IndyCar XPEL 375 starting lineup at Texas


On a weekend with the NTT IndyCar Series racing two at Texas Motor Speedway, Scott Dixon will go for two while starting first Sunday in the starting lineup for the XPEL 375.

Dixon scored the 51st victory of his career Saturday night at Texas, leaving him one behind tying Mario Andretti for No. 2 on the all-time win list.

A.J. Foyt leads with 67 victories. Dixon broke another of Foyt’s records Saturday, becoming the first driver with at least one victory in 19 IndyCar seasons.

Dixon has five victories at Texas, including two consecutive and three of the past four. After starting third Saturday, the six-time series champion took the lead from Chip Ganassi Racing teammate Alex Palou on the third lap and led 206 of 212 laps.

STARTING LINEUP: Order to begin the XPEL 375

SUNDAY DETAILS: How to watch the XPEL 375 at Texas

“It feels amazing to be in this position,” Dixon said. “You just never want it to end. We want to go back-to-back and try to tie Mario tomorrow.

“I’m sure that’s not exactly what he wants to see. We’ll keep our heads down. It’s extremely tough. This season has been one of the toughest starts, I think, for a lot of us just with how tight the competition is.”

He will have a leg up by virtue of his No. 9 Dallara-Honda ranking first after Saturday’s race in the entrant points standings, which were used to set the starting grid for Sunday’s race.

Dixon will start alongside Palou on the front row, ahead of Will Power and Pato O’Ward.

Broadcast coverage of Sunday’s 248-lap race will begin at 5 p.m. ET on NBCSN.

Here’s the IndyCar starting lineup Sunday in the XPEL 375 at Texas Motor Speedway (Position, car number, driver, manufacturer):


1. (9) Scott Dixon, Honda
2. (10) Alex Palou, Honda


3. (12) Will Power, Chevrolet
4. (5) Pato O’Ward, Chevrolet


5. (60) Jack Harvey, Honda
6. (2) Josef Newgarden, Chevrolet


7. (3) Scott McLaughlin, Chevrolet
8. (22) Simon Pagenaud, Chevrolet


9. (15) Graham Rahal, Honda
10. (26) Colton Herta, Honda


11. (30) Takuma Sato, Honda
12. (21) Rinus VeeKay, Chevrolet


13. (8) Marcus Ericsson, Honda
14. (14) Sebastien Bourdais, Chevrolet


15. (27) Alexander Rossi, Honda
16. (51) Pietro Fittipaldi, Honda


17. (7) Felix Rosenqvist, Chevrolet
18. (18) Ed Jones, Honda

ROW 10

19. (20) Ed Carpenter, Chevrolet
20. (48) Tony Kanaan, Honda

ROW 11

21. (29) James Hinchcliffe, Honda
22. (28) Ryan Hunter-Reay, Honda

ROW 12

23. (4) Dalton Kellett, Chevrolet
24. (59) Conor Daly, Chevrolet

Travis Pastrana leads flag-to-flag in Nitro Rallycross as the series returns to America

Pastrana Nitro Rallycross
Barry Chin / Getty Images

Travis Pastrana waited until the final trip around ERX Motor Park to take his Joker Lap – a longer way around the course that all drivers must do at least once in a race – and came out cleanly to win his first Nitro Rallycross race of 2022. With this win, Pastrana is the third driver to visit Victory Lane in the first three rounds of the 2022-23 season.

“This is the closest to a motocross track,” Pastrana told Katie Osborne on Peacock. “Thank you so much for a beautiful facility. It’s been a rough start to the season and I’m so thankful to be back out here. We had a good run in the side-by-side and now for this. This is much needed.”

Another thing needed was the sense of improvement. And Pastrana earned that affirmation each time he completed a lap around the course.

“I get my lap times read out and they said ‘fastest time of the week,’ ‘fastest time of the week’ (each time around) ” Pastrana said. “This is really special. We’re a long way behind in the championship, but welcome to America.”

In a pre-race press conference, Pastrana said that as Nitro Rallycross heads back to America, it was time for an American to win and he made good on his promise. Pastrana took the early lead over Robin Larsson and let the back of his Subaru hang out, taking risks he might not otherwise take if not for his need to win.

How to Watch Nitro Rallycross

Larsson’s second-place finish completed a perfect sweep of the podium in three rounds. In fact, he has not yet finished worse than second after winning the opening round at Lydden Hill in the United Kingdom and finishing second at Strangnas in Sweeden.

Fraser McConnel rounded out the podium for his best result of the season. He finished fourth in each of the first two rounds.

Last year, Pastrana finished second in this race to Scott Speed before narrowly edging his teammate for the championship.

Andreas Bakkerud crashed in prelims, but rebounded to finish just off the block in fourth. Bakkerud won the second round ahead of his teammate Larsson.

Oliver Bennett completed the top five.

Minneapolis is the first of three rounds scheduled in the United States. Next on the schedule is Glen Helen, Calif. on Octo 30 and then Phoenix at Wild Horse Pass on November 12th. Nitro Rallycross will then head to Saudi Arabia in December to continue their 2022-23 season.