Helio Castroneves earns $1.8 million for win in Indy 500 as purse increases from last year

2021 Indy 500 purse
Brian Spurlock/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

INDIANAPOLIS — Helio Castroneves’ fourth victory in the 2021 Indy 500 earned $1,828,305 — up 33 percent over last year’s grand prize — as the purse increased for the race this season.

The 105th Indy 500 had a total purse of $8,854,565 divided among the 33-car field, up 18 percent from last year’s $7,502,500. The 2020 Indy 500 was held last Aug. 23 without fans.

The 105th Indy 500 was the biggest sporting event since the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic, drawing an announced crowd of 135,000 (which was announced a sellout for the 40 percent capacity allowed by local officials). That brought in revenue to the 2.5-mile oval, where Castroneves tied the track record for most victories with A.J. Foyt, Al Unser and Rick Mears.

OFFICIAL BOXSCORE: Where everyone finished in the 105th Indy 500 with payouts

CASTRONEVES’ CUNNING: Appreciating the geinus of Helio Castroneves

The 2020 Indy 500 purse was $7,502,500, slightly more than half of the originally announced record purse of $15 million. The amount was cut because the track lost millions by being unable to have fans because of the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic. Takuma Sato picked up a $1,370,500 winner’s check that was worth less than his first victory in 2017.

According to the Indianapolis Star, 2020 was the smallest Indy 500 race purse since 1991 and the lowest winner’s earnings since 2003.

Click here for the full boxscore from the 105th Indy 500.

The rest of the payouts for the 2021 Indy 500:

2. Alex Palou, $649,305
3. Simon Pagenaud, $403,305
4. Pato O’Ward, $343,305
5. Ed Carpenter, $286,305
6. Santino Ferrucci, $157,305
7. Sage Karam, $162,305
8. Rinus VeeKay, $302,805
9. Juan Pablo Montoya, $135,305
10. Tony Kanaan, $130,305
11. Marcus Ericsson, $225,305
12. Josef Newgarden, $220,305
13. Conor Daly, $212,305
14. Takuma Sato, $222,305
15. JR Hidlebrand, $110,305
16. Colton Herta, $252,305
17. Scott Dixon, $316,305
18. Jack Harvey, $200,305
19. Marco Andretti, $100,305
20. Scott McLaughlin, $151,305
21. James Hinchcliffe, $200,305
22. Ryan Hunter-Reay, $200,305
23. Dalton Kellett, $200,305
24. Max Chilton, $200,305
25. Pietro Fittipaldi, $210,305
26. Sebastien Bourdais, $200,305
27. Felix Rosenqvist, $214,305
28. Ed Jones, $200,305
29. Alexander Rossi, $200,305
30. Will Power, $200,305
31. Simona De Silvestro, $100,305
32. Graham Rahal, $217,305
33. Stefan Wilson, $100,305

Ken Roczen signs with HEP Progressive Ecstar Suzuki for 2023

Roczen Progressive Ecstar Suzuki
Align Media

ANAHEIM, California – Ken Roczen will make the move from HRC Honda to H.E.P. Motorsports with the Progressive Ecstar Suzuki team, ending a long and eventful offseason that saw his split from his longstanding team after he committed to running World Supercross (WSX).

“H.E.P. Motorsports is thrilled to announce that the team has signed Ken Roczen as its premier rider for the 2023 season,” the team announced on Instagram. “Former AMA Motocross champion Roczen will be aboard a Suzuki RM-Z450. Roczen, who won his most recent championship on a Suzuki, will be reunited with the brand and bring his exciting style, determination, and grit back to the RM Army.

“Ken Roczen will compete in the upcoming 2023 Supercross and Motocross Championship series which is set to start on January 7 at Anaheim Stadium in Southern California.”

For Roczen, it is a return to the bike of his youth and on which he had some of his greatest professional success.

“This thing has been going on for weeks and weeks and weeks in the making, but there was so much uncertainty,” Roczen told NBC Sports during Monster Energy Supercross Media Sessions. “It was a very unique situation. I just finally signed two nights ago, so it’s really only legit once the ink hits the paper. It’s been in the works for a long time, but there were just a lot of questions and a lot of input from a lot of other teams too.

“Good things take time, and I’m okay with that. I grew up riding Suzuki. Ot’s like a homecoming. It’s a special feeling”

Roczen won the 2016 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship on a Suzuki before making the move to Honda. That year he won nine of 12 Nationals and finished no worse than second as he easily outpaced Eli Tomac by 86 points. He finished third in his next Pro Motocross outing in 2018 after sitting out the outdoor season in 2017.

“I am beyond excited to reconnect with Suzuki for the 3rd time in my career. We’ve had a lot of success in the past and I’m looking forward to seeing what we can accomplish together in our future.” Roczen said in the Instagram post.