IndyCar results and points standings after the Grand Prix of Alabama season opener


An unexpected name was atop the NTT IndyCar Series results and points standings at Barber Motorsports Park, where Alex Palou scored the first victory of his career.

It was the Spaniard’s debut in the No. 10 Dallara-Honda for Chip Ganassi Racing, which scored its first victory at Barber and its 114th in IndyCar.

Palou became the 14th driver to win for Ganassi, joining an illustrious list that includes six-time series champion Scott Dixon (who finished third Sunday), Dario Franchitti, Alex Zanardi, Jimmy Vasser and Juan Pablo Montoya.

Palou finished 0.4016 seconds ahead of two-time Barber winner Will Power in the closest margin of IndyCar’s 11 races at the 17-turn, 2.3-mile road course.

Seven-time NASCAR Cup Series champion Jimmie Johnson started 21st and finished 19th, three laps down, in his IndyCar debut.

Here are the IndyCar final results and points standings from the Honda IndyCar Grand Prix of Alabama:


Click here for the box score from the Honda IndyCar Grand Prix of Alabama. Click here for the lap leader chart.

Here is the finishing order with starting position in parentheses, driver, chassis-engine, laps completed and reason out:

1. (3) Alex Palou, Honda, 90, Running
2. (4) Will Power, Chevrolet, 90, Running
3. (5) Scott Dixon, Honda, 90, Running
4. (1) Pato O’Ward, Chevrolet, 90, Running
5. (16) Sebastien Bourdais, Chevrolet, 90, Running
6. (14) Rinus VeeKay, Chevrolet, 90, Running
7. (18) Graham Rahal, Honda, 90, Running
8. (6) Marcus Ericsson, Honda, 90, Running
9. (2) Alexander Rossi, Honda, 90, Running
10. (7) Romain Grosjean, Honda, 90, Running
11. (11) Jack Harvey, Honda, 90, Running
12. (15) Simon Pagenaud, Chevrolet, 90, Running
13. (19) Takuma Sato, Honda, 90, Running
14. (12) Scott McLaughlin, Chevrolet, 90, Running
15. (13) Ed Jones, Honda, 90, Running
16. (10) Conor Daly, Chevrolet, 90, Running
17. (24) James Hinchcliffe, Honda, 89, Running
18. (23) Dalton Kellett, Chevrolet, 89, Running
19. (21) Jimmie Johnson, Honda, 87, Running
20. (20) Max Chilton, Chevrolet, 86, Running
21. (22) Felix Rosenqvist, Chevrolet, 62, Contact
22. (9) Colton Herta, Honda, 25, Contact
23. (8) Josef Newgarden, Chevrolet, 0, Contact
24. (17) Ryan Hunter-Reay, Honda, 0, Contact

Winner’s average speed: 110.025 mph; Time of race: 1:52:53.0361; Margin of victory: 0.4016 of a second; Cautions: 2 for 8 laps; Lead changes: 10 among 5 drivers
Lap Leaders: Pato O’Ward 1-17; Alex Palou 18-30; Will Power 31-33; Sebastien Bourdais 34-36; O’Ward 37-41; Palou 42-60
Power 61; Bourdais 62; Rinus VeeKay 63; O’Ward 64-66; Palou 67-90


Click here for the points tally in Sunday’s race.

Palou is ranked first in the standings with 53 points, followed by Power 41, Dixon 35, Pato O’Ward 34, Sebastien Bourdais 31, Rinus VeeKay 29, Graham Rahal 26, Marcus Ericsson 24, Alexander Rossi 22 and Romain Grosjean 20.

NEXT: The NTT IndyCar Series will hold the Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg on Sunday, April 25. The race on the streets of St. Pete will begin at noon ET on NBC.

Final 2023 Rolex 24 at Daytona results, stats


DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. — The 2023 Rolex 24 at Daytona overall results were all streaks: two consecutive victories in the endurance classic for Meyer Shank Racing and three in a row for Acura.

And Helio Castroneves became the second driver to win three consecutive Rolex 24s and the first to win in three straight years (Peter Gregg won in 1973, ’75 and ’76; the race wasn’t held in ’74 because of a global oil crisis).

Starting from the pole position, Tom Blomqvist took the checkered flag in the No. 60 ARX-06 that led a race-high 365 of 783 laps with co-drivers Castroneves, Simon Pagenaud and Colin Braun.

RESULTS: Click here for the finishing order in the 61st Rolex 24 at Daytona l By class

Meyer Shank Racing now has two Rolex 24 victories and the 2022 championship since entering the premier prototype category of the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship in 2021.

“I think what’s so special about this team is we are a small team compared to some of our opponents, but the atmosphere, the way we work, enables people to get the best out of themselves, and I think that’s why we’re such high achievers,” Blomqvist said. “I think there’s no egos. It’s a very open book, and that just enables each and every one of us to reach our potential. I think that’s why we’ve achieved so much success in really a short time at this level of competition.”

It’s the 16th IMSA victory for MSR.

The 61st running of the Rolex 24 at Daytona marked the debut of the Grand Touring Prototype category that brought hybrid engine technology to IMSA’s top level.

In other categories:

LMP2: James Allen passed Ben Hanley on the final lap and delivered a victory in the No. 55 ORECA by 0.016 seconds. It’s the second IMSA victory for Proton Competition, which last won at Sebring in 2012. It was the first Rolex 24 victory for Allen and co-drivers Gianmaria Bruni, Fred Poordad and Francesco Pizzi.

GTD Pro: Cooper MacNeil won in the last start of his IMSA career as the No. 79 Mercedes-AMG GT3 scored the first Rolex 24 at Daytona for WeatherTech Racing and the team’s fourth career victory.

MacNeil, who co-drove with Maro Engel, Jules Gounon and Daniel Juncadella, earned his 12th career victory and first at the Rolex 24.

“Winning by last IMSA race is tremendous,” MacNeil said.

GTD: The No. 27 Heart of Racing Team delivered the first Rolex 24 at Daytona for Aston Martin, which has been competing in endurance races at Daytona International Speedway since 1964. Drivers Marco Sorensen, Roman De Angelis, Darren Turner and Ian James (also the team principal) earned the victory in the English brand’s 13th attempt.

It’s also the first Rolex 24 at Daytona win for Heart of Racing, which has seven IMSA wins.

LMP3: Anthony Mantella, Wayne Boyd, Nico Varrone and Thomas Merrill drove the No. 17 AWA Duqueine D08 to victory by 12 laps for the team’s first class win in IMSA.


Fastest laps by driver

Fastest laps by driver after race (over the weekend)

Fastest laps by driver and class after race

Fastest lap sequence

Lap chart

Leader sequence

Race analysis by lap

Stint analysis

Time cards

Pit stop time cards

Best sector times

Race distance and speed average

Flag analysis

Weather report

NEXT: The 2023 IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship season will resume with the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring March 18 with coverage across NBC, USA and Peacock.