Lamborghini Super Trofeo will join NASCAR at Circuit of the Americas in 2021

Lamborghini joins NASCAR COTA
Jamey Price for Lamborghini

IMSA announced Thursday that the Lamborghini Super Trofeo North America Series will be joining NASCAR in 2021 at Circuit of the Americas (COTA).

All three of NASCAR’s top divisions will race on the Austin, Texas, road course for the first time in series history. Lamborghini Super Trofeo returns for the first time since 2017. Change Racing drivers Corey Lewis and Jeroen Mul won the 2017 race.

The Lamborghini series will run two 50-minute races on the evening of Saturday, May 22 and the afternoon of Sunday, May 23.

MORE: Chip Ganassi Racing will return to Rolex 24 and IMSA with Cadillac next season 

“We are absolutely thrilled to be returning to Circuit of The Americas with Lamborghini Super Trofeo in 2021,” Chris Ward, Head of Motorsports – Lamborghini America, said in a release.

“The circuit remains a favorite with our teams and drivers, and we are particularly excited to be returning on such a special weekend to coincide with the inaugural visit of the NASCAR Cup Series.”

Lamborghini drivers will join NASCAR on the first day of action as they practice alongside the NASCAR Xfinity and Camping World Truck Series on Friday at COTA.

Race length, course selection and a complete weekend schedule will be made at a later date.

The Lamborghini series will kick off its North American season at Laguna Seca during the final weekend of April (23-25)  and features six rounds. The COTA weekend is Round 2. Other rounds include Watkins Glen in June, Road America in August and Virginia International Raceway in August. The series finale will run in Italy in October.

Follow Dan Beaver on Twitter.

Final 2023 Rolex 24 at Daytona results, stats


DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. — The 2023 Rolex 24 at Daytona overall results were all streaks: two consecutive victories in the endurance classic for Meyer Shank Racing and three in a row for Acura.

And Helio Castroneves became the second driver to win three consecutive Rolex 24s and the first to win in three straight years (Peter Gregg won in 1973, ’75 and ’76; the race wasn’t held in ’74 because of a global oil crisis).

Starting from the pole position, Tom Blomqvist took the checkered flag in the No. 60 ARX-06 that led a race-high 365 of 783 laps with co-drivers Castroneves, Simon Pagenaud and Colin Braun.

RESULTS: Click here for the finishing order in the 61st Rolex 24 at Daytona l By class

Meyer Shank Racing now has two Rolex 24 victories and the 2022 championship since entering the premier prototype category of the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship in 2021.

“I think what’s so special about this team is we are a small team compared to some of our opponents, but the atmosphere, the way we work, enables people to get the best out of themselves, and I think that’s why we’re such high achievers,” Blomqvist said. “I think there’s no egos. It’s a very open book, and that just enables each and every one of us to reach our potential. I think that’s why we’ve achieved so much success in really a short time at this level of competition.”

It’s the 16th IMSA victory for MSR.

The 61st running of the Rolex 24 at Daytona marked the debut of the Grand Touring Prototype category that brought hybrid engine technology to IMSA’s top level.

In other categories:

LMP2: James Allen passed Ben Hanley on the final lap and delivered a victory in the No. 55 ORECA by 0.016 seconds. It’s the second IMSA victory for Proton Competition, which last won at Sebring in 2012. It was the first Rolex 24 victory for Allen and co-drivers Gianmaria Bruni, Fred Poordad and Francesco Pizzi.

GTD Pro: Cooper MacNeil won in the last start of his IMSA career as the No. 79 Mercedes-AMG GT3 scored the first Rolex 24 at Daytona for WeatherTech Racing and the team’s fourth career victory.

MacNeil, who co-drove with Maro Engel, Jules Gounon and Daniel Juncadella, earned his 12th career victory and first at the Rolex 24.

“Winning by last IMSA race is tremendous,” MacNeil said.

GTD: The No. 27 Heart of Racing Team delivered the first Rolex 24 at Daytona for Aston Martin, which has been competing in endurance races at Daytona International Speedway since 1964. Drivers Marco Sorensen, Roman De Angelis, Darren Turner and Ian James (also the team principal) earned the victory in the English brand’s 13th attempt.

It’s also the first Rolex 24 at Daytona win for Heart of Racing, which has seven IMSA wins.

LMP3: Anthony Mantella, Wayne Boyd, Nico Varrone and Thomas Merrill drove the No. 17 AWA Duqueine D08 to victory by 12 laps for the team’s first class win in IMSA.


Fastest laps by driver

Fastest laps by driver after race (over the weekend)

Fastest laps by driver and class after race

Fastest lap sequence

Lap chart

Leader sequence

Race analysis by lap

Stint analysis

Time cards

Pit stop time cards

Best sector times

Race distance and speed average

Flag analysis

Weather report

NEXT: The 2023 IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship season will resume with the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring March 18 with coverage across NBC, USA and Peacock.