Complete Monster Energy Supercross 2021 schedule revealed with new Atlanta stop

Supercross Monster Jam Cyber

The 2021 Monster Energy Supercross schedule will feature 17 races with four three-race stints, two doubleheaders, and one standalone event. Three races scheduled for Glendale, Arizona, will be moved to Orlando, Florida, and Salt Lake City, Utah.

As previously announced, the season will kick off in Houston at NRG Stadium for a three-race stint beginning on Saturday, Jan. 16, followed by Tuesday, Jan. 19 and Saturday, Jan. 23rd.

Current attendance restrictions in Arizona have caused the series to forego plans to race at State Farm Stadium, but the series expects to return there in 2022.

This moves Indianapolis into the second slot on the calendar with races on Jan. 30, Feb. 2 and Feb. 6.

As part of the realignment, Supercross will head for a three-race stand between Camping World Stadium in Orlando, Florida, on Feb. 13 and Feb. 20, followed by the annual March 6 race at Daytona International Speedway. Orlando last played host to a race on March 17, 2007, which was the final race for NBC broadcaster Ricky Carmichael.

The Arlington, Texas, dates remain the same with races on March 13, 16 and 20 at AT&T Stadium.

Three new events will take place at Atlanta Motor Speedway in Hampton, Georgia, on April 10, 13 and 17. This will mark the first time that the speedway will play host to a Supercross race.

The series will close its season at Rice-Eccles Stadium in Salt Lake City on April 24 and May 1. All 17 rounds will feature standard race formats. Triple Crown formats will be put on hold until the 2022 season.

The 2021 season will feature most of the 250 West and East races run in consecutive events. Both the West and East regional classes will feature nine races.

The West series will be featured in the first seven races of the season at Houston, Indianapolis and the first Orlando show. The East series will take over in the second Orlando race and contend at Daytona, Arlington, and Atlanta before the West series returns in Salt Lake City for the first race of the doubleheader. The finale on May 1 will be the only East/West shootout of the season.

While fans will be allowed, seating capacity will be reduced at each stadium with a Pod Seating structure. More information about each stadium’s safety protocols can be found on their individual websites.

Supercross 2021 schedule

–Saturday, Jan. 16: Houston, Texas

–Tuesday, Jan. 19: Houston, Texas

–Saturday, Jan. 23: Houston, Texas

–Saturday, Jan. 30: Indianapolis, Indiana

–Tuesday, Feb. 2: Indianapolis, Indiana

–Saturday, Feb. 6: Indianapolis, Indiana

–Saturday, Feb. 13: Orlando, Florida

–Saturday, Feb. 20: Orlando, Florida

–Saturday, March 6: Daytona Beach, Florida

–Saturday, March 13: Arlington, Texas

–Tuesday, March 16: Arlington, Texas

–Saturday, March 20: Arlington, Texas

–Saturday, April 10: Hampton, Georgia

–Tuesday, April 13: Hampton, Georgia

–Saturday, April 17: Hampton, Georgia

–Saturday, April 24: Salt Lake City, Utah

–Saturday, May 1: Salt Lake City, Utah

Justin Grant prevails over Kyle Larson in the Turkey Night Grand Prix

Grant Larson Turkey Night / DB3 Inc.

On the heels of his Hangtown 100 victory, Justin Grant worked his way from 13th in the Turkey Night Grand Prix to beat three-time event winner Kyle Larson by 1.367 seconds. The 81st annual event was run at Ventura (Calif.) Raceway for the sixth time.

“My dad used to take me to Irwindale Speedway, and we’d watch Turkey Night there every year,” Grant said in a series press release. “This is one of the races I fell in love with. I didn’t think I’d ever get a chance to run in it, never thought I’d make a show and certainly never thought I’d be able to win one.”

With its genesis in 1934 at Gilmore Stadium, a quarter-mile dirt track in Los Angeles, the race is steeped in history with winners that include AJ Foyt, Parnelli Jones, Gary Bettenhausen and Johnnie Parsons. Tony Stewart won it in 2000. Kyle Larson won his first of three Turkey Night Grands Prix in 2012. Christopher Bell earned his first of three in 2014, so Grant’s enthusiasm was well deserved.

So was the skepticism that he would win. He failed to crack the top five in three previous attempts, although he came close last year with a sixth-place result. When he lined up for the feature 13th in the crowded 28-car field, winning seemed like a longshot.

Grant watched as serious challengers fell by the wayside. Mitchel Moles flipped on Lap 10 of the feature. Michael “Buddy” Kofoid took a tumble on Lap 68 and World of Outlaws Sprint car driver Carson Macedo flipped on Lap 79. Grant saw the carnage ahead of him and held a steady wheel as he passed Tanner Thorson for the lead with 15 laps remaining and stayed out of trouble for the remainder of the event.

“It’s a dream come true to win the Turkey Night Grand Prix,” Grant said.

Kyle Larson follows Justin Grant to the front on Turkey Night

The 2012, 2016 and 2019 winner, Larson was not scheduled to run the event. His wife Katelyn is expecting their third child shortly, but after a couple of glasses of wine with Thanksgiving dinner and while watching some replays of the event, Larson texted car owner Chad Boat to see if he had a spare car lying around. He did.

“We weren’t great but just hung around and it seemed like anybody who got to the lead crashed and collected some people,” Larson said. “We made some passes throughout; in the mid-portion, we weren’t very good but then we got better at the end.

“I just ran really, really hard there, and knew I was running out of time, so I had to go. I made some pretty crazy and dumb moves, but I got to second and was hoping we could get a caution to get racing with Justin there. He was sliding himself at both ends and thought that maybe we could get a run and just out-angle him into [Turn] 1 and get clear off [Turn] 2 if we got a caution, but it just didn’t work out.”

Larson padded one of the most impressive stats in the history of this race, however. In 10 starts, he’s won three times, finished second four times, was third once and fourth twice.

Bryant Wiedeman took the final spot on the podium.

As Grant and Larson began to pick their way through the field, Kofoid took the lead early from the outside of the front row and led the first 44 laps of the race before handing it over to Cannon McIntosh, who bicycled on Lap 71 before landing on all fours. While Macedo and Thorson tussled for the lead with McIntosh, Grant closed in.

Thorson finished 19th with McIntosh 20th. Macedo recovered from his incident to finish ninth. Kofoid’s hard tumble relegated him to 23rd.

Jake Andreotti in fourth and Kevin Thomas, Jr. rounded out the top five.

1. Justin Grant (started 13)
2. Kyle Larson (22)
3. Bryant Wiedeman (4)
4. Jake Andreotti (9)
5. Kevin Thomas Jr. (1)
6. Logan Seavey (8)
7. Alex Bright (27)
8. Emerson Axsom (24)
9. Carson Macedo (7)
10. Jason McDougal (18)
11. Jake Swanson (16)
12. Chase Johnson (6)
13. Jacob Denney (26)
14. Ryan Timms (23)
15. Chance Crum (28)
16. Brenham Crouch (17)
17. Jonathan Beason (19)
18. Cade Lewis (14)
19. Tanner Thorson (11)
20. Cannon McIntosh (3)
21. Thomas Meseraull (15)
22. Tyler Courtney (21)
23. Buddy Kofoid (2)
24. Brody Fuson (5)
25. Mitchel Moles (20)
26. Daniel Whitley (10)
27. Kaylee Bryson (12)
28. Spencer Bayston (25)