IndyCar race weekend schedule for the 2021 season opener at Barber Motorsports Park

IndyCar weekend schedule Barber
Brian Cleary/Getty Images
1 Comment

A full schedule of IndyCar racing is on tap this weekend for Barber Motorsports Park, which will play host to the NTT Series season opener for the first time Sunday.

The Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama was moved into the leadoff slot when the Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg (which opened the IndyCar slate in 10 of 11 seasons before becoming the 2020 season finale) was delayed to April 25. It’s the first time in IndyCar history that the season has opened on a permanent road course.

In addition to the NTT IndyCar Series, all three Road to Indy presented by Cooper Tires ladder series — Indy Lights, Indy Pro 2000 and USF2000 also will be racing at Barber.

ENTRY LIST: Rated rookie trio among 24 drivers at Barber Motorsports Park

In a tweak to race weekend schedules since the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic that has carried over to the 2021 season, Barber will be a two-day show for the NTT IndyCar Series. Saturday will feature two practices totaling 90 minutes and a qualifying session; Sunday will include a 30-minute warmup before the race goes green at 3:42 p.m. ET.

Sunday’s race will be broadcast on NBC; all practice and qualifying sessions this season will be streamed live on Peacock Premium.

Here’s the IndyCar weekend schedule for the Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama:

(All times are Eastern)


9 a.m.-2 p.m.: USF2000, Indy Pro 2000 testing

3-3:30 p.m.: USF2000 practice

3:45-4:15 p.m.: Indy Pro 2000 practice

4:30-5:15: Indy Lights practice


10:50-11:10 a.m.: USF2000 qualifying #1

11:25-11:45 a.m.: Indy Pro 2000 qualifying #1

Noon-12:30 p.m.: Indy Lights qualifying #1

2:50-3:10 p.m.: USF2000 qualifying #2

3:25-3:45 p.m.: Indy Pro 2000 qualifying #2

4-4:30 p.m.: Indy Lights qualifying #2


9-9:40 a.m.: USF2000 Race #1 (20 laps/40 min)

11-11:45 a.m.: IndyCar practice, Peacock Premium

12:10-1 p.m.: Indy Pro 2000 Race #1 (25 laps/50 min)

1:15-2:15 p.m.: Indy Lights Race #1 (30 laps/60 min)

2:40-3:25 p.m.: IndyCar practice, Peacock Premium

4:50-5:30 p.m.: USF2000 Race #2 (25 laps/40 min)

5:55-7:10 p.m.: Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama qualifying, Peacock Premium (live); NBCSN (Tape delayed at 10 p.m. ET)


10:15-11:05 a.m.: Indy Pro 2000 Race #2 (30 laps/50 min)

11:30 a.m.-noon: IndyCar warmup, Peacock Premium

1:20-2:20 p.m.: Indy Lights Race #2 (35 laps/60 min)

3 p.m.: Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama (90 laps/207 miles), NBC

3:35 p.m.: Command to start engines

3:42 p.m.: Green flag

Starting lineup grid for IMSA Petit Le Mans: Tom Blomqvist puts MSR on pole position

Petit Le Mans lineup

IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar championship contender Tom Blomqvist put the Meyer Shank Racing Acura at the front of the starting lineup for the Motul Petit Le Mans at Michelin Road Atlanta.

Blomqvist turned a 1-minute, 8.55-second lap on the 2.54-mile circuit Friday to capture his third pole position for MSR this season. Earl Bamber qualified second in the No. 02 Cadillac for Chip Ganassi Racing.

Ricky Taylor was third in the No. 10 Acura of Wayne Taylor Racing, which enters Saturday’s season finale with a 19-point lead over the No. 60 of Blomqvist and Oliver Jarvis (who will be joined by Helio Castroneves) for the 10-hour race.

PETIT LE MANS STARTING GRID: Click here for the starting lineup l Lineup by car number

PETIT LE MANS: Info on how to watch

With the pole, MSR sliced the deficit to 14 points behind WTR, which will field the trio of Taylor, Filipe Albuquerque and Brendon Hartley in Saturday’s race.

“We really needed to put the car in this kind of position,” Blomqvist said. “It makes our life a little less stressful tomorrow. It would have given the No. 10 a bit more breathing space. It’s going to be a proper dogfight tomorrow. The guys gave me such a great car. It’s been fantastic this week so far, and it really came alive. I’m hugely thankful to the boys and girls at MSR for giving me the wagon today to execute my job.

“That was a big effort from me. I knew how important it was. It’s just awesome for the guys to give them some sort of reward as well. It’s always nice to be quick. If you do the pole, you know you’ve got a quick car.”

Though WTR has a series-leading four victories with the No. 10, MSR won the Rolex 24 at Daytona and has five runner-up finishes along with its three poles.

The strong performances of the ARX-05s ensure that an Acura will win the final championship in IMSA’s premier Daytona Prototype international (DPi) division, which is being rebranded as Grand Touring Prototype in the move to LMDh cars next season.

Taylor qualified third despite sliding into the Turn 5 gravel during the closing minutes of qualifying while pushing to gain points.

“Qualifying was important for points,” Taylor said. “Going into it, if we outqualified the No. 60 Meyer Shank Acura, they had a lot to lose in terms of championship points. So, we were trying to increase the gap over 20 points which would’ve made a big difference for tomorrow. We would have loved to get the pole and qualify ahead of the No. 60, but in the scheme of the points, it didn’t change a whole lot. I’m feeling good since it’s such a long race, and the No. 10 Konica Minolta Acura team does such a good job strategizing and putting us in a good position.

“I’m very confident in our lineup and our team compared to them over the course of 10 hours. I’d put my two teammates up against those guys any day. I think we are all feeling optimistic and strong for tomorrow.”

In other divisions, PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports (LMP2), Riley Motorsports (LMP3), VasserSullivan (GTD Pro) and Paul Miller Racing (GTD) captured pole positions.

The broadcast of the 10-hour race will begin Saturday at 12:10-3 p.m. ET on NBC, moving at 7 p.m. to USA Network. Peacock will have flag-to-flag coverage.



Results by class

Fastest lap by driver

Fastest lap by driver after qualifying

Fastest lap by driver and class after qualifying

Fastest lap sequence in qualifying

Best sector times in qualifying

Time cards in qualifying

PRACTICE RESULTS: Session I l Session II l Session III