How to watch the 2021 Dakar Rally on NBCSN: Start times, stages, schedules, race info

FRANCK FIFE/AFP via Getty Images

With an American champion returning to defend his championship for the first time, here are all the TV and schedule information you’ll need for following the 2021 Dakar Rally.

For the second consecutive year, the off-road rally raid classic will be held in Saudi Arabia, where the course will cover 12 days and more than 3,000 miles. There are more than 500 drivers and riders on the entry list for the event, whose divisions include motorbikes, cars, lightweights and trucks.

California native Ricky Brabec will be among the favorites in bikes after becoming the first American to win the Dakar Rally last year (Casey Currie also was a U.S. champion last year but isn’t racing the event in 2021).

Andrew Short also should be a contender after moving to the Yamaha team.

In the overall car class, three-time Dakar winner Carlos Sainz is back to defend his crown against a field that includes Nasser Al Attiyah and Stephane Peterhansel.

Here is the schedule for watching same-day coverage of the Dakar Rally on NBCSN:

Date Coverage Time (ET)
Sun., Jan. 3 Stage 1 – Jeddah to Bisha 7:30 p.m.
Mon., Jan. 4 Stage 2 – Bisha to Wadi Al Dawasir 6:30 p.m.
Tues., Jan. 5 Stage 3 – Wadi Al Dawasir Loop Stage 6:30 p.m.
Wed., Jan. 6 Stage 4 – Wadi Al Dawasir to Riyadh 6:30 p.m.
Thurs., Jan. 7 Stage 5 – Riyadh to Buraydah 6:30 p.m.
Fri., January 8 Stage 6 – Buraydah to Ha’il 6:30 p.m.
Sat., Jan. 9 Rest Day 11 p.m.
Sun., Jan. 10 Stage 7 – Ha’il to Sakaka 6:30 p.m.
Mon., Jan. 11 Stage 8 – Sakaka to Neom 6:30 p.m.
Tues., Jan. 12 Stage 9 – Neom Loop Stage 6:30 p.m.
Wed., Jan. 13 Stage 10 – Neom to Al- ‘Ula 2:30 a.m.
Thurs., Jan. 14 Stage 11 – Al- ‘Ula to Yanbu 9:30 p.m.
Fri., Jan. 15 Stage 12 – Yanbu to Jeddah 6 p.m.


Competitors will race Jan. 2 in a 129-kilometer Prologue to determine the starting order. The race will begin Jan. 3 with a rest day Jan. 9 and the conclusion on Jan. 15.

Here are the daily distances (total/special):

Stage 1: 623/277 kilometers; held entirely on tracks through valleys with stony pathways a hazard for tires

Stage 2: 685/457 km; yellow and white dunes

Stage 3: 629/403 km; pure desert near the gateway to the famous “Empty Quarter”

Stage 4: 813/337 km; winding tracks comprise the longest stage

Stage 5: 662/456 km; difficult dunes section will slow the pace

Stage 6: 618/448 km; a variety of smooth and sandy dunes

Stage 7: 737/471 km; sand mountains and stony plateaus

Stage 8: 709/375 km; some majestic landscapes

Stage 9: 579/465 km; a stretch along the shore of the Red Sea

Stage 10: 583/342 km; hills lead to gorgeous vistas

Stage 11: 557/511 km; dunes return

Stage 12: 452/225 km; more dunes as the rally returns to its start in Jeddah


Roadbook distribution: The maps will be handed out 10 minutes (for cars) or 20 minutes (motorbikes) ahead of the starts.

Increased warning/slow zones: Competitors will face new speed limits in some hazardous areas, which also will have greater notification

Tire management: Bike riders will be limited to six rear tires over 12 stages

Airbag vests: The safety devices are mandatory for motorbike and quad competitors.

Work restrictions: Piston changes will incur increased penalties for riders, who also will be precluded from tinkering on bikes while at 15-minute refueling stations.

IndyCar results, points after Detroit Grand Prix


DETROIT — Alex Palou topped the results of an NTT IndyCar Series race for the second time this season, extending his championship points lead with his victory in the Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix.

