Results, points, stats package after Twelve Hours of Sebring season finale in IMSA

12 Hours Sebring results

In addition to being run in November for the first time in its 68-year history, the 12 Hours of Sebring delivered historic results in other ways as the IMSA Weathertech SportsCar Championship season finale Saturday.

Mazda Motorsports claimed its first major endurance victory with a victory from the No. 55 of Harry Tincknell, Jonathan Bomarito and Ryan Hunter-Reay and also earned a third-place finish with the No. 77 of Oliver Jarvis, Tristan Nunez and Olivier Pla.

In the final race for the pairing of Acura and Team Penske, the No. 6 of Juan Pablo Montoya, Dane Cameron and Simon Pagenaud finished second while the No. 7 of Ricky Taylor, Helio Castroneves and Alexander Rossi won the DPi championship.

EMOTIONAL SATURDAY: A recap of the Twelve Hours of Sebring

It was the first title for Castroneves during a 21-season run with Penske that ended with Sebring. The three-time Indianapolis 500 winner will move to a part-time IndyCar schedule next season with Meyer Shank Racing.

Porsche Motorsport, which is exiting the GTLM class, swept the top two spots in its division at Sebring with the No. 911 and No. 912 911 RSR-19s.

Here are the race stats, points and results after the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring, the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship season finale at Sebring International Raceway:

RESULTS: Click here for the overall finishing order and here for the class breakdown.

POINTS: In the DPi division, the No. 7 Acura of Ricky Taylor and Helio Castroneves won the championship by one point (265-264) over the No. 10 Cadillac of Ryan Briscoe and Renger van der Zande.

In GTLM, the No. 3 Corvette of Antonio Garcia and Jordan Taylor won the title.

In GTD, the No. 86 Acura of Matt McMurry and Mario Farnbacher took the championship by two points (286-284) over the No. 16 Porsche of Patrick Long and Ryan Hardwick, who won Saturday.

Click here for the points standings after Sebring.


Fastest laps by driver

Fastest laps by driver after race (over the weekend)

Fastest laps by driver and class after race

Fastest lap sequence

Leader sequence

Lap chart

Race analysis by lap

Stint analysis

Best sector times

Race distance and speed average

NEXT: The IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship will open the 2021 season Jan. 30-31 with the Rolex 24 at Daytona.

No. 55 Mazda winners Ryan Hunter-Reay, Harry Tincknell and Jonathan Bomarito (IMSA).

Santino Ferrucci will drive No. 14 for AJ Foyt Racing full time in 2023 IndyCar season

Santino Ferrucci AJ Foyt
James Gilbert/Getty Images

Santino Ferrucci will return to full-time racing in the NTT IndyCar Series next season, joining AJ Foyt Racing.

Ferrucci had made eight IndyCar starts with three teams since his last full-time season in 2020 while also racing part time in the NASCAR Xfinity Series this year.

He will drive the storied No. 14 Dallara-Chevrolet for four-time Indy 500 winner A.J. Foyt’s team, which will field the car from its Waller, Texas headquarters.

“It’s incredibly exciting to be back in the INDYCAR Series full time,” Ferrucci said in a team release. “Being a part-time driver over the last two years has been hard for me, personally. I’m a race car driver, and I want to compete. Working with different teams has been exciting, and I’m proud that no matter which car I’ve raced, I’ve always shown speed and consistency. I couldn’t be more excited to join AJ Foyt Racing in the 14 Chevy. I can’t wait to make the best of it.”

Ferrucci, 24, had finished a career-best fourth in IndyCar four times, including the 104th Indy 500 in 2020. He was the 2019 Indy 500 rookie of the year with a sixth.

In nine Xfinity starts since 2021, Ferrucci has a career-best finish of 13th at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

“I am thrilled to welcome Santino to the team,” Larry Foyt said in a release. “He’s shown a knack for getting toward the front of the field, and I think he is a racer who moves forward on race day. A.J. sees the fire in him and has enjoyed their meetings together. I think Santino’s experience will help his rookie teammate as well, so he is a great addition to our roster.”

Ferrucci will be teamed at AJ Foyt Racing with Benjamin Pedersen, who finished fifth in the 2022 Indy Lights standings. The team has yet to specify the number for Pedersen’s entry, which will be fielded out of its Indianapolis race shop.

Foyt’s two full-time drivers last season were Dalton Kellett and Kyle Kirkwood, who is moving to Andretti Autosport.