Zach Veach, Frankie Montecalvo to race for Vasser Sullivan

Vasser Sullivan Veach Montecalvo
David John Griffin/Getty Images

Zach Veach and Frankie Montecalvo will race for Vasser Sullivan in the 2021 IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship GTD class as co-drivers of the No. 12 Lexus RC F GT3.

Montecalvo returns to Vasser Sullivan for a third season in the GTD class. In 2020, he earned his first IMSA victory at Road America and poles at Sebring and Road Atlanta. Montecalvo finished on the podium once more in 2020. He was second in the WaetherTech 240 on the Daytona International Road Course.

“We are excited to announce that we have signed Frankie Montecalvo and Zach Veach to drive the No. 12 for the 2021 IMSA GTD class championship season,” Vasser Sullivan said in a release. “After two seasons with us, Frankie has now become a contender for a pole and/or a win every weekend.  We expect you’ll see more of this from Frankie in the ’21 season.”

Veach is making his first foray into sports car racing. Veach’s best finish in the NTT IndyCar Series was a fourth, which he earned twice. His first fourth-place finish came in his rookie season of 2018 on the Streets of Long Beach. His second and most recent was earned on the Texas Motor Speedway oval racing for Andretti Autosport.

Veach’s next 10 starts with Andretti landed well outside the top 10. Driver and team agreed to part ways with three races remaining.

“The timing with Zach is perfect as he transitions to the next stage of his career in sports cars after a great run in IndyCar,” the team said.

Veach relocated to Charlotte in order to be closer to the team and speed up his transition from open wheel racing to GTD.

During the off season, Vasser Sullivan and AIM Autosport also chose to part ways.

Jack Hawksworth and Aaron Telitz will also return to Vasser Sullivan as full-season co-drivers of the No. 14 Lexus RC F GT3.

All four drivers will participate in the ROAR Before the Rolex 24, January 21-24, 2021.

Final 2023 Rolex 24 at Daytona results, stats


DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. — The 2023 Rolex 24 at Daytona overall results were all streaks: two consecutive victories in the endurance classic for Meyer Shank Racing and three in a row for Acura.

And Helio Castroneves became the second driver to win three consecutive Rolex 24s and the first to win in three straight years (Peter Gregg won in 1973, ’75 and ’76; the race wasn’t held in ’74 because of a global oil crisis).

Starting from the pole position, Tom Blomqvist took the checkered flag in the No. 60 ARX-06 that led a race-high 365 of 783 laps with co-drivers Castroneves, Simon Pagenaud and Colin Braun.

RESULTS: Click here for the finishing order in the 61st Rolex 24 at Daytona l By class

Meyer Shank Racing now has two Rolex 24 victories and the 2022 championship since entering the premier prototype category of the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship in 2021.

“I think what’s so special about this team is we are a small team compared to some of our opponents, but the atmosphere, the way we work, enables people to get the best out of themselves, and I think that’s why we’re such high achievers,” Blomqvist said. “I think there’s no egos. It’s a very open book, and that just enables each and every one of us to reach our potential. I think that’s why we’ve achieved so much success in really a short time at this level of competition.”

It’s the 16th IMSA victory for MSR.

The 61st running of the Rolex 24 at Daytona marked the debut of the Grand Touring Prototype category that brought hybrid engine technology to IMSA’s top level.

In other categories:

LMP2: James Allen passed Ben Hanley on the final lap and delivered a victory in the No. 55 ORECA by 0.016 seconds. It’s the second IMSA victory for Proton Competition, which last won at Sebring in 2012. It was the first Rolex 24 victory for Allen and co-drivers Gianmaria Bruni, Fred Poordad and Francesco Pizzi.

GTD Pro: Cooper MacNeil won in the last start of his IMSA career as the No. 79 Mercedes-AMG GT3 scored the first Rolex 24 at Daytona for WeatherTech Racing and the team’s fourth career victory.

MacNeil, who co-drove with Maro Engel, Jules Gounon and Daniel Juncadella, earned his 12th career victory and first at the Rolex 24.

“Winning by last IMSA race is tremendous,” MacNeil said.

GTD: The No. 27 Heart of Racing Team delivered the first Rolex 24 at Daytona for Aston Martin, which has been competing in endurance races at Daytona International Speedway since 1964. Drivers Marco Sorensen, Roman De Angelis, Darren Turner and Ian James (also the team principal) earned the victory in the English brand’s 13th attempt.

It’s also the first Rolex 24 at Daytona win for Heart of Racing, which has seven IMSA wins.

LMP3: Anthony Mantella, Wayne Boyd, Nico Varrone and Thomas Merrill drove the No. 17 AWA Duqueine D08 to victory by 12 laps for the team’s first class win in IMSA.


Fastest laps by driver

Fastest laps by driver after race (over the weekend)

Fastest laps by driver and class after race

Fastest lap sequence

Lap chart

Leader sequence

Race analysis by lap

Stint analysis

Time cards

Pit stop time cards

Best sector times

Race distance and speed average

Flag analysis

Weather report

NEXT: The 2023 IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship season will resume with the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring March 18 with coverage across NBC, USA and Peacock.