Saturday at 12:10-3 p.m. ET on NBC, moving at 7 p.m. to USA Network. Peacock will have flag-to-flag coverage.



Results by class

Fastest lap by driver

Fastest lap by driver after qualifying

Fastest lap by driver and class after qualifying

Fastest lap sequence in qualifying

Best sector times in qualifying

Time cards in qualifying

PRACTICE RESULTS: Session I l Session II l Session III