2021 Twelve Hours of Sebring: How to watch, start times, schedule, TV, streaming info


Five months after the checkered flag on the last event, it’s already time for the 69th Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring as the iconic race returns to TV on its traditional mid-March slot on the schedule.

The IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship held its 2020 season finale at Sebring in November after the season was put on pause for more than four months by the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.

But things have begun to return to some degree of normalcy the past two weeks and drivers and teams rolled in for support races and preparations for the main event Saturday.

“It’s great to be back at this event,” Alexander Rossi, who will be driving for Wayne Taylor Racing’s No. 10 Acura, said during a Zoom news conference Wednesday afternoon from the track. “It’s kind of strange that we’re here five months removed from the last time we did it, but it’s always one of those fun events to be at just because of the atmosphere.

NEW CREW: Chad Knaus switches up personnel on the No. 48 Cadillac

“It’s great to see the amount of people that we already have here on a Wednesday. It kind of feels like 2019 in a way. Just fun to be here, and hopefully, we can go 2 for 2 with the 10 car.”

Rossi, the 2016 Indianapolis 500 winner, enters Sebring off a Rolex 24 at Daytona victory, the fourth in five years for Wayne Taylor Racing but its first after switching from Cadillac to Acura in the DPi division for the 2021 season.

The season opener at Daytona featured strong parity between all three manufacturers in DPi as Cadillac continued its history of running well in endurance races with a runner-up finish by the No. 48 Action Express/Hendrick Motorsports entry of Jimmie Johnson, Kamui Kobayashi and Simon Pagenaud.

The No. 55 Mazda finished third and will enter Sebring as the event’s most recent winner last fall as Harry Tincknell, Oliver Jarvis and Jonathan Bomarito try to give the automaker a proper sendoff from the DPi division this year.

Felipe Nasr led the opening practice Thursday morning at Sebring in the No. 31 of Action Express as Cadillac drivers posted four of the top five speeds.

Here are the details for the 69th running of the IMSA Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring at Sebring International Raceway (all times are ET):

2021 IMSA Twelve Hours of Sebring at Sebring International Raceway

When: Saturday, 10:10 a.m.

Race distance: A 12-hour race on the 17-turn, 3.74-mile course in Sebring, Florida.

Forecast: According to Wunderground.com, it’s expected to be 61 degrees with a 2% chance of rain at the green flag.

Entry list: Click here to see the field for the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring


TV:  10 a.m.-noon, NBCSN; noon-7 p.m., NBCSports.com, NBC Sports App; 7-10:30 p.m., NBCSN.

TrackPass on NBC Sports Gold Coverage: Flag to flag beginning at 10:05 a.m.

Race streaming: NBC Sports App, NBCSports.com and TrackPass on NBC Sports Gold

Announcing team: Play-by-play announcers Leigh Diffey and Dave Burns; analysts Dale Earnhardt Jr., Townsend Bell, Calvin Fish; pit reporters Marty Snider, Brian Till, Kevin Lee.

RADIO: IMSA Radio will have live radio coverage on IMSA.com and RadioLeMans.com, as well as SiriusXM


Here’s a rundown of everything happening this weekend in the IMSA Twelve Hours of Sebring at Sebring International Raceway schedule:

Thursday, March 18

9:05-10:05 a.m. — WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, Practice #1

1:55-2:55 p.m. — WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, Practice #2

7:30-9 p.m. — WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, Practice #3

Friday, March 19

11:15 a.m.-12:45 p.m. — WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, Qualifying

Saturday, March 20

8-8:20 a.m. — Warmup for the WeatherTech SportsCar Championship

10:10 a.m.-10:10 p.m. — The 69th running of Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring at Sebring International Raceway


Morning session: Fastest overall speeds l Speeds by class l Speeds by driver

Afternoon session: Fastest overall speeds l Speeds by class l Speeds by driver

Evening session: Fastest overall speeds l Speeds by class l Speeds by driver

IndyCar results, points after Detroit Grand Prix


DETROIT — Alex Palou topped the results of an NTT IndyCar Series race for the second time this season, extending his championship points lead with his victory in the Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix.

