Dakar Rally wrapup: A photo gallery of stunning shipwrecks, scenery and sand


The 2021 Dakar Rally concluded with a historic wrapup Jan. 15 in Saudi Arabia as Stephane Peterhansel won a record 14th title, and Kevin Benavides became the first South American to win the motorbike division.

Over nearly two weeks, the rally was held for the second consecutive year in Saudi Arabia, whose desert landscape and Red Sea coastlines provided some surprisingly stunning vistas and images.

In the video above, there are bonus stories that supplement the nightly coverage of the Dakar Rally on NBCSN. Some of the content:

  • Over more than 4,000 miles, the route went by the site of famous shipwrecks and a notable plane crash.
  • How long does it take to complete tire changes?
  • Bikes runner-up Ricky Brabec investigates another way of racing the rally.
  • Tricks behind the trucks.

Final results of the Dakar Rally and recaps of the daily online content on Motorsports Talk are below. But first a photo gallery of some remarkable images from the event:

Yamaha’s Botswanan biker Ross Branch competes during Stage 6 (FRANCK FIFE/AFP via Getty Images).
An aerial view of the bivouac, the Dakar Rally’s traveling base camp, during Stage 9 (FRANCK FIFE/AFP via Getty Images).
Sam Sunderland rides for the Red Bull KTM Factory Team races during Stage 2 (Flavien Duhamel/Red Bull Content Pool).
An overhead shot of a truck racing the coastline (Flavien Duhamel/Red Bull Content Pool).
Andrey Nonvirgin rolls past several camels during Stage 10 (FRANCK FIFE/AFP via Getty Images).
Brian Baragwanath charges through a dune in Stage 6 (FRANCK FIFE/AFP via Getty Images).
Daniel Sanders races during Stage 6 (Flavien Duhamel/Red Bull Content Pool).
Francisco Chaleco Lopez races past a rock formation during Stage 10 (Marcelo Maragni/Red Bull Content Pool).
Rally legend Sebastien Loeb catches some air during Stage 6 (FRANCK FIFE/AFP via Getty Images).


STAGE 1Carlos Sainz, Toby Price open with victories

STAGE 2Ricky Brabec jumps to second; Andrew Short withdraws

STAGE 3American privateer Skyler Howes takes lead

STAGE 4Four Stages, four bike winners; Al-Attiyah wins three consecutive in cars

STAGE 5Kevin Benavides new leader in bikes

STAGE 6: Toby Price retakes the lead; Peterhansel distances the competition

STAGE 7Ricky Brabec captures first victory; Skyler Howes third

STAGE 8: Austin Jones takes overall lead in side by sides

STAGE 9Toby Price retires after heavy crash; Peterhansel wins

STAGE 10: Ricky Brabec closes to within a minute of overall lead

STAGE 11Ricky Brabec falls to third; unhappy with KTM tactics

STAGE 12: Benavides holds off Brabec; record 14th for Peterhansel

Toby Price rides during Stage 9 of the Dakar Rally (Flavien Duhamel/Red Bull Content Pool).



Overall podium: 1. Stephane Peterhansel; 2. Nasser Al-Attiyah; 3. Carlos Sainz.

Stage victories: Nasser Al-Attiyah 5 (Stages 2, 3, 4, 8, 11); Carlos Sainz 3 (Stage 1, 6, 12); Yazeed Al Rajhi 2 (Stage 7, 10); Giniel de Villiers (Stage 5); Stephane Peterhansel (Stage 9)


Overall podium: 1. Kevin Benavides; 2. Ricky Brabec; 3. Sam Sunderland.

Stage victories: Ricky Brabec 3 (Stage 7, 10, 12); Joan Barreda 3 (Stage 2, 4, 6); Toby Price 2 (Stages 1, 3); Kevin Benavides 2 (Stage 5, 9); Jose Ignacio Cornejo Florimo (Stage 8); Sam Sunderland (Stage 11)


Overall podium: 1. Francisco Lopez Contardo; 2. Austin Jones; 3. Aron Domzala.

Stage victories: Francisco Lopez Contardo 6 (Stage 3, 5, 7, 8, 9, 11); Austin Jones (Stage 1); Saleh Alsaif (Stage 2); Aron Domzala (Stage 4); Khalifa Al Attiyah (Stage 6); Sergei Kariakin (Stage 10); Reinaldo Varella (Stage 12)


Overall podium: 1. Manuel Andujar; 2. Giovanni Enrico; 3. Pablo Copetti.

Stage victories: Alexandre Giroud 3 (Stage 1, 6, 8); Pablo Copetti 3 (Stage 2, 10, 12); Nicolas Cavigliasso 2 (Stage 3, 5); Manuel Andujar 2 (Stage 4, 7); Giovanni Enrico 2 (Stage 9, 11)


Overall podium: 1. Dmitry Sotnikov; 2. Anton Shibalov; 3. Airat Mardeev.

Stage victories: Dmitry Sotnikov 4 (Stage 1, 2, 4, 7); Martin Macik 3 (Stage 9, 10, 12); Anton Shibalov 2 (Stage 8, 11); Siarhei Viazovich (Stage 3); Andrey Karginov (Stage 5); Airat Mardeev (Stage 6)

Three-time W Series champ Jamie Chadwick joining Andretti in Indy NXT Series for 2023


Jamie Chadwick, the three-time W Series champion, will drive for Andretti Autosport in the Indy NXT Series next season.

Chadwick will make her debut in an American racing series in March, driving the No. 28 for Andretti Autosport with sponsorship from DHL. The 24-year-old will become the first female driver in 13 years to compete full time in the Indy NXT championship.

Chadwick joined the female free-to-enter W Series in its inaugural 2019 season, winning two races and the first of three consecutive championships. She has been a reserve driver for the Williams Formula One team and will continue in that role in 2023. She also has driven in the Extreme E Series.

Despite her success, Chadwick hasn’t landed a bigger ride in F3 or F2, and her break didn’t come until Michael Andretti contacted her and offered a test in an Indy NXT car.

The final three races of this year’s W Series schedule were canceled when funding fell through, but Chadwick still believes the all-female series was the right path for her.

“W Series has always been and will continue to be an opportunity to be racing for every female driver, so for my side, I looked at it while perhaps I would have liked to step up maybe earlier, at the same time being able to have that chance to race, get that experience, have that development, seat time… I was constantly learning,” Chadwick told The Associated Press.

“In that sense, I wasn’t frustrated at all. But on the flip side of it, now I’ve had that experience testing in the United States in Indy NXT and this is something I’m really excited about.”

Chadwick also is expected to have an enhanced role as a development driver next season with Williams, which chose American driver Logan Sargeant to fill its open seat on next year’s F1 grid.

“Andretti Autosport is proud to be supporting Jamie alongside DHL,” said Michael Andretti. “Jamie’s successful career speaks for itself, but Indy NXT gives Jamie the opportunity to continue her development in a new type of racing.

“We’ve turned out five Indy NXT champions over the years and look forward to continuing our role in developing new talent.”

Indy NXT is the new name of the rebranded Indy Lights Series, the final step on the ladder system before IndyCar.

Andretti will field two drivers next season in IndyCar that were developed in Indy NXT: Kyle Kirkwood, the 2021 champion, will return to Andretti after one season in IndyCar driving for A.J. Foyt Racing, and Devlin DeFrancesco is back for a second season.

Chadwick will be teammates in Indy NXT with Hunter McElrea and Louis Foster. She becomes Andretti’s second full-time female driver alongside Catie Munnings, who competes for Andretti United in the Extreme E Series.