Dakar Prologue Highlights: Ricky Brabec, Nasser Al-Attiyah set the mark

2021 Dakar Prologue Brabec
Marcelo Maragni, Red Bull

The starting lineup has been determined for the 2021 Dakar Rally after the prologue stage as Ricky Brabec and Nasser Al-Attiyah set the mark.

Here are some of Saturday’s highlights:

In the cars class, Nasser Al-Attiyah and Brian Baragwanath posted identical times of 5:48. Al-Attiyah was credited with the stage win – the 36th of his career. He will open the 172-mile special stage. “Things get serious tomorrow with a long opening stage,” the Qatari driver said afterward.

Baragwanath is in his first rally after watching from the sidelines for the past five years.

They narrowly bettered the time of the Saudi national Yazeed Al Rajhi, who took a measured approach to the day. “Everything went well,” Al Rajhi said. “We didn’t throw caution to the wind because we needed to avoid getting into trouble. It’s just a prologue, but we ended up quite high.”

With such small margins in the prologue stage, Stephane Peterhansel lost 19 seconds to Al-Attiyah, but was not in the least discouraged. “Just being able to start the race is a huge reason to be pleased,” he said. “It feels great to get going after several days twiddling our thumbs. This was just a short warm-up, but it’s good to get the show on the road.”

Overall: Al-Attiyah and Baragwanath holds an advantage of 00:08 seconds over Al Rajhi.

In bikes, Ricky Brabec got his title defense off to a strong start by winning the prologue stage with a time of 6:01.

Daniel Sanders made the most of his first foray in the Dakar with a solid podium finish. He was 7 seconds behind Brabec in third and 7 seconds behind second-place Joan Barreda Bort.

Overall: Ricky Brabec holds an advantage of 00:06 over Joad Barreda Bort.

FINDING THE WAY: Meet the navigation wizard who is teaching Dakar Rally contenders to read the desert

In lightweight prototypes, Kris Meeke finished only two seconds ahead of Californian Seth Quintero.

Age won over youth in the prologue stage. Britain’s Meeke, 41, has more than two decades of experience over Quintero, 18.

American Mitchell Guthrie, Quintero’s Red Bull teammate, was 10 seconds behind the leader in third.

Overall: Kris Meeke holds an advantage of 00:02 over Seth Quintero.


In SSV, American Austin Jones beat Reinaldo Varela by only 4 seconds.

Saleh Alsaif was one second behind Varela in third.

Overall: Austin Jones holds an advantage of 00:04 over Reinaldo Varela.

In quads, Alexandre Giroud took the early lead by only one second over Manuel Andujar.

In the tightly contested division, Kamil Wisniewski was 4 seconds behind the leader.

Overall: Alexandre Giroud holds an advantage of 00:01 over Manuel Andujar.

In trucks, Siarhei Viazovich beat Aliaksei Vishneuski by one second.

Martin Macik was right on their back bumper with a deficit of three seconds.

Overall: Siarhei Viazovich holds an advantage of 00:01 over Aliaksei Vishneuski.


IndyCar results, points after Detroit Grand Prix


DETROIT — Alex Palou topped the results of an NTT IndyCar Series race for the second time this season, extending his championship points lead with his victory in the Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix.

The Chip Ganassi Racing driver, who also won the GMR Grand Prix (and the Indy 500 pole position) last month, holds a 51-point lead over teammate Marcus Ericsson (ninth at Detroit) through seven of 17 races this season.

Ganassi, which placed all four of its drivers in the top 10 at Detroit, has three of the top four in the championship standings with Scott Dixon ranked fourth after a fourth at Detroit.

FLAVOR FLAV POWERS UP: Iconic rapper hangs out with Team Penske

Indy 500 winner Josef Newgarden is third in the standings after taking a 10th at Detroit. Pato O’Ward slipped to fifth in the points after crashing and finishing 26th

Here are the IndyCar results and points standings after the Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix:


Click here for the official box score from the 100-lap race on a nine-turn, 1.645-mile street course in downtown Detroit.

Lap leader summary

Full lap chart

Best section times

Full section data

Event summary

Pit stop summary

Here is the finishing order in the Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix with starting position in parentheses, driver, engine, laps completed and reason out (if any):

1. (1) Alex Palou, Honda, 100, Running
2. (7) Will Power, Chevrolet, 100, Running
3. (9) Felix Rosenqvist, Chevrolet, 100, Running
4. (4) Scott Dixon, Honda, 100, Running
5. (13) Alexander Rossi, Chevrolet, 100, Running
6. (12) Kyle Kirkwood, Honda, 100, Running
7. (2) Scott McLaughlin, Chevrolet, 100, Running
8. (11) Marcus Armstrong, Honda, 100, Running
9. (6) Marcus Ericsson, Honda, 100, Running
10. (5) Josef Newgarden, Chevrolet, 100, Running
11. (24) Colton Herta, Honda, 100, Running
12. (17) Devlin DeFrancesco, Honda, 100, Running
13. (8) Simon Pagenaud, Honda, 100, Running
14. (20) Agustin Canapino, Chevrolet, 100, Running
15. (15) Conor Daly, Chevrolet, 100, Running
16. (18) Christian Lundgaard, Honda, 100, Running
17. (25) Jack Harvey, Honda, 100, Running
18. (14) Rinus VeeKay, Chevrolet, 100, Running
19. (23) Helio Castroneves, Honda, 100, Running
20. (19) Benjamin Pedersen, Chevrolet, 97, Running
21. (22) Santino Ferrucci, Chevrolet, 97, Running
22. (26) Sting Ray Robb, Honda, 97, Running
23. (21) David Malukas, Honda, 85, Contact
24. (3) Romain Grosjean, Honda, 80, Contact
25. (27) Graham Rahal, Honda, 50, Contact
26. (10) Pato O’Ward, Chevrolet, 41, Contact
27. (16) Callum Ilott, Chevrolet, 1, Contact

Winner’s average speed: 80.922 mph; Time of Race: 02:01:58.1171; Margin of victory: 1.1843 seconds; Cautions: 7 for 32 laps; Lead changes: 10 among seven drivers. Lap Leaders: Palou 1-28; Power 29-33; O’Ward 34; Palou 35-55; Power 56-64; Palou 65; Rossi 66; Newgarden 67-68; Kirkwood 69; Ericsson 70-76; Palou 77-100.


Click here for the points tally in the race.

Here are the points standings after the Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix:



Engine manufacturers

Pit stop performance

Top 10 in points: Palou 273, Ericsson 222, Newgarden 203, Dixon 194, O’Ward 191, Rossi 176, McLaughlin 175, Power 172, Herta 149, Rosenqvist 148.

Rest of the standings: Grosjean 145, Kirkwood 142, Lundgaard 136, Ilott 116, VeeKay 108, Ferrucci 105, Armstrong 101, Rahal 99, Malukas 91, Daly 88, DeFrancesco 81, Castroneves 80, Harvey 78, Canapino 77, Pagenaud 72, Pedersen 61, Robb 55, Takuma Sato 37, Ed Carpenter 27, Ryan Hunter-Reay 20, Tony Kanaan 18, Marco Andretti 13, RC Enerson 5, Katherine Legge 5.

Next race: IndyCar will head to Road America for the Sonsio Grand Prix, which will take place June 18 with coverage starting at 1 p.m. ET on NBC and Peacock.