Cody Ware, Eurasia Motorsport added to Rolex 24 LMP2 lineup

Ware Rolex 24 Eurasia

Cody Ware added his name to the 2021 Rolex 24 Hours lineup with an announcement that Rick Ware Racing will team up with BAM Motorsport and Eurasia Motorsport to field a Ligier in the Le Mans Prototype 2 (LMP2) class.

Eurasia Motorsport has fielded cars in the European Le Mans Series, Asian Le Mans Series and FIA World Endurance Championship.

Ware had been scheduled to race in last year’s Rolex 24 but withdrew.

Ware won last year’s Asian Le Mans Series in LMP2. The remainder of the lineup for this entry will be named later.

“I had the pleasure of meeting with Mark Goddard and David Madgwick (BAM Motorsport managing director) early this year in the Asian Le Mans Series, and I was really impressed with their program there,” Cody Ware said in a release. “The Ligier P2 was fast week in and week out and the team as a whole were so professional. I followed their 24 Hours of Le Mans program with interest too, so naturally I’m excited to be working with Eurasia and the BAM team this year and really looking forward to heading to Daytona for the Roar and then the Rolex 24.

“With my other race programs, it is going to be a very busy season for me. But between my commitments to NASCAR and the WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, I think it’s going to be a very cool 2021.”

MORE: Wayne Taylor Racing confirms all-new driver lineup for 2021 IMSA season

The team currently is committed only to the Rolex 24, but Ware and Eurasia are exploring opportunities to compete in the entire IMSA Michelin Endurance Cup calendar.

“This is an exciting new venture for us at Eurasia Motorsport,” said Goddard, team principal at Eurasia Motorsport. “We’re currently shipping our two Ligier JS P217s to the factory in readiness for the Rolex 24. The team will be based at the RWR (Rick Ware Racing) facility in the U.S. and we will be managing the program from there with our own race and data engineers as well as race mechanics. We will benefit from logistical and personnel support from RWR, and we’re looking forward to this new challenge.”

Follow Dan Beaver on Twitter.

Travis Pastrana leads flag-to-flag in Nitro Rallycross as the series returns to America

Pastrana Nitro Rallycross
Barry Chin / Getty Images

Travis Pastrana waited until the final trip around ERX Motor Park to take his Joker Lap – a longer way around the course that all drivers must do at least once in a race – and came out cleanly to win his first Nitro Rallycross race of 2022. With this win, Pastrana is the third driver to visit Victory Lane in the first three rounds of the 2022-23 season.

“This is the closest to a motocross track,” Pastrana told Katie Osborne on Peacock. “Thank you so much for a beautiful facility. It’s been a rough start to the season and I’m so thankful to be back out here. We had a good run in the side-by-side and now for this. This is much needed.”

Another thing needed was the sense of improvement. And Pastrana earned that affirmation each time he completed a lap around the course.

“I get my lap times read out and they said ‘fastest time of the week,’ ‘fastest time of the week’ (each time around) ” Pastrana said. “This is really special. We’re a long way behind in the championship, but welcome to America.”

In a pre-race press conference, Pastrana said that as Nitro Rallycross heads back to America, it was time for an American to win and he made good on his promise. Pastrana took the early lead over Robin Larsson and let the back of his Subaru hang out, taking risks he might not otherwise take if not for his need to win.

How to Watch Nitro Rallycross

Larsson’s second-place finish completed a perfect sweep of the podium in three rounds. In fact, he has not yet finished worse than second after winning the opening round at Lydden Hill in the United Kingdom and finishing second at Strangnas in Sweeden.

Fraser McConnel rounded out the podium for his best result of the season. He finished fourth in each of the first two rounds.

Last year, Pastrana finished second in this race to Scott Speed before narrowly edging his teammate for the championship.

Andreas Bakkerud crashed in prelims, but rebounded to finish just off the block in fourth. Bakkerud won the second round ahead of his teammate Larsson.

Oliver Bennett completed the top five.

Minneapolis is the first of three rounds scheduled in the United States. Next on the schedule is Glen Helen, Calif. on Octo 30 and then Phoenix at Wild Horse Pass on November 12th. Nitro Rallycross will then head to Saudi Arabia in December to continue their 2022-23 season.