Sergio Perez wins Sakhir GP from last to first; still faces uncertain 2021

Perez wins Sakhir GP
Mark Thompson/Getty Images
1 Comment

Sergio Perez wins the Sakhir GP after surviving an opening lap spin and benefitting from a full course caution and chaos in the Mercedes pits. It is his first Formula 1 victory.

Drama can be an overused description in auto racing, but if it ever fit a driver’s win, it belongs to the Mexican racer. Perez picked his way through the Sakhir GP field after getting spun on the opening lap. Forced to pit after the incident, he rejoined the pack in the last car on the track.

“I hope I’m not dreaming here because I dreamed so many years of being in this moment,” Perez said from the top of the podium. “After the first lap, the race was again gone same as last weekend. But it was again about not giving up, recovering, going through it, making it the best we possibly could.”

Last week Perez driver was heading for a second consecutive podium finish for the first time in his career before an electrical failure eliminated him from competition. Perez desperately needed the win to help secure a ride for 2021 after it was announced earlier this season that he will not return to Racing Point.

“It gives me a little more peace with myself,” Perez added. “What happens (in 2021) is not so much in my hands at the moment, but I know I want to keep going.”

Perez is rumored as one of the possible drivers for Red Bull next year.

Perez was not the only emotional driver on the podium. And he was not the only driver standing there with a career-best finish.

Esteban Ocon finished second for the first podium finish of his career. He had three fifth-place results as his best, with the most recent coming earlier this year at Spa-Francorchamps.

“I cried on the line,” Ocon said. “That is how much emotion is going through my mind now. It’s been a tough season. It hasn’t paid off all the time, but we never stopped pushing. We kept working hard, stayed motivated. That was very important.”

Racing Point’s Lance Stroll took the final spot on the podium. His third-place finish matched a career best set twice previously including earlier this season at Monza. This was the first time in the history of the team that both Racing Point drivers stood on the podium.

Like his teammate Perez, it was a stark reversal of fortune. Stroll ended his race last week upside down after an incident with Daniil Kvyat.

Getting to the top of the podium wasn’t easy for Perez.

For the second straight week a full course caution waved on the opening lap.

Polesitter Valtteri Bottas succumbed to teammate George Russell in the first corner and a slow exit bunched up the field. Battling for a spot among the top five, Charles Leclerc drove into the corner hard and spun Perez. In the aftermath, Leclerc and Max Verstappen retired with crash damage. Leclerc has been given a three-grid penalty for the season-ending race at Abu Dhabi for the avoidable contact.

Perez was forced to pit to swap out his flat-spotted tires.

It was the fifth time in his career that Verstappen retired because of an opening lap crash. One of those previous incidents happened this September in the Tuscan GP.

“They were being so aggressive and reckless,” Verstappen said after the Sakhir incident. “We were all at the front and at the end of the day two cars are out, so I don’t really know why. Especially Charles in Turn 4. Why he dives to the inside like that? To brake that late; [Perez] can’t see what is happening on the inside.”

Perez won the Sakhir GP with an assist from late-race chaos.

Making F1 debut, Jack Aitken spun out of the final corner on Lap 62 and sheared off the nose of his Williams’ car. The crash brought out a full course caution that brought Russell and Bottas into the pits. The team chose to stack the stops on top of one another and mixed up the tires of Russell and Bottas.

After dominating the race to this point, Russell and Bottas both rejoined the field behind the eventual podium finishers. Russell managed to pick his way to the runner-up spot and trailed by a little more than two seconds before a left rear puncture brought him to the pits for a fourth time during the race. It sealed his fate as well as that of Perez and allowed the first-time winner to take the top spot by more than eight seconds over the field.

Winner Josef Newgarden earns $3.666 million from a record Indy 500 purse of $17 million


INDIANAPOLIS — The first Indy 500 victory for Josef Newgarden also was the richest in race history from a record 2023 purse of just more than $17 million.

The two-time NTT IndyCar Series champion, who continued his celebration Monday morning at Indianapolis Motor Speedway earned $3.666 million for winning the 107th running of the Greatest Spectacle in Racing.

The purse and winner’s share both are the largest in the history of the Indianapolis 500.

It’s the second consecutive year that the Indy 500 purse set a record after the 2022 Indy 500 became the first to crack the $16 million mark (nearly doubling the 2021 purse that offered a purse of $8,854,565 after a crowd limited to 135,000 because of the COVID-19 pandemic).

The average payout for IndyCar drivers was $500,600 (exceeding last year’s average of $485,000).

Indianapolis Motor Speedway owner Roger Penske, whose team also fields Newgarden’s No. 2 Dallara-Chevrolet, had made raising purses a priority since buying the track in 2020. But Penske but was unable to post big money purses until the race returned to full capacity grandstands last year.

The largest Indy 500 purse before this year was $14.4 million for the 2008 Indy 500 won by Scott Dixon (whose share was $2,988,065). Ericsson’s haul made him the second Indy 500 winner to top $3 million (2009 winner Helio Castroneves won $3,048,005.

Runner-up Marcus Ericsson won $1.043 million after falling short by 0.0974 seconds in the fourth-closest finish in Indy 500 history.

The 107th Indy 500 drew a crowd of at least 330,000 that was the largest since the sellout for the 100th running in 2016, and the second-largest in more than two decades, according to track officials.

“This is the greatest race in the world, and it was an especially monumental Month of May featuring packed grandstands and intense on-track action,” Penske Entertainment president and CEO Mark Miles said in a release. “Now, we have the best end card possible for the 107th Running of the Indianapolis 500: a record-breaking purse for the history books.”

Benjamin Pedersen was named the Indy 500 rookie of the year, earning a $50,000 bonus.

The race’s purse is determined through contingency and special awards from IMS and IndyCar. The awards were presented Monday night in the annual Indy 500 Victory Celebration at the JW Marriott in downtown Indianapolis.

The payouts for the 107th Indy 500:

1. Josef Newgarden, $3,666,000
2. Marcus Ericsson, $1,043,000
3. Santino Ferrucci, $481,800
4. Alex Palou, $801,500
5. Alexander Rossi, $574,000
6. Scott Dixon, $582,000
7. Takuma Sato, $217,300
8. Conor Daly, $512,000
9. Colton Herta, $506,500
10. Rinus VeeKay, $556,500
11. Ryan Hunter‐Reay, $145,500
12. Callum Ilott, $495,500
13. Devlin DeFrancesco, $482,000
14. Scott McLaughlin, $485,000
15. Helio Castroneves, $481,500
16. Tony Kanaan, $105,000
17. Marco Andretti, $102,000
18. Jack Harvey, $472,000
19. Christian Lundgaard, $467,500
20. Ed Carpenter, $102,000
21. Benjamin Pedersen (R), $215,300
22. Graham Rahal, $565,500*
23. Will Power, $488,000
24. Pato O’Ward, $516,500
25. Simon Pagenaud, $465,500
26. Agustín Canapino (R), $156,300
27. Felix Rosenqvist, $278,300
28. Kyle Kirkwood, $465,500
29. David Malukas, $462,000
30. Romain Grosjean, $462,000
31. Sting Ray Robb (R), $463,000
32. RC Enerson (R), $103,000
33.  Katherine Legge, $102,000

*–Broken down between two teams, $460,000 Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, $105,500 Dreyer & Reinbold Racing/Cusick Motorsports