IMSA at Laguna Seca Sunday: How to watch, start times, schedule, TV, streaming info

IMSA Laguna Seca schedule
Brian Cleary/Getty Images

Normally preceding the Petit Le Mans season finale, WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca still will be the penultimate race on the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship schedule, but Sunday’s race will be after Petit and before the rescheduled Twelve Hours of Sebring finale.

With two races remaining in the season, two classes remain wide open, and two could feature championship clinchers Sunday during a two-hour, 40-minute race around the 11-turn, 2.238-mile course in Monterey, California.

In the DPi division, the No. 10 Wayne Taylor Racing Cadillac of Renger van der Zande and Ryan Briscoe has an eight-point lead over the No. 7 Acura Team Penske of Helio Castroneves and Ricky Taylor after a victory at Road Atlanta.

Ranked four points behind in third is Pipo Derani, who shares the No. 31 Whelen Engineering Cadillac with Felipe Nasr.

The GTD lead now belongs to AIM Vasser Sullivan driver Aaron Telitz, who has split time between the team’s No. 14 and No. 12 Lexus RC F GT3. He has a two-point edge over teammate Jack Hawksworth, his co-pilot in the No. 14 for the rest of the season. Four points out of the lead are No. 16 Wright Motorsports Porsche GT3R drivers Patrick Long and Ryan Hardwick.

The title pictures are clearer in GTLM and LMP2. No. 3 Corvette Racing C8.R drivers Antonio Garcia and Jordan Taylor lead by 28 points over No. 4 teammates Oliver Gavin and Tommy Milner. Garcia and Taylor will clinch the championship by building their lead by seven points.

LMP2 points leader Patrick Kelly has a 34-point lead and his No. 52 PR! Mathiasen Motorsports ORECA LMP2 07 is the only entry in the class.

Here are the details for IMSA Hyundai Monterey Sports Car Championship at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca (all times are ET):

IMSA Hyundai Monterey Sports Car Championship at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca

WHEN: Sunday, 4:05 p.m.

TV:  6:30 p.m. (same-day delay), NBCSN

TrackPass on NBC Sports Gold Coverage: Flag to flag beginning at 4 p.m.

RACE STREAMING: NBC Sports App, and TrackPass on NBC Sports Gold

RADIO: IMSA Radio will have live radio coverage on and, as well as SiriusXM

RACE DISTANCE: A two-hour, 40-minute race on the 11-turn, 2.238-mile course in Monterey, California.

FORECAST: According to, it’s expected to be 67 degrees with a 2% chance of rain at the green flag.

ENTRY LIST: Click here to see who’s racing in the Hyundai Monterey Sports Car Championship

IMSA Hyundai Monterey Sports Car Championship at Laguna Seca schedule

Saturday, Oct. 31

11 a.m.-12 p.m. — WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, Practice #1

3-4:15 p.m. — WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, Practice #2

Sunday, Nov. 1

11:30 a.m.-12:35 p.m. — WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, Qualifying

4:05 p.m. — Green flag for the Hyundai Monterey Sports Car Championship at Laguna Seca (two hours, 40 minutes)

Seattle Supercross by the numbers: Three riders separated by 17 points


Three riders remain locked in a tight battle with 17 points separating the leader Cooper Webb from third-place Chase Sexton and these are only a few Supercross numbers to consider entering Seattle.

Seattle Supercross numbers
Chase Sexton made a statement in Detroit with his second win of 2023. – Feld Motor Sports

For the fifth time in 10 rounds. Sexton, Webb, and Eli Tomac shared the podium in Detroit. Between them, the trio has taken 23 podiums, leaving only seven for the remainder of the field. Jason Anderson, Ken Roczen and Justin Barcia have two each with Aaron Plessinger scoring the other.

Webb and Tomac won the last four championships with two apiece in alternating years, but they were not one another’s primary rival for most of those seasons. On the average, however, the past four years show an incredible similarity with average points earned of 21.0 for Webb and 21.3 for Tomac. With five wins so far this season, Tomac (23 wins) leads Webb (19) in victories but Webb (43) edges Tomac (41) in podium finishes during this span.

Tomac has won two of the last three Seattle races and those two wins in this stadium are topped only by James Stewart. Fittingly, if Tomac gets a third win this week, he will tie Stewart for second on the all-time wins’ list. Tomac tied Ricky Carmichael for third with 48 wins at Oakland and took sole possession of that spot with his Daytona win.

Sexton still has a lot to say and after winning last week in Detroit, he is speaking up. The Supercross numbers are against him entering Seattle, however, because a points’ deficit this large after Round 10 has been erased only once. In 1983 David Bailey was 47 points behind Bob Hannah, and like Sexton he was also in third place. Bailey took the points’ lead with one race remaining.

The seven points Sexton was penalized last week for jumping in a red cross flag section in Detroit could prove extremely costly.

In fact, it has been a series of mistakes that has cost Sexton the most. In the last two weeks, he lost 10 points with a 10th-place finish to go with his penalty. Erase those, and all three riders hold their fate in their hands.

Plessinger’s heartbreak in Detroit is still fresh, but the upside of his run is that was his best of the season and could turn his fortunes around. Prior to that race, he led only seven laps in three mains. He was up front for 20 laps in Detroit with five of those being the fastest on the track.

Last week’s win by Hunter Lawrence tied him with his brother Jett Lawrence for 17th on the all-time wins’ list. With the focus shifting to 250 West for the next two rounds, Jett has a great opportunity to pull back ahead. The real test will be at the first East / West Showdown in East Rutherford, New Jersey on April 22.

Last Five Seattle Winners

2022: Eli Tomac
2019: Marvin Musquin
2018: Eli Tomac
2017: Marvin Musquin
2014: Ryan Villopoto

2022: Hunter Lawrence
2019: Dylan Ferrandis
2018: Aaron Plessinger
2017: Aaron Plessinger
2014: Cole Seely

By the Numbers

Anaheim 2
San Diego

More SuperMotocross coverage

How to Watch Seattle Supercross
Dylan Ferrandis may return before SX finale
SMX develops “Leader Lights”
Power Rankings after Detroit
Hunter Lawrence defends Haiden Deegan
Results and points after Detroit
Chase Sexton wins in Detroit, penalized seven points