Molly Taylor joins Rosberg Xtreme for Extreme E inaugural season

Taylor Rosberg Extreme Xtreme
Extreme E

Molly Taylor will race for Rosberg Xtreme Racing in the inaugural season of the Extreme E series.

Taylor adds her name to a roster of championship caliber racers that includes car owner Nico Rosberg and teammate Johan Kristoffersson, a three-time FIA World Rallycross champion.

Extreme E teams will each have a male and female driver as the series seeks to race environmentally friendly electric SUVs worldwide. Pairing male and female drivers in the series is a way to promote gender equality in racing while the series itself addresses climate change.

The inaugural five-race season will compete in Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Greenland, Brazil and Argentina.

Taylor brings experience as a former Australian Rally Champion and the only female to win in that series so far. She won the 2016 championship there and finished in the top three standings in four of five season from 2015 through 2019.

Rosberg Xtreme Racing has its roots in Team Rosberg, which was founded by 1982 F1 champion Keke Rosberg. Over the years, the team has competed in several series including Formula 3 and DTM (German Touring Championship). The team has 38 DTM victories and three driver championships to their credit.

Rosberg’s entry will not be the only team with a connection to Formula 1. Earlier this year Lewis Hamilton announced he would field a team in the Extreme E series.

MORE: All-female W Series will be showcased at eight Formula One race weekends in 2021 season

“I’m delighted Molly has been snapped up by Rosberg Xtreme Racing,” said Alejandro Agag, CEO and Founder at Extreme E in a press release. “As a member of the Extreme E Drivers’ Programme it is great to see her secure a seat for the first season.

“I’m sure Molly and recently announced teammate Johan Kristoffersson are going to be a strong paring on the track, and I’m looking forward to seeing them behind the wheel at the upcoming test.”

In addition to her exploits as a driver, Taylor is an ambassador for FIA Girls on Track, which seeks to support women entering the motorsport industry.

“It feels amazing to be joining Rosberg Xtreme Racing and Extreme E on this new adventure,” Taylor said. “I’m so excited to be able to compete on the international stage again, and to be part of a completely new team and series makes it even more special.

“Alongside fighting climate change, I’m excited to work together as a team and series to promote equality. One part of motorsport I’ve always admired is that once the helmet goes on, your gender becomes irrelevant and the stopwatch has no bias. There’s still a lot of work to do to improve the diversity in our industry, but the work RXR and Extreme E are doing will provide new opportunities to reshape the image of our sport in the eyes of young fans, and I’m thrilled to be a part of that.”

The inaugural season of Extreme E will begin in Saudi Arabia on March 20-21 2021, marking the first X Prix in a five-event schedule.

Extreme E 2021 Schedule:

March 20-21: Desert X Prix: AlUla, Saudi Arabia
May 29-30: Ocean X Prix: Lac Rose, Senegal
August 28-29: Arctic X Prix: Kangerlussuaq, Greenland
October 23-24: Amazon X Prix: Para, Brazil
December 11-12: Glacier X Prix: Patagonia, Argentina

Peacock to stream all Supercross and Motocross races in 2023, plus inaugural SuperMotocross Championship

Peacock Supercross Motocross 2023
Feld Entertainment, Inc.

NBC Sports and Feld Motor Sports announced that Peacock and the NBC family of networks will stream all 31 races of the combined Monster Energy Supercross, Lucas Oil Pro Motocross and the newly created SuperMotocross World Championship beginning January 7, 2023 at Angel Stadium in Anaheim, California and ending October 14 in the place where Supercross was born: the Los Angeles Coliseum.

The combined series will create a 10-month calendar of events, making it one of the longest professional sports’ seasons in the United States.

The agreement is for multiple years. The season finale will air live on Peacock and the USA Network.

Peacock will present live coverage of all races, qualifying and heats across both series. The 31 total races will mark a record for the combined number of Supercross and Pro Motocross events that NBC Sports will present in a single season.

NBC, USA Network and CNBC will provide coverage of all races, including the SuperMotocross World Championship Playoffs and Final, through 2023 and beyond. For more information about the Peacock streaming service, click here.

“With our wide array of live and original motorsports offerings, Peacock is a natural home for Supercross and Pro Motocross races,” said Rick Cordella, Chief Commercial Officer, Peacock. “We’re looking forward to providing fans with an easily-accessible destination to find every race all season long, including the exciting finish with the newly formed SuperMotocross World Championship.”

MORE: A conversation about media rights created the new SuperMotocross World Championship Series

The NBC family of networks has been home to Supercross for the past several seasons and this is a continuation of that relationship. The media rights for both series expired at the end of 2022, which allowed Supercross and Motocross to combine their efforts.

In fact, it was that conversation that led to the formation of the SuperMotocross World Championship (SMX).

The SMX series will begin on September 9, 2023 after the conclusion of the Pro Motocross season. Points will accumulate from both series to seed the SMX championship, which creates a record number of unified races.

“The SuperMotocross World Championship adds a new dimension to the annual Supercross and Pro Motocross seasons that will result in crowning the ultimate World Champion,” said Stephen C. Yaros, SVP Global Media and Supercross for Feld Motor Sports. “We are thrilled to be extending our relationship with NBC Sports so our fans can watch all the racing action streaming live on Peacock and the option to also watch select rounds on NBC, USA Network and CNBC.”

Complete 2023 coverage schedules for Supercross, Pro Motocross and the SuperMotocross World Championship on Peacock, NBC, USA Network and CNBC will be announced in the near future.