Rallycross champion Johan Kristoffersson will drive for Nico Rosberg in Extreme E

Extreme E Johan Kristoffersson
Extreme E

Three-time FIA World Rallycross champion Johan Kristoffersson will drive for the Extreme E team formed by 2016 Formula One champion Nico Rosberg when the new electric off-road racing series begins its inaugural season in March.

Kristoffersson, 32, is among the most decorated rally drivers in the world, having one three of the past four Rallycross championships. In 2018, the Swede scored a record 11 victories in 12 starts.

“We are delighted to welcome a driver of Johan’s pedigree to the RXR family,” Rosberg Xtreme Racing Founder and CEO Nico Rosberg said in a release. “As a former driver and now team founder, I have huge respect for what Johan has achieved in motorsport so far and look forward to being a part of his next chapter. In Johan we have one of the best off-road drivers in the world who adds to our team’s passion for racing and commitment to driving positive societal change.”

Kristoffersson will be paired with a female teammate in the environmentally conscious series that will race 550-horserpower electric SUVs in remote environments, raising awareness about climate change.

The inaugural season of five X Prix will begin March 20-21 in Saudi Arabia. Seven-time F1 champion Lewis Hamilton also has formed a team, and Andretti Autosport (with United Autosport) and Chip Ganassi Racing will field two-driver teams as well.

FIRST WOMAN IN EXTREME E: Sara Price will drive for Chip Ganassi Racing

Aside from 24 victories in six seasons of World Rallycross, Kristoffersson also has raced touring cars. He was hailed as “an incredible addition to the Extreme E driver lineup” by series founder Alejandro Agag.

“I’m incredibly proud to be joining Rosberg Xtreme Racing,” Kristoffersson said in a release. “Extreme E is a brand new race series and challenge that will visit some amazing locations to help promote an important message, so to be a part of that is very exciting for me. As a driver, you always want to be surrounded by winners. In Nico and the team he has assembled, we have a team committed to winning. We have a lot of preparation to do before the start of the season in March 2021, but I’m pumped to get started.”

Santino Ferrucci will drive No. 14 for AJ Foyt Racing full time in 2023 IndyCar season

Santino Ferrucci AJ Foyt
James Gilbert/Getty Images

Santino Ferrucci will return to full-time racing in the NTT IndyCar Series next season, joining AJ Foyt Racing.

Ferrucci had made eight IndyCar starts with three teams since his last full-time season in 2020 while also racing part time in the NASCAR Xfinity Series this year.

He will drive the storied No. 14 Dallara-Chevrolet for four-time Indy 500 winner A.J. Foyt’s team, which will field the car from its Waller, Texas headquarters.

“It’s incredibly exciting to be back in the INDYCAR Series full time,” Ferrucci said in a team release. “Being a part-time driver over the last two years has been hard for me, personally. I’m a race car driver, and I want to compete. Working with different teams has been exciting, and I’m proud that no matter which car I’ve raced, I’ve always shown speed and consistency. I couldn’t be more excited to join AJ Foyt Racing in the 14 Chevy. I can’t wait to make the best of it.”

Ferrucci, 24, had finished a career-best fourth in IndyCar four times, including the 104th Indy 500 in 2020. He was the 2019 Indy 500 rookie of the year with a sixth.

In nine Xfinity starts since 2021, Ferrucci has a career-best finish of 13th at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

“I am thrilled to welcome Santino to the team,” Larry Foyt said in a release. “He’s shown a knack for getting toward the front of the field, and I think he is a racer who moves forward on race day. A.J. sees the fire in him and has enjoyed their meetings together. I think Santino’s experience will help his rookie teammate as well, so he is a great addition to our roster.”

Ferrucci will be teamed at AJ Foyt Racing with Benjamin Pedersen, who finished fifth in the 2022 Indy Lights standings. The team has yet to specify the number for Pedersen’s entry, which will be fielded out of its Indianapolis race shop.

Foyt’s two full-time drivers last season were Dalton Kellett and Kyle Kirkwood, who is moving to Andretti Autosport.