The Chip Ganassi Racing driver, who also won the GMR Grand Prix (and the Indy 500 pole position) last month, holds a 51-point lead over teammate Marcus Ericsson (ninth at Detroit) through seven of 17 races this season.

Ganassi, which placed all four of its drivers in the top 10 at Detroit, has three of the top four in the championship standings with Scott Dixon ranked fourth after a fourth at Detroit.

FLAVOR FLAV POWERS UP: Iconic rapper hangs out with Team Penske

Indy 500 winner Josef Newgarden is third in the standings after taking a 10th at Detroit. Pato O’Ward slipped to fifth in the points after crashing and finishing 26th

Here are the IndyCar results and points standings after the Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix:


Click here for the official box score from the 100-lap race on a nine-turn, 1.645-mile street course in downtown Detroit.

Lap leader summary

Full lap chart

Best section times

Full section data

Event summary

Pit stop summary

Here is the finishing order in the Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix with starting position in parentheses, driver, engine, laps completed and reason out (if any):

1. (1) Alex Palou, Honda, 100, Running
2. (7) Will Power, Chevrolet, 100, Running
3. (9) Felix Rosenqvist, Chevrolet, 100, Running
4. (4) Scott Dixon, Honda, 100, Running
5. (13) Alexander Rossi, Chevrolet, 100, Running
6. (12) Kyle Kirkwood, Honda, 100, Running
7. (2) Scott McLaughlin, Chevrolet, 100, Running
8. (11) Marcus Armstrong, Honda, 100, Running
9. (6) Marcus Ericsson, Honda, 100, Running
10. (5) Josef Newgarden, Chevrolet, 100, Running
11. (24) Colton Herta, Honda, 100, Running
12. (17) Devlin DeFrancesco, Honda, 100, Running
13. (8) Simon Pagenaud, Honda, 100, Running
14. (20) Agustin Canapino, Chevrolet, 100, Running
15. (15) Conor Daly, Chevrolet, 100, Running
16. (18) Christian Lundgaard, Honda, 100, Running
17. (25) Jack Harvey, Honda, 100, Running
18. (14) Rinus VeeKay, Chevrolet, 100, Running
19. (23) Helio Castroneves, Honda, 100, Running
20. (19) Benjamin Pedersen, Chevrolet, 97, Running
21. (22) Santino Ferrucci, Chevrolet, 97, Running
22. (26) Sting Ray Robb, Honda, 97, Running
23. (21) David Malukas, Honda, 85, Contact
24. (3) Romain Grosjean, Honda, 80, Contact
25. (27) Graham Rahal, Honda, 50, Contact
26. (10) Pato O’Ward, Chevrolet, 41, Contact
27. (16) Callum Ilott, Chevrolet, 1, Contact

Winner’s average speed: 80.922 mph; Time of Race: 02:01:58.1171; Margin of victory: 1.1843 seconds; Cautions: 7 for 32 laps; Lead changes: 10 among seven drivers. Lap Leaders: Palou 1-28; Power 29-33; O’Ward 34; Palou 35-55; Power 56-64; Palou 65; Rossi 66; Newgarden 67-68; Kirkwood 69; Ericsson 70-76; Palou 77-100.


Click here for the points tally in the race.

Here are the points standings after the Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix:



Engine manufacturers

Pit stop performance

Top 10 in points: Palou 273, Ericsson 222, Newgarden 203, Dixon 194, O’Ward 191, Rossi 176, McLaughlin 175, Power 172, Herta 149, Rosenqvist 148.

Rest of the standings: Grosjean 145, Kirkwood 142, Lundgaard 136, Ilott 116, VeeKay 108, Ferrucci 105, Armstrong 101, Rahal 99, Malukas 91, Daly 88, DeFrancesco 81, Castroneves 80, Harvey 78, Canapino 77, Pagenaud 72, Pedersen 61, Robb 55, Takuma Sato 37, Ed Carpenter 27, Ryan Hunter-Reay 20, Tony Kanaan 18, Marco Andretti 13, RC Enerson 5, Katherine Legge 5.

Next race: IndyCar will head to Road America for the Sonsio Grand Prix, which will take place June 18 with coverage starting at 1 p.m. ET on NBC and Peacock.