IndyCar results and points standings after the 105th Indy 500


INDIANAPOLIS — Helio Castroneves joined a club of Indy 500 legends Sunday at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, becoming the fourth four-time winner in the 110-year history of results and points from its 500-Mile Race.

Castroneves climbed the fence after  passing Alex Palou to lead the final two laps and tie the record for most Indy 500 victories that is shared by A.J. Foyt, Rick Mears and Al Unser.

At 46 years, 20 days, Castroneves (who also won in 2001, ’02 and ’09) became the fourth-oldest winner in Indy 500 history behind Al Unser (47 in 1987), Bobby Unser (47 in ’81) and Emerson Fittipaldi (46 in ’93). The 12-year gap between Castroneves’ victories is the second longest in Indy 500 history behind Juan Pablo Montoya (who won in 2000 and ’15).

The 105th Indy 500 was the first NTT IndyCar Series victory for Castroneves, whose last was July 9, 2017 at Iowa Speedway in his final full-time season with Team Penske. The Brazilan raced in the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship the past three years while also running the Indy 500 with Penske.

Sunday marked Castroneves’ 21st start in the Indy 500 but his first outside Penske after joining Meyer Shank Racing for a part-time IndyCar season in 2021. His 31st victory in IndyCar also was the first for Meyer Shank, which joined IndyCar full time last year and is known primarily for competing in sports cars.

In becoming the first driver to win the Indy 500 with another team after winning for Penske, Castroneves won the fastest Indy 500 in history. The 200-lap race had an average speed of 190.690 mph with only two caution flags for 18 laps, breaking the record of 187.433 in 2013.

The race also set a record for fewest yellows and caution laps (previously four in 1990 and 2019 and 21 laps in 1976, 2013 and ’14).

Here are the IndyCar final results and points standings Sunday in the 105th Indy 500 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway:


Click here for the box score from the Indy 500 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Click here for the lap leader chart.

Here is the finishing order with starting position in parentheses, driver, engine, laps completed and reason out:

1. (8) Helio Castroneves, Honda, 200, Running
2. (6) Alex Palou, Honda, 200, Running
3. (26) Simon Pagenaud, Chevrolet, 200, Running
4. (12) Pato O’Ward, Chevrolet, 200, Running
5. (4) Ed Carpenter, Chevrolet, 200, Running
6. (23) Santino Ferrucci, Honda, 200, Running
7. (31) Sage Karam, Chevrolet, 200, Running
8. (3) Rinus VeeKay, Chevrolet, 200, Running
9. (24) Juan Pablo Montoya, Chevrolet, 200, Running
10. (5) Tony Kanaan, Honda, 200, Running
11. (9) Marcus Ericsson, Honda, 200, Running
12. (21) Josef Newgarden, Chevrolet, 200, Running
13. (19) Conor Daly, Chevrolet, 200, Running
14. (15) Takuma Sato, Honda, 200, Running
15. (22) JR Hildebrand, Chevrolet, 200, Running
16. (2) Colton Herta, Honda, 200, Running
17. (1) Scott Dixon, Honda, 200, Running
18. (20) Jack Harvey, Honda, 200, Running
19. (25) Marco Andretti, Honda, 200, Running
20. (17) Scott McLaughlin, Chevrolet, 200, Running
21. (16) James Hinchcliffe, Honda, 200, Running
22. (7) Ryan Hunter-Reay, Honda, 200, Running
23. (30) Dalton Kellett, Chevrolet, 199, Running
24. (29) Max Chilton, Chevrolet, 199, Running
25. (13) Pietro Fittipaldi, Honda, 199, Running
26. (27) Sebastien Bourdais, Chevrolet, 199, Running
27. (14) Felix Rosenqvist, Chevrolet, 199, Running
28. (11) Ed Jones, Honda, 199, Running
29. (10) Alexander Rossi, Honda, 198, Running
30. (32) Will Power, Chevrolet, 197, Running
31. (33) Simona De Silvestro, Chevrolet, 169, Contact
32. (18) Graham Rahal, Honda, 118, Contact
33. (28) Stefan Wilson, Honda, 32, Contact

Winner’s average speed: 190.690 mph; Time of race: 2:37:19.3846; Margin of victory: 0.4928 seconds; Cautions: 2 for 18 laps; Lead changes: 35 among 13 drivers; Lap Leaders: Herta 1; VeeKay 2-30; Herta 31-32; Dixon 33-35; Castroneves 36-38; Herta 39-48; VeeKay 49; Daly 50-70; Castroneves; 71-76; Palou 77; O’Ward 78; Rahal 79-81; VeeKay 82-83; Daly, 84-102; O’Ward, 103-113; Rahal, 114-118; Palou, 119-124; Castroneves 125-126; O’Ward 127-130; Palou 131-147; Castroneves 148-149; O’Ward 150; Sato 151-156; Rosenqvist 157; Dixon 158-161; Palou 162-168; Castroneves 169-171; Palou 172; Pagenaud 173-175; Karam 176-177; Ferrucci 178-179; Rosenqvist 180-192; Sato 193; Castroneves 194-195; Palou 196-198; Castroneves 199-200.


Click here for the points tally in Sunday’s race.

Through six races, here are the full points standings for:



Engine manufacturers

Top 10 in the standings: Palou 248, Dixon 212, O’Ward 211, Pagenaud 201, VeeKay 191, Newgarden 184, Herta 154, Rahal 148, McLaughlin 143, Ericsson 138.

NEXT: The NTT IndyCar Series will race June 12-13 in the Detroit Grand Prix doubleheader at the Belle Isle Park Raceway.

Ken Roczen signs with HEP Progressive Ecstar Suzuki for 2023

Roczen Progressive Ecstar Suzuki
Align Media

ANAHEIM, California – Ken Roczen will make the move from HRC Honda to H.E.P. Motorsports with the Progressive Ecstar Suzuki team, ending a long and eventful offseason that saw his split from his longstanding team after he committed to running World Supercross (WSX).

“H.E.P. Motorsports is thrilled to announce that the team has signed Ken Roczen as its premier rider for the 2023 season,” the team announced on Instagram. “Former AMA Motocross champion Roczen will be aboard a Suzuki RM-Z450. Roczen, who won his most recent championship on a Suzuki, will be reunited with the brand and bring his exciting style, determination, and grit back to the RM Army.

“Ken Roczen will compete in the upcoming 2023 Supercross and Motocross Championship series which is set to start on January 7 at Anaheim Stadium in Southern California.”

For Roczen, it is a return to the bike of his youth and on which he had some of his greatest professional success.

“This thing has been going on for weeks and weeks and weeks in the making, but there was so much uncertainty,” Roczen told NBC Sports during Monster Energy Supercross Media Sessions. “It was a very unique situation. I just finally signed two nights ago, so it’s really only legit once the ink hits the paper. It’s been in the works for a long time, but there were just a lot of questions and a lot of input from a lot of other teams too.

“Good things take time, and I’m okay with that. I grew up riding Suzuki. Ot’s like a homecoming. It’s a special feeling”

Roczen won the 2016 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship on a Suzuki before making the move to Honda. That year he won nine of 12 Nationals and finished no worse than second as he easily outpaced Eli Tomac by 86 points. He finished third in his next Pro Motocross outing in 2018 after sitting out the outdoor season in 2017.

“I am beyond excited to reconnect with Suzuki for the 3rd time in my career. We’ve had a lot of success in the past and I’m looking forward to seeing what we can accomplish together in our future.” Roczen said in the Instagram post.