IndyCar results and points standings after Detroit Grand Prix Race 2 at Belle Isle


IndyCar Detroit Sunday results and points standings: Pato O’Ward became the first repeat winner of the 2021 NTT IndyCar Series season, leading the final three laps of Race 2 in the Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix after taking the lead from Josef Newgarden.

O’Ward cruised to a 6.7595-second victory in his No. 5 Dallara-Chevrolet for his second career victory (after also winning May 2 at Texas Motor Speedway). Newgarden finished second from the pole position as Team Penske remained winless through eight races this year.

The two-time IndyCar Series champion led a race-high 67 of 70 laps while finishing runner-up for the third time in’ 21.

It’s the ninth IndyCar victory for Arrow McLaren SP. Before taking the traditional winner’s bath in the Belle Isle fountain, O’Ward dedicated the win to teammate Felix Rosenqvist, who missed Sunday’s race after being hospitalized for a violent crash Saturday.

O’Ward took over the championship standings lead through eight races by one point over Alex Palou, who finished third ahead of Colton Herta and Graham Rahal.

Will Power, Scott Dixon, Simon Pagenaud, Marcus Ericsson (who won Saturday) and Santino Ferrucci (who rebounded from a qualifying crash) rounded out the top 10. Jimmie Johnson finished 21st in the fifth start of his IndyCar career.

Here are the IndyCar final results and points standings Sunday in Race 2 of the Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix:


Click here for the box score from Race 2 of the Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix at Belle Isle Raceway. Click here for the lap leader chart.

Here is the finishing order with starting position in parentheses, driver, engine, laps completed and reason out:

1. (16) Pato O’Ward, Chevrolet, 70, Running
2. (1) Josef Newgarden, Chevrolet, 70, Running
3. (4) Alex Palou, Honda, 70, Running
4. (2) Colton Herta, Honda, 70, Running
5. (9) Graham Rahal, Honda, 70, Running
6. (20) Will Power, Chevrolet, 70, Running
7. (6) Scott Dixon, Honda, 70, Running
8. (10) Simon Pagenaud, Chevrolet, 70, Running
9. (22) Marcus Ericsson, Honda, 70, Running
10. (12) Santino Ferrucci, Honda, 70, Running
11. (17) Ryan Hunter-Reay, Honda, 70, Running
12. (19) Takuma Sato, Honda, 70, Running
13. (7) Alexander Rossi, Honda, 70, Running
14. (14) James Hinchcliffe, Honda, 70, Running
15. (8) Conor Daly, Chevrolet, 70, Running
16. (13) Sebastien Bourdais, Chevrolet, 70, Running
17. (11) Ed Jones, Honda, 70, Running
18. (3) Rinus VeeKay, Chevrolet, 70, Running
19. (18) Jack Harvey, Honda, 69, Running
20. (21) Scott McLaughlin, Chevrolet, 69, Running
21. (25) Jimmie Johnson, Honda, 69, Running
22. (15) Max Chilton, Chevrolet, 68, Running
23. (24) Dalton Kellett, Chevrolet, 61, Running
24. (5) Romain Grosjean, Honda, 57, Mechanical
25. (23) Oliver Askew, Chevrolet, 46, Mechanical

Winner’s average speed: 97.227 mph; Time of race: 1:41:30.8814; Margin of victory: 6.7595 seconds; Cautions: 3 for 11 laps; Lead changes: 1 among 2 drivers; Lap leaders: Newgarden 1 – 67; O’Ward 68 – 70.


Click here for the points tally in Sunday’s race.

Through eight races, here are the full points standings for:



Engine manufacturers

Top 10 in the standings: O’Ward 299, Palou 298, Dixon 263, Newgarden 248, Pagenaud 243, VeeKay 243, Ericsson 211, Rahal 209, Herta 202, Sato 181.

NEXT: The NTT IndyCar Series will race Sunday, June 20 (noon ET, NBCSN) at Road America.

Pato O’Ward celebrates in the fountain at Belle Isle Raceway (Chris Owens/IndyCar).

Max Verstappen, Sergio Perez and Formula One embrace the United States

Verstappen Perez United States
Fatih Aktas/Anadolu Agency via Getty Images

Last week, Red Bull Racing revealed its new car, the RB19, and a new relationship with Ford Motor Co. in an event in New York City complete with drivers Max Verstappen, Sergio Perez and team principal Christian Horner.

It’s the first Formula 1 team to launch in the United States for 2023, but even that small move of the needle reflects a major shift in the attitude of both F1’s management and their teams – and the extent to which the American audience has fully embraced the sport.

“It’s something fantastic and unique, for the sport to be able to break it into the U.S,” Perez told NBC Sports. “The market is huge and it’s a huge opportunity for everyone involved, for the drivers, for the team. It’s always a huge market.”

Verstappen Perez United States
Sergio Perez finished fourth in the Unites States Grand Prix, but he was first with the fans.  – Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images

In 2023, Formula 1 will race three times in the United States and five times in North America. The Circuit of the Americas will host their 11th consecutive race in October before heading south to Mexico City. Miami returns for a second time in May on a temporary street course around the Hard Rock cafe and the third addition is in downtown Las Vegas in November.

With the Canadian Grand Prix on the schedule for June and the Brazilian Grand Prix in November, American fans are now in the ballpark of Europeans, who have eight events on the continent and one in England.

In 2022, Verstappen won every race in North America. He was kept from sweeping the hemisphere only by George Russell, who won in Brazil. That fact is less remarkable when one considers that Verstappen won 15 times in the season – nearly two-thirds of the races on the schedule.

By the time Formula arrived in Austin, Texas, for Round 20 of 23, Verstappen already had wrapped up his second consecutive championship.

“Sometimes it can be hard to replicate the season, but I think it’s the same as with the car, right? You always try to improve it,” Verstappen told NBC Sports. “And I always look at the little details that even when you have had a good race, you could have done better. And then of course you also learn from the bad races. So we always try to look for these little improvements and general experience you gain year after year.

“You try to do better, but of course it also depends a lot on the package you have.”

Verstappen Perez United States
Max Verstappen United States Grand Prix win was one of 15 for the drivers and 17 for Red Bull.
(Gongora / NurPhoto via Getty Images)

Now Verstappen’s thoughts inevitably will turn to establishing a dynasty, and America will again play a pivotal role.

“I just enjoy what I’m doing,” Verstappen said.  “After the years in Formula One, when you have to be on top of your game and you gain a lot on your experience – in that sense nothing really can get to you anymore. Every year you just try to do the best you can. But a lot depends on the material around you. It’s always a bit of a guess. Start the season as fit as you can be and be well prepared. But if you don’t have the car, you’re not going to win the championship.”

Perez added two wins to Red Bull’s total, at Monaco and the Marina Bay Street course. With two of the US 2023 races on street courses, Perez hopes to close the gap on Verstappen and potentially be his chief rival for the championship.

“The strategy is clear; it is to maximize the potential of the car – and we believe we have a good car, but how good?,” Perez said “We don’t know what the competition is doing. We just give our best in building this car and we hope that it’s good enough to get us to win races.

“I think we have to work together as a team. At the same time. We both want to win the championship. It’s just having good compromise. The competition will be really strong out there, so we really need everything we possibly can get from each other.”

Formula One returns to the United States for Round 6 and the Miami Grand Prix on May 7.