IndyCar entry lists, weekend schedule for 2021 Texas Motor Speedway doubleheader

IndyCar 2021 entry lists schedule Texas
Sean Gardner/Getty Images

The NTT IndyCar Series will make its first trip to an oval this season, and Tony Kanaan will be among drivers making their 2021 debuts with new teams on the entry lists for the doubleheader race weekend schedule at Texas Motor Speedway.

In both races Saturday and Sunday, Kanaan will take the wheel of the No. 48 Dallara-Honda that Jimmie Johnson drove in the first two races this season for Chip Ganassi Racing. Pietro Fittipaldi will be in the No. 51 Dale Coyne Racing with Rick Ware Racing entry that primarily is driven by F1 veteran Romain Grosjean.

Team Penske’s Scott McLaughlin, the third member of the 2021 rookie class with Johnson and Grosjean, will make his oval debut in the NTT IndyCar Series at Texas, which will play host to races Saturday and Sunday.

TEXAS ENTRY LISTS: Genesys 300 l XPEL 375 

Conor Daly also is in the 24-driver field, moving from Ed Carpenter Racing to Carlin Racing’s No. 59 Dallara-Chevrolet. Carpenter will make his season debut as the owner-driver of the No. 21.

Daly finished a season-best sixth for Carlin in the June 6, 2020 season opener at Texas (which held the race without fans).

“Obviously, I’m very excited and thankful to be back with Carlin for this weekend,” Daly said in a release. “It’s a package with which we’ve accomplished a lot together in a short amount of time and I’m excited to get back to work with the guys.”

The 2021 IndyCar entry lists for the Genesys 300 and Xpel 375 are the same aside from a few teams switching sponsors on the Texas schedule. Click here for the Genesys 300 Saturday, and click here for the XPEL 375 Sunday.



12:30 p.m.-12:40 p.m.: NTT IndyCar Series pit speed limiter practice (two groups/five minutes each)

12:45 p.m.-2 p.m.: IndyCar practice, Peacock Premium

4-5 p.m.: IndyCar qualifying (single car, two laps: Lap 1/Genesys 300; Lap 2/XPEL 375), Peacock Premium

7 p.m.: Genesys 300 (212 laps, 318 miles), NBCSN


5 p.m.: XPEL 375 (248 laps, 372 miles), NBCSN

Winner Josef Newgarden earns $3.666 million from a record Indy 500 purse of $17 million


INDIANAPOLIS — The first Indy 500 victory for Josef Newgarden also was the richest in race history from a record 2023 purse of just more than $17 million.

The two-time NTT IndyCar Series champion, who continued his celebration Monday morning at Indianapolis Motor Speedway earned $3.666 million for winning the 107th running of the Greatest Spectacle in Racing.

The purse and winner’s share both are the largest in the history of the Indianapolis 500.

It’s the second consecutive year that the Indy 500 purse set a record after the 2022 Indy 500 became the first to crack the $16 million mark (nearly doubling the 2021 purse that offered a purse of $8,854,565 after a crowd limited to 135,000 because of the COVID-19 pandemic).

The average payout for IndyCar drivers was $500,600 (exceeding last year’s average of $485,000).

Indianapolis Motor Speedway owner Roger Penske, whose team also fields Newgarden’s No. 2 Dallara-Chevrolet, had made raising purses a priority since buying the track in 2020. But Penske but was unable to post big money purses until the race returned to full capacity grandstands last year.

The largest Indy 500 purse before this year was $14.4 million for the 2008 Indy 500 won by Scott Dixon (whose share was $2,988,065). Ericsson’s haul made him the second Indy 500 winner to top $3 million (2009 winner Helio Castroneves won $3,048,005.

Runner-up Marcus Ericsson won $1.043 million after falling short by 0.0974 seconds in the fourth-closest finish in Indy 500 history.

The 107th Indy 500 drew a crowd of at least 330,000 that was the largest since the sellout for the 100th running in 2016, and the second-largest in more than two decades, according to track officials.

“This is the greatest race in the world, and it was an especially monumental Month of May featuring packed grandstands and intense on-track action,” Penske Entertainment president and CEO Mark Miles said in a release. “Now, we have the best end card possible for the 107th Running of the Indianapolis 500: a record-breaking purse for the history books.”

Benjamin Pedersen was named the Indy 500 rookie of the year, earning a $50,000 bonus.

The race’s purse is determined through contingency and special awards from IMS and IndyCar. The awards were presented Monday night in the annual Indy 500 Victory Celebration at the JW Marriott in downtown Indianapolis.

The payouts for the 107th Indy 500:

1. Josef Newgarden, $3,666,000
2. Marcus Ericsson, $1,043,000
3. Santino Ferrucci, $481,800
4. Alex Palou, $801,500
5. Alexander Rossi, $574,000
6. Scott Dixon, $582,000
7. Takuma Sato, $217,300
8. Conor Daly, $512,000
9. Colton Herta, $506,500
10. Rinus VeeKay, $556,500
11. Ryan Hunter‐Reay, $145,500
12. Callum Ilott, $495,500
13. Devlin DeFrancesco, $482,000
14. Scott McLaughlin, $485,000
15. Helio Castroneves, $481,500
16. Tony Kanaan, $105,000
17. Marco Andretti, $102,000
18. Jack Harvey, $472,000
19. Christian Lundgaard, $467,500
20. Ed Carpenter, $102,000
21. Benjamin Pedersen (R), $215,300
22. Graham Rahal, $565,500*
23. Will Power, $488,000
24. Pato O’Ward, $516,500
25. Simon Pagenaud, $465,500
26. Agustín Canapino (R), $156,300
27. Felix Rosenqvist, $278,300
28. Kyle Kirkwood, $465,500
29. David Malukas, $462,000
30. Romain Grosjean, $462,000
31. Sting Ray Robb (R), $463,000
32. RC Enerson (R), $103,000
33.  Katherine Legge, $102,000

*–Broken down between two teams, $460,000 Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, $105,500 Dreyer & Reinbold Racing/Cusick Motorsports