Wayne Taylor Racing Acura on pole in IMSA starting lineup for Six Hours of Watkins Glen

IMSA Watkins Glen starting lineup

IMSA starting lineup: Wayne Taylor Racing will start from the IMSA pole position at Watkins Glen International after Ricky Taylor qualified first in the No. 10 Acura with a 1-minute, 30.022-second lap.

Taylor and Filipe Albuquerque, who are teamed with IndyCar star Alexander Rossi for this Michelin Endurance Cup race, are leading the points standings after victories in two of the first four races this season.

“The Acura is a fantastic car here at Watkins Glen,” Taylor said. “Coming here, we knew we’d be strong and we were really looking forward to it.  This chassis and engine package was really designed to perform best at European-style tracks:  really fast, flowing, and smooth circuits.  So when we come to Watkins Glen, we know we can run the car low [to the ground] and take advantage of the horsepower and aero platform the Acura provides. For sure, I wouldn’t want to be in any other car here. It’s a dream to drive.”

The Meyer Shank Racing Acura made it a sweep of the top two in the Sahlen’s Six Hours of The Glen qualifying for Acura as Dane Cameron (who is teamed with Olivier Pla) turned a lap of 1:30.141.

SIX HOURS OF THE GLEN: Details for Sunday’s race

“I think I made a couple of small mistakes on the quick lap and I think that made a difference, so I am a little disappointed on that,” Cameron said. “But overall, we’ve had a good competitive weekend so far [leading both practice sessions prior to qualifying] and we’ve got a good car. Six hours is a long time, and I think there will be some different weather conditions to come so we will see how we get along on Sunday.”

Renger van der Zande qualified third in the No. 01 Chip Ganassi Racing Cadillac that he shares with Kevin Magnussen.

Kamui Kobayashi was fourth fastest in the No. 48 Ally Cadillac with teammates Simon Pagenaud and Jimmie Johnson (joined this weekend by former NASCAR Cup Series crew chief Chad Knaus and a contingent of Hendrick Motorsports team members).

The rest of the DPi division: Pipo Derani, No. 31 Action Express Cadillac (1:30.824), Oliver Jarvis, No. 55 Mazda (1:31.075), Tristan Vautier No. 5 Mustang-Sampling Cadillac (1:31.324).

SPORTY EXPERIENCE: Chad Knaus loves his taste of IMSA

Sunday’s race will begin at 10:40 a.m. ET and will be televised on the NBC Sports App, NBCSports.com and TrackPass on NBC Sports Gold. There will be a replay at 7 p.m. ET on NBCSN.

Here were the top qualifiers in other classes:

–LMP2: Steve Thomas, Tristan Nunez, Thomas Merrill, No. 11 WIN Autosport

–GTLM: Antonio Garcia, Jordan Taylor, No. 3 Corvette Racing C8.R

–GTD: Kyle Kirkwood, Jack Hawksworth, Aaron Telitz, No. 14 Vasser Sullivan Lexus RC F GT3

–LMP3:  Austin McCusker, Niklas Kruetten, Edouard, Cauhaupe, No. 2 United Autosports

Click here for the starting grid in the Sahlen’s Six Hours of The Glen and here for the starting grid by number.


Click here for the DPi And LMP2 results

Click here for GTLM results/GTD points

Click here for the GTD results

Click here for the LMP3 results


Click here for Session I l Session II

IndyCar releases schedule for 2023 season

IndyCar schedule 2023
Douglas Stringer/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

The NTT IndyCar Series’ 2023 schedule will feature the same number of races and tracks as this season with some minor reshuffling of dates.

IndyCar will open the 2023 season March 5 on the streets of St. Petersburg, Florida, and will conclude Sept. 10 at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca in Monterey, California. The 107th Indy 500 will take place May 28 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

The 17-race schedule will conclude with a stretch of eight races in the final nine weeks.

“The NTT IndyCar Series is on an impactful upward trajectory, making progress at a pace that befits our thrilling style of competition,” Penske Entertainment Corp. president and CEO Mark Miles said in a release. “The 2023 season provides an opportunity to further build on this trend, bringing our sport and its stars to more markets and households and reaching new consumers across the globe.”

There will be 15 events on NBC: 13 races (including six of the final seven) plus Indy 500 qualifying May 20-21. There also are three races on USA Network and the Toronto race exclusively on Peacock. All races on NBC and USA also will have live simulstreams on Peacock.

In partnership with NBC Sports, the 2022 IndyCar season was the most-watched in six years and the most-watched across NBC Sports on record. The 2022 season also was the most streamed season on record.

“We’re very excited for our 2023 NTT IndyCar Series schedule and to build on this past season’s viewership milestones,” NBC Sports vice president of programming Mike Perman said in a release. “In providing comprehensive coverage across NBC, Peacock and USA Network, NBC Sports is once again looking forward to telling the stories of these world-class drivers and this compelling series.”

Notable elements on the 2023 schedule:

–There will be the same balance of seven road course races, five street courses and five ovals.

–St. Pete will be the season opener for the 13th time.

–The Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix will move from Belle Isle to the streets of downtown.

–The NASCAR doubleheader weekend at the IMS road course will shift to mid-August.

–The World Wide Technology Raceway event will move from Saturday to Sunday.

Start times for the 2023 events will be announced at a later date.

Here’s the 2023 IndyCar schedule:

Date Race/Track Network/Platform
Sun., March 5 Streets of St. Petersburg NBC, Peacock
Sun., April 2 Texas Motor Speedway NBC, Peacock
Sun., April 16 Streets of Long Beach NBC, Peacock
Sun., April 30 Barber Motorsports Park NBC, Peacock
Sat., May 13 Indianapolis Motor Speedway (Road Course) NBC, Peacock
Sun., May 28 The 107th Indianapolis 500 NBC, Peacock
Sun., June 4 Streets of Detroit NBC, Peacock
Sun., June 18 Road America USA Network, Peacock
Sun., July 2 Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course USA Network, Peacock
Sun., July 16 Streets of Toronto Peacock
Sat., July 22 Iowa Speedway – Race 1 NBC, Peacock
Sun., July 23 Iowa Speedway – Race 2 NBC, Peacock
Sun., Aug. 6 Streets of Nashville NBC, Peacock
Sat., Aug. 12 Indianapolis Motor Speedway (Road Course) USA Network, Peacock
Sun., Aug. 27 World Wide Technology Raceway NBC, Peacock
Sun., Sept. 3 Portland International Raceway NBC, Peacock
Sun., Sept. 10 WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca NBC, Peacock

*dates and networks/platforms are subject to change