Felix Rosenqvist unveils new Arrow McLaren livery for Indy 500 from Undefeated

Rosenqvist Undefeated Indy 500
Arrow McLaren SP
1 Comment

Felix Rosenqvist hopes there is hidden meaning in “Undefeated” as he sports new livery for the No. 7 Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet in the 105th Running of the Indy 500, on May 30, 2021 (11 a.m. ET, NBC).

Arrow McLaren SP and team partner Vuse combine to debut a new partnership with Undefeated, a curated streetwear brand and retail outlets.

“Arrow McLaren SP is always looking for opportunities to engage and entertain new fans to showcase this amazing sport to a more diverse audience,” said Taylor Kiel, President of Arrow McLaren SP in a release. “To work with Vuse to bring Undefeated, an innovative, exciting lifestyle and streetwear brand, to the track during our sport’s biggest moment of the year, is a cool way to reach new people and help grow our and the IndyCar fanbase.”

With primary sponsorship from Vuse, the livery features a design by Undefeated’s founder James Bond.

“We are excited to work with Arrow McLaren SP for the most iconic motorsport event of the year, the Indy 500,” said Bond. “It’s an honor to have been asked to participate in the creation of the No. 7 car driven by Felix Rosenqvist and the opportunity to expand our brands’ outreach.”

Bond will get an opportunity to see his design in action as he joins team and sponsor at the track on May 30.

IndyCar’s May race schedules: 105th Indy 500

Rosenqvist seeks his first top-10 of 2021 in the biggest race of the season. In the first five races, he has two top-15s with a 12th at St. Petersburg and 13th on the first oval race at Texas Motor Speedway.

Last year, driving for Chip Ganassi Racing, he finished 12th in the Indy 500.

The innovative designs will not stop with the Indy 500. Through the “Vuse Design Challenge” artists and designers will have an opportunity to design a paint scheme for the No. 7 Arrow McLaren Chevrolet. The winning entry will be featured on the car in August when the series visits the Street of Nashville for their inaugural run.

The winner will also receive prize money and a trip to the race to see their car in action.


Meyer Shank Racing wins second consecutive Rolex 24 at Daytona to begin GTP era


DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. – The Grand Touring Prototype era began just as the previous one ended as Meyer Shank Racing’s Acura captured its second consecutive Rolex 24 at Daytona with star Tom Blomqvist emphatically starting and finishing the race.

The No. 60 ARX-06 won the 24-hour endurance classic at Daytona International Speedway by 4.190 seconds over Filipe Albuquerque of Wayne Taylor Racing with Andretti Autosport, giving Acura a sweep of the top two spots.

The Chip Ganassi Racing Cadillac V-LMDh cars took the next two spots with Renger van der Zande (the No. 01) and Earl Bamber (No. 02) as four of the nine new GTP cars finished on the lead lap within 12 seconds of each other and four more finished the race – quashing the prerace hand-wringing of mass failures for the highly technical cars in the debut of the hybrid prototype premier category.

“Amazed is the right word,” Honda Performance Development president David Salters said when asked about reliability. “These are sophisticated cars. It’s not easy. It’s a testament to each group that they did a really good job. It was a fight all the way through the race. I didn’t expect that at all.”

There were major problems for the manufacturer newcomers Porsche Penske Motorsport and BMW M Team RLL, whose two pairs of cars all finished at least a dozen laps down or more because of major mechanical problems in the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship season opener.

But there were no such failures for Acura despite the manufacturer skipping any endurance testing with the new LMDh car. Salters said his

It’s the third Rolex 24 at Daytona victory for co-owner Mike Shank, who won his first in 2012.

Just as he capped the 2022 season by winning the Petit Le Mans season finale in the No. 60 Acura to clinch the final championship of the DPi division for MSR, Blomqvist was behind the wheel again for his third overall victory in IMSA.

“That was crazy,” Blomqvist told NBC Sports’ Kevin Lee. “I knew we had a fantastic car. I’ve been working hard. Unbelievable. Massive, well done, everyone being part of this project and worked together on this project. What a car we’ve built.

“I was just a bit nervous. The 10 was definitely second fastest car, but we held them off.”

It was the second consecutive Rolex 24 victory for MSR’s trio of Blomqvist, Simon Pagenaud and Helio Castroneves, who were joined this year by Colin Braun (winning his first Rolex 24 overall).

Castroneves joined select company in winning the Rolex 24 in three consecutive years (his first win was with Wayne Taylor Racing in 2021 — also in an Acura, which now has three consecutive Rolex 24s). Peter Gregg won the Rolex 24 in 1973, ’75 and ’76 (the 1974 race wasn’t held because of the oil crisis).

Castroneves and Pagenaud are entering their second consecutive year as teammates for Meyer Shank Racing’s Dallara-Hondas in the NTT IndyCar Series.

“Can you believe that?” Castroneves told Lee. “Big props to everyone. Everyone did an amazing job. Everybody worked so hard together. We got it! Another one. I can’t believe it. This is absolutely a dream come true.”

The four-time Indy 500 winner led the team in his signature fence-climbing celebration afterward — just as he had when he finished MSR’s victory in last year’s Rolex 24 and when he won the 2021 Indy 500 for the team.

“It’s always fun to climb the fence with Helio,” said Pagenaud, who drove the second-to-last stint before Blomqvist closed it out: “The competition as amazing. It was tough out there. So much fun. Hope you had as much fun as we had. I’m going to savor this one.”

Winners in other classes were the No. 55 ORECA 07 of Proton Competition (which triumphed on a last-lap pass by James Allen on Ben Hanley), WeatherTech Racing’s No. 79 Mercedes in GTD Pro, Heart of Racing’s No. 27 Aston Martin in GTD and AWA’s No. 17 in LMP3.