Dylan Ferrandis takes the top spot in Motocross Power Rankings after High Point

Power Rankings High Point
Align Media

Three rounds are in the books for the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross season and Dylan Ferrandis took the top spot in the Power Rankings after High Point. Last week, he was second behind Ken Roczen.

In Round 3 at High Point, Ferrandis did not win a moto, but he was the most consistent rider in the field with a pair of second-place finishes and that gave him the overall win and enough points to take the lead in the championship race by three over Ken Roczen. He carries the red plate to Buchanab, Mich. and the RedBud MX Park this week with a worst overall finish of second.

Roczen was also consistent with a 3-3 at High Point, but he finished only fourth in the overall standings since Adam Cianciarulo and Eli Tomac earned moto wins.

Aaron Plessinger ascended to third in the Power Rankings. His best overall result was third in the season opener at Fox Raceway in Pala, Calif., but he has not been worse than eight in a moto or sixth in the overall standings through three races.

In his last two races, Chase Sexton has identical results of 4-5 at Thunder Valley and High Point and would be higher in the rankings if not for a 10th-place finish in Moto 2 at the season opener at Fox Raceway.

Rounding out the top five this week is Justin Barcia with podium finishes at Fox and Thunder Valley. He struggled at High Point with a best finish of sixth in Moto 