IndyCar results and points standings after 2021 Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg


Colton Herta won the Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg, where youth again was served in the NTT IndyCar Series results and points standngs Sunday.

After a dismal 22nd in the season opener at Barber Motorsports Park, Herta shot up to sixth in the points standings. Runner-up Josef Newgarden, who triggered a first-lap crash at Barber, also moved to 10th in the points.

Through two races, the standings are led by Alex Palou, who was 17th Sunday on the heels of his first career IndyCar victory last week at Barber.

Here are the IndyCar final results and points standings from the Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg:


Click here for the box score from the Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg. Click here for the lap leader chart.

Here is the finishing order with starting position in parentheses, driver, chassis-engine, laps completed and reason out:

1. (1) Colton Herta, Honda, 100, Running
2. (3) Josef Newgarden, Chevrolet, 100, Running
3. (4) Simon Pagenaud, Chevrolet, 100, Running
4. (2) Jack Harvey, Honda, 100, Running
5. (8) Scott Dixon, Honda, 100, Running
6. (15) Takuma Sato, Honda, 100, Running
7. (16) Marcus Ericsson, Honda, 100, Running
8. (20) Will Power, Chevrolet, 100, Running
9. (7) Rinus VeeKay, Chevrolet, 100, Running
10. (5) Sebastien Bourdais, Chevrolet, 100, Running
11. (14) Scott McLaughlin, Chevrolet, 100, Running
12. (17) Felix Rosenqvist, Chevrolet, 100, Running
13. (18) Romain Grosjean, Honda, 100, Running
14. (13) Ryan Hunter-Reay, Honda, 100, Running
15. (9) Graham Rahal, Honda, 100, Running
16. (19) Conor Daly, Chevrolet, 100, Running
17. (10) Alex Palou, Honda, 99, Running
18. (12) James Hinchcliffe, Honda, 99, Running
19. (6) Pato O’Ward, Chevrolet, 99, Running
20. (21) Ed Jones, Honda, 99, Running
21. (11) Alexander Rossi, Honda, 98, Running
22. (23) Jimmie Johnson, Honda, 95, Running
23. (24) Dalton Kellett, Chevrolet, 67, Off Course
24. (22) Max Chilton, Chevrolet, 18, Mechanical

Winner’s average speed: 96.552 mph; Time of Race: 1:51:51.4115; Margin of victory: 2.4933 seconds; Cautions: 3 for 9 laps;  Lead changes: 3 among 3 drivers
Lap Leaders: Herta 1-34; Pagenaud 35; Palou 36-37; Herta 38-100


Click here for the points tally in Sunday’s race.

Top 10 in the standings: Alex Palou 67, Will Power 65, Scott Dixon 65, Colton Herta 62, Simon Pagenaud 54, Jack Harvey 51, Sebastien Bourdais 51, Rinus VeeKay 51, Marcus Ericsson 50, Josef Newgarden 47.

NEXT: The NTT IndyCar Series will race on consecutive days at Texas Motor Speedway. Race No. 1 on the 1.5-mile oval is Saturday at 7 p.m. ET on NBCSN. Race No. 2 will be Sunday at 5 p.m. ET on NBCSN.

Sergio Perez wins rain-delayed race in Singapore over Leclerc; Verstappen seventh

Sergio Perez Singapore
Clive Rose/Getty Images,

SINGAPORE — Max Verstappen’s Formula One title celebrations were put on hold after the Red Bull driver placed seventh at a chaotic Singapore Grand Prix, won by his teammate Sergio Perez on Sunday.

Perez’s second win of the season saw him finish 7.6 seconds ahead of Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc, with Leclerc’s teammate Carlos Sainz Jr. in third place.

Perez was investigated for a potential safety car infringement but still kept the win after a 5-second time penalty for dropping too far back after being warned.

Verstappen had won the past five races but needed to win here and finish 22 points ahead of Leclerc to be crowned champion for a second straight season. That could happen next weekend at the Japanese GP.

Verstappen made a mistake after the second safety car restart, following AlphaTauri driver Yuki Tsunoda’s crash on Lap 36. When Verstappen tried to overtake Lando Norris’ McLaren, he locked his tires and needed to pit again.

Leclerc started from pole position with Verstappen going from eighth after a team blunder in qualifying.

The race start was delayed by more than an hour to clear water off the Marina Bay Circuit track following heavy rainfall. Drivers had to finish the 61-lap race within a two-hour window; 59 laps were completed.

Tricky conditions saw the virtual safety car deployed three times and DRS was allowed with about 30 minutes remaining.

Perez made a good start and jumped past Leclerc while Verstappen dropped several places. The first safety car was on Lap 8 when Zhou Guanyu’s Alfa Romeo was cut off by Nicholas Latifi’s Williams.

Perez got away cleanly at the restart, while Verstappen climbed into seventh behind Fernando Alonso – whose 350th F1 race ended disappointingly when his engine failed on Lap 21, bringing out the first VSC.

With the track still damp, drivers decided against changing to quicker tires – apart from Mercedes’ George Russell, who struggled for grip.

Hamilton made a rare mistake on Lap 33 and thudded into the crash barrier. Soon after, the leading drivers changed tires in a flurry of stops. They did so just before the safety car was deployed again following Tsunoda’s error.

Verstappen overtook Sebastian Vettel’s Aston Martin right at the end for seventh place.