Mazda on pole in the IMSA starting lineup for the Acura Sports Car Challenge at Mid-Ohio

IMSA Mid-Ohio starting lineup

Mazda will start on the pole position Saturday in the starting lineup for the IMSA Acura Sports Car Challenge at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course.

Harry Tincknell claimed the top spot in WeatherTech SportsCar Championship qualifying with a 1-minute, 10.027-second lap around the 13-turn, 2.258-mile track in the No. 55.

The DPi track record (breaking the mark set in May 2019 by Mazda’s Oliver Jarvis, Tincknell’s teammate) beat the No. 10 Wayne Taylor Racing Acura of Felipe Albuquerque (1:10.122). The No. 31 Action Express Cadillac of Pipo Derani will start third (1:10.432).

STARTING GRID: Click here for the Acura Sports Car Challenge starting lineup

SUNDAY’S RACE: Details for watching IMSA at Mid-Ohio

The No. 60 Meyer Shank Racing Acura turned the third-quickest lap (1:10.355) in qualifying but was moved to the back of the class in the sixth position for changing starting tires.

“Seventy seconds around Mid-Ohio is really pushing on quite a bit,” Tincknell told the IMSA Wire Service after his first pole position in the series. “It was definitely a roller-coaster ride, but I’m really happy. We didn’t have the fastest car in the first couple races, but we’ve really come out of it well. There’s a long race ahead of us, but we’re really happy to be starting up front.”

Mazda, which is leaving the DPI division after the 2021 season, finished third in the Rolex 24 at Daytona season opener and second at Sebring.

In LMP3, Gar Robinson took the No. 74 RIley Motorsports to the pole position over Jon Bennett (No. 54 CORE autosport), who was ahead of Jarrett Andretti (No. 36 Andretti Autosport).

In GTD, Aaron Telitz put the No. 14 Vasser Sullivan Lexus RC F GT3 on pole as he and co-driver Jack Hawksworth seek to defend last year’s Mid-Ohio victory.

IMSA’s premier division will return after a two-month break Sunday with its first Sprint Cup race of the the season. The two-hour, 40-minute race will begin at 2:30 p.m. ET on NBCSN.

Click here for the starting grid in the Acura Sports Car Challenge.


Click here for the DPi results

Click here for the GTD results l GTD points

Click here for the LMP3 results

Sergio Perez wins rain-delayed race in Singapore over Leclerc; Verstappen seventh

Sergio Perez Singapore
Clive Rose/Getty Images,

SINGAPORE — Max Verstappen’s Formula One title celebrations were put on hold after the Red Bull driver placed seventh at a chaotic Singapore Grand Prix, won by his teammate Sergio Perez on Sunday.

Perez’s second win of the season saw him finish 7.6 seconds ahead of Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc, with Leclerc’s teammate Carlos Sainz Jr. in third place.

Perez was investigated for a potential safety car infringement but still kept the win after a 5-second time penalty for dropping too far back after being warned.

Verstappen had won the past five races but needed to win here and finish 22 points ahead of Leclerc to be crowned champion for a second straight season. That could happen next weekend at the Japanese GP.

Verstappen made a mistake after the second safety car restart, following AlphaTauri driver Yuki Tsunoda’s crash on Lap 36. When Verstappen tried to overtake Lando Norris’ McLaren, he locked his tires and needed to pit again.

Leclerc started from pole position with Verstappen going from eighth after a team blunder in qualifying.

The race start was delayed by more than an hour to clear water off the Marina Bay Circuit track following heavy rainfall. Drivers had to finish the 61-lap race within a two-hour window; 59 laps were completed.

Tricky conditions saw the virtual safety car deployed three times and DRS was allowed with about 30 minutes remaining.

Perez made a good start and jumped past Leclerc while Verstappen dropped several places. The first safety car was on Lap 8 when Zhou Guanyu’s Alfa Romeo was cut off by Nicholas Latifi’s Williams.

Perez got away cleanly at the restart, while Verstappen climbed into seventh behind Fernando Alonso – whose 350th F1 race ended disappointingly when his engine failed on Lap 21, bringing out the first VSC.

With the track still damp, drivers decided against changing to quicker tires – apart from Mercedes’ George Russell, who struggled for grip.

Hamilton made a rare mistake on Lap 33 and thudded into the crash barrier. Soon after, the leading drivers changed tires in a flurry of stops. They did so just before the safety car was deployed again following Tsunoda’s error.

Verstappen overtook Sebastian Vettel’s Aston Martin right at the end for seventh place.