American Flat Track schedule features all 17 rounds on NBCSN

American Flat Track schedule
American Flat Track

All 17 races of the Progressive American Flat Track schedule will be broadcast with premiere telecasts on NBCSN in 2021. Additionally, TrackPass on NBC Sports Gold will provide streaming coverage of the races live. This will be the fifth consecutive season NBCSN and AFT have teamed up.

Dating back to the 1920s, flat track motorcycle racing is among the oldest forms of motorsports in the United States, with an AFT forbearer crowning its first champion, Chet Dykgraaf, in 1946.

“American Flat Track is a staple of our motorsports programming on NBCSN and we are very excited to continue our partnership in 2021,” said Rene Karfias, senior manager, programming, NBC Sports in a release.

Coverage begins with a pair of races on Volusia Motorsports Park in March. The Volusia Half-Mile I and II will air back-to-back on March 20 beginning Noon ET.

“The growth of American Flat Track over the last few years has been fueled and greatly assisted by our partnership with NBC,” said Michael Lock, CEO of Progressive AFT. “We are very excited with the great scheduling of the Series for the 2021 season on NBCSN and the biggest ‘bang for the buck’ in motorsports, delivered by the live streaming package available on TrackPass.”

On the strength of six wins, Briar Bauman beat Jared Mees by just nine points last year for the AFT SuperTwins championship. Mees ended the season with five victories.

Dallas Daniels scored eight victories in the AFT Singles class to win that championship.

American Flat Track Premiere Telecast Schedule

Saturday, March 20 Volusia Half-Mile I Noon
Saturday, March 20 Volusia Half-Mile II 1 p.m.
Sunday, May 2 Atlanta Super TT 10:30 p.m.
Saturday, May 29 Texas Half-Mile 8 p.m.
Sunday, June 6 Chicago Half-Mile 5 p.m.
Saturday, June 26 Oklahoma City Mile I Noon
Saturday, June 26 Oklahoma City Mile II 1 p.m.
Saturday, July 3 Lima Half-Mile 5 p.m.
Sunday, August 8 DuQuoin Mile 11 p.m.
Sunday, August 15 Port Royal Half-Mile 10 p.m.
Sunday, August 22 New York Short Track 9:30 p.m.
Sunday, August 29 Peoria TT 8 p.m.
Sunday, September 12 Springfield Mile I 9 p.m.
Sunday, September 12 Springfield Mile II 10 p.m.
Sunday, September 26 TBA Round 15 11 p.m.
Sunday, September 26 TBA Round 16 Midnight
Saturday, October 9 Charlotte Half-Mile 10:30 p.m.

Santino Ferrucci will drive No. 14 for AJ Foyt Racing full time in 2023 IndyCar season

Santino Ferrucci AJ Foyt
James Gilbert/Getty Images

Santino Ferrucci will return to full-time racing in the NTT IndyCar Series next season, joining AJ Foyt Racing.

Ferrucci had made eight IndyCar starts with three teams since his last full-time season in 2020 while also racing part time in the NASCAR Xfinity Series this year.

He will drive the storied No. 14 Dallara-Chevrolet for four-time Indy 500 winner A.J. Foyt’s team, which will field the car from its Waller, Texas headquarters.

“It’s incredibly exciting to be back in the INDYCAR Series full time,” Ferrucci said in a team release. “Being a part-time driver over the last two years has been hard for me, personally. I’m a race car driver, and I want to compete. Working with different teams has been exciting, and I’m proud that no matter which car I’ve raced, I’ve always shown speed and consistency. I couldn’t be more excited to join AJ Foyt Racing in the 14 Chevy. I can’t wait to make the best of it.”

Ferrucci, 24, had finished a career-best fourth in IndyCar four times, including the 104th Indy 500 in 2020. He was the 2019 Indy 500 rookie of the year with a sixth.

In nine Xfinity starts since 2021, Ferrucci has a career-best finish of 13th at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

“I am thrilled to welcome Santino to the team,” Larry Foyt said in a release. “He’s shown a knack for getting toward the front of the field, and I think he is a racer who moves forward on race day. A.J. sees the fire in him and has enjoyed their meetings together. I think Santino’s experience will help his rookie teammate as well, so he is a great addition to our roster.”

Ferrucci will be teamed at AJ Foyt Racing with Benjamin Pedersen, who finished fifth in the 2022 Indy Lights standings. The team has yet to specify the number for Pedersen’s entry, which will be fielded out of its Indianapolis race shop.

Foyt’s two full-time drivers last season were Dalton Kellett and Kyle Kirkwood, who is moving to Andretti Autosport.