The Chip Ganassi Racing driver, who also won the GMR Grand Prix (and the Indy 500 pole position) last month, holds a 51-point lead over teammate Marcus Ericsson (ninth at Detroit) through seven of 17 races this season.

Ganassi, which placed all four of its drivers in the top 10 at Detroit, has three of the top four in the championship standings with Scott Dixon ranked fourth after a fourth at Detroit.

FLAVOR FLAV POWERS UP: Iconic rapper hangs out with Team Penske

Indy 500 winner Josef Newgarden is third in the standings after taking a 10th at Detroit. Pato O’Ward slipped to fifth in the points after crashing and finishing 26th

Here are the IndyCar results and points standings after the Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix:


Click here for the official box score from the 100-lap race on a nine-turn, 1.645-mile street course in downtown Detroit.

Lap leader summary

Full lap chart

Best section times

Full section data

Event summary

Pit stop summary

Here is the finishing order in the Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix with starting position in parentheses, driver, engine, laps completed and reason out (if any):

1. (1) Alex Palou, Honda, 100, Running
2. (7) Will Power, Chevrolet, 100, Running
3. (9) Felix Rosenqvist, Chevrolet, 100, Running
4. (4) Scott Dixon, Honda, 100, Running
5. (13) Alexander Rossi, Chevrolet, 100, Running
6. (12) Kyle Kirkwood, Honda, 100, Running
7. (2) Scott McLaughlin, Chevrolet, 100, Running
8. (11) Marcus Armstrong, Honda, 100, Running
9. (6) Marcus Ericsson, Honda, 100, Running
10. (5) Josef Newgarden, Chevrolet, 100, Running
11. (24) Colton Herta, Honda, 100, Running
12. (17) Devlin DeFrancesco, Honda, 100, Running
13. (8) Simon Pagenaud, Honda, 100, Running
14. (20) Agustin Canapino, Chevrolet, 100, Running
15. (15) Conor Daly, Chevrolet, 100, Running
16. (18) Christian Lundgaard, Honda, 100, Running
17. (25) Jack Harvey, Honda, 100, Running
18. (14) Rinus VeeKay, Chevrolet, 100, Running
19. (23) Helio Castroneves, Honda, 100, Running
20. (19) Benjamin Pedersen, Chevrolet, 97, Running
21. (22) Santino Ferrucci, Chevrolet, 97, Running
22. (26) Sting Ray Robb, Honda, 97, Running
23. (21) David Malukas, Honda, 85, Contact
24. (3) Romain Grosjean, Honda, 80, Contact
25. (27) Graham Rahal, Honda, 50, Contact
26. (10) Pato O’Ward, Chevrolet, 41, Contact
27. (16) Callum Ilott, Chevrolet, 1, Contact

Winner’s average speed: 80.922 mph; Time of Race: 02:01:58.1171; Margin of victory: 1.1843 seconds; Cautions: 7 for 32 laps; Lead changes: 10 among seven drivers. Lap Leaders: Palou 1-28; Power 29-33; O’Ward 34; Palou 35-55; Power 56-64; Palou 65; Rossi 66; Newgarden 67-68; Kirkwood 69; Ericsson 70-76; Palou 77-100.


Click here for the points tally in the race.

Here are the points standings after the Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix:



Engine manufacturers

Pit stop performance

Top 10 in points: Palou 273, Ericsson 222, Newgarden 203, Dixon 194, O’Ward 191, Rossi 176, McLaughlin 175, Power 172, Herta 149, Rosenqvist 148.

Rest of the standings: Grosjean 145, Kirkwood 142, Lundgaard 136, Ilott 116, VeeKay 108, Ferrucci 105, Armstrong 101, Rahal 99, Malukas 91, Daly 88, DeFrancesco 81, Castroneves 80, Harvey 78, Canapino 77, Pagenaud 72, Pedersen 61, Robb 55, Takuma Sato 37, Ed Carpenter 27, Ryan Hunter-Reay 20, Tony Kanaan 18, Marco Andretti 13, RC Enerson 5, Katherine Legge 5.

Next race: IndyCar will head to Road America for the Sonsio Grand Prix, which will take place June 18 with coverage starting at 1 p.m. ET on NBC and Peacock.