Six first-time winners in 2021 Tulsa Shootout, Christopher Bell second

2021 Tulsa Shootout winners, David Campbell

There were six first-time winners in the 2021 Tulsa Shootout representing six states with one driver winning two Golden Drillers. Christopher Bell finished second in one of the seven A-Mains and outside the top five in two other races.

New winners dominated the night as some big names settled for second.

California’s Mitchel Moles took the lead with four laps remaining in the 55-lap Winged Outlaw race to earn his first Golden Driller in a controversial race. Moles and second-place Jonathan Beason battled Joe B. Miller for the lead on Lap 43 with Beason winning the war for the time being. When a caution waved on Lap 51 for debris, however, Beason was penalized two positions for jumping a restart.

“My thoughts on the ruling, I broke a rule I didn’t know,” Beason said in a tweet after the race. “People were pulling out of line all weeks on restarts, and when Joe B didn’t go I had a split decision to keep from running into and also not getting run over from behind, I even lifted once I was next to him to not make it as blatant.

“I’ll accept it but would like to know how a guy can drive thru the infield and improve his position, and I can’t even begin to make a pass for position. Seems like the racing is being taking out of racing.”

It was the second consecutive year in which Beason finished second.

Miller fell back to fifth at the checkers. Other notables in the race included Tyler Courtney in third, Kevin Thomas Jr. in fifth, Brady Bacon in eighth, and Jason McDougal 17th.

STRONG START FOR CHAMPIONS: The 2021 Tulsa Shootout showcased several champions

The most successful driver of the night was Brian Carber, a Pennsylvania native. He won two star-filled A-Mains by bettering Courtney in the A-Class and Christopher Bell in Stock Non-Wing. He came close to adding a third Golden Driller in the Non-Wing Outlaw class, but Oklahoma’s Kris Carroll surprised him for the win.

In the A-Class feature, the best Bell could do was sixth after losing three positions in the 30-lap race. He also finished sixth in the Non-Wing Outlaw race but was forced to overcome a 24th-place gridding in that event.

Three other first-time winners were crowned in the 600 cc Modifieds with Mason Keefer (Arizona), Junior Sprints with Lucas Mauldin (California) and Restricted A with Jaxton Wiggs (Illinois).

The Chili Bowl Nationals resume action is six days with the premier midget race of the season.

Travis Pastrana leads flag-to-flag in Nitro Rallycross as the series returns to America

Pastrana Nitro Rallycross
Barry Chin / Getty Images

Travis Pastrana waited until the final trip around ERX Motor Park to take his Joker Lap – a longer way around the course that all drivers must do at least once in a race – and came out cleanly to win his first Nitro Rallycross race of 2022. With this win, Pastrana is the third driver to visit Victory Lane in the first three rounds of the 2022-23 season.

“This is the closest to a motocross track,” Pastrana told Katie Osborne on Peacock. “Thank you so much for a beautiful facility. It’s been a rough start to the season and I’m so thankful to be back out here. We had a good run in the side-by-side and now for this. This is much needed.”

Another thing needed was the sense of improvement. And Pastrana earned that affirmation each time he completed a lap around the course.

“I get my lap times read out and they said ‘fastest time of the week,’ ‘fastest time of the week’ (each time around) ” Pastrana said. “This is really special. We’re a long way behind in the championship, but welcome to America.”

In a pre-race press conference, Pastrana said that as Nitro Rallycross heads back to America, it was time for an American to win and he made good on his promise. Pastrana took the early lead over Robin Larsson and let the back of his Subaru hang out, taking risks he might not otherwise take if not for his need to win.

How to Watch Nitro Rallycross

Larsson’s second-place finish completed a perfect sweep of the podium in three rounds. In fact, he has not yet finished worse than second after winning the opening round at Lydden Hill in the United Kingdom and finishing second at Strangnas in Sweeden.

Fraser McConnel rounded out the podium for his best result of the season. He finished fourth in each of the first two rounds.

Last year, Pastrana finished second in this race to Scott Speed before narrowly edging his teammate for the championship.

Andreas Bakkerud crashed in prelims, but rebounded to finish just off the block in fourth. Bakkerud won the second round ahead of his teammate Larsson.

Oliver Bennett completed the top five.

Minneapolis is the first of three rounds scheduled in the United States. Next on the schedule is Glen Helen, Calif. on Octo 30 and then Phoenix at Wild Horse Pass on November 12th. Nitro Rallycross will then head to Saudi Arabia in December to continue their 2022-23 season.