Starting lineup for the 105th Indy 500

Indy 500 starting lineup
Chris Jones/IndyCar

INDIANAPOLIS — For the fourth time in his career, six-time NTT IndyCar Series champion Scott Dixon will lead the starting lineup of the Indy 500 to the green flag in his career.

The 33 drivers in the 105th Indy 500 combined to post a qualifying field average at 230.294 mph, the fastest in the storied race’s history (breaking the 229.382 mph record set in 2014).

Dixon’s lone Indy 500 victory came in his first start from the pole position in 2008. He finished fourth when starting first in 2015 and placed 32nd from the pole in ’17 after escaping injury in a terrifying wreck.

Last year, the Chip Ganassi Racing driver started and finished second to Takuma Sato after leading a race-high 111 of 200 laps. It’s one of three runner-up finishes in the Indy 500 for Dixon, who says it’s “the worst place to finish” but adds that Indianapolis Motor Speedway owes him nothing.

ROW BY ROW: Click here to view the starting lineup

INDY 500 INFO: Start times, schedules, TV, stats, historical details about the race

“As we all know, it doesn’t really matter where you start, it’s where you finish,” Dixon said. “That’s going to be the focus now. We’re starting in a great position.

“Winning a pole at the Indianapolis 500 is one of the toughest things to do. From a team standpoint, just how much work and effort goes into building these cars specifically for that pole run, it’s a lot of money and a lot of effort that it takes.”

The No. 9 Dallara-Honda driver is one of nine former Indy 500 winners in the field, joining three-time winner Helio Castroneves (2001, 2002, 2009), two-time winners Juan Pablo Montoya (2000, 2015) and Sato (2017, 2020) Tony Kanaan (2013), Ryan Hunter-Reay (2014), Alexander Rossi (2016), Will Power (2018) and Simon Pagenaud (2019).

With the changing of the guard being an overarching narrative of the 2021 IndyCar season (which has started with three first-time winners and four 24 and younger), Dixon will line up beside two rising stars.

Colton Herta, 21, will be starting a career-best second in his third Indy 500 start, and Rinus VeeKay, 20, will be the youngest driver in history to start on the front row of the Greatest Spectacle in Racing.

Here is the Indy 500 starting lineup by row for the May 30 race (11 a.m. ET NBC):


1. (9) Scott Dixon, Dallara-Honda, 231.685 mph
2. (26) Colton Herta, Dallara-Honda, 231.655
3. (21) Rinus VeeKay, Dallara-Chevy, 231.511


4. (20) Ed Carpenter, Dallara-Chevy, 231.504
5. (48) Tony Kanaan, Dallara-Honda, 231.032)
6. (10) Alex Palou, Dallara-Honda, 230.616


7. (28) Ryan Hunter-Reay, Dallara-Honda, 230.499
8. (06) Helio Castroneves, Dallara-Honda, 230.355
9. (8) Marcus Ericsson, Dallara-Honda, 230.318


10. (27) Alexander Rossi, Honda, 231.046
11. (18) Ed Jones, Honda, 231.044
12. (5) Pato O’Ward, Chevrolet, 230.864


13. (51) Pietro Fittipaldi, Honda, 230.846
14. (7) Felix Rosenqvist, Chevrolet, 230.744
15. (30) Takuma Sato, Honda, 230.708


16. (29) James Hinchcliffe, Honda, 230.563
17. (3) Scott McLaughlin, Chevrolet, 230.557
18. (15) Graham Rahal, Honda, 230.521


19. (47) Conor Daly, Chevrolet, 230.427
20. (60) Jack Harvey, Honda, 230.191
21. (2) Josef Newgarden, Chevrolet, 230.071


22. (1) JR Hildebrand, Chevrolet, 229.980
23. (45) Santino Ferrucci, Honda, 229.949
24. (86) Juan Pablo Montoya, Chevrolet, 229.891


25. (98) Marco Andretti, Honda, 229.872
26. (22) Simon Pagenaud, Chevrolet, 229.778
27. (14) Sebastien Bourdais, Chevrolet, 229.744

ROW 10

28. (25) Stefan Wilson, Honda, 229.714
29. (59) Max Chilton, Chevrolet, 229.417
30. (4) Dalton Kellett, Chevrolet, 228.323

ROW 11

31. (24) Sage Karam, Chevrolet, 229.156
32. (12) Will Power, Chevrolet, 228.876
33. (16) Simona De Silvestro, Chevrolet, 228.353

Ken Roczen signs with HEP Progressive Ecstar Suzuki for 2023

Roczen Progressive Ecstar Suzuki
Align Media

ANAHEIM, California – Ken Roczen will make the move from HRC Honda to H.E.P. Motorsports with the Progressive Ecstar Suzuki team, ending a long and eventful offseason that saw his split from his longstanding team after he committed to running World Supercross (WSX).

“H.E.P. Motorsports is thrilled to announce that the team has signed Ken Roczen as its premier rider for the 2023 season,” the team announced on Instagram. “Former AMA Motocross champion Roczen will be aboard a Suzuki RM-Z450. Roczen, who won his most recent championship on a Suzuki, will be reunited with the brand and bring his exciting style, determination, and grit back to the RM Army.

“Ken Roczen will compete in the upcoming 2023 Supercross and Motocross Championship series which is set to start on January 7 at Anaheim Stadium in Southern California.”

For Roczen, it is a return to the bike of his youth and on which he had some of his greatest professional success.

“This thing has been going on for weeks and weeks and weeks in the making, but there was so much uncertainty,” Roczen told NBC Sports during Monster Energy Supercross Media Sessions. “It was a very unique situation. I just finally signed two nights ago, so it’s really only legit once the ink hits the paper. It’s been in the works for a long time, but there were just a lot of questions and a lot of input from a lot of other teams too.

“Good things take time, and I’m okay with that. I grew up riding Suzuki. Ot’s like a homecoming. It’s a special feeling”

Roczen won the 2016 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship on a Suzuki before making the move to Honda. That year he won nine of 12 Nationals and finished no worse than second as he easily outpaced Eli Tomac by 86 points. He finished third in his next Pro Motocross outing in 2018 after sitting out the outdoor season in 2017.

“I am beyond excited to reconnect with Suzuki for the 3rd time in my career. We’ve had a lot of success in the past and I’m looking forward to seeing what we can accomplish together in our future.” Roczen said in the Instagram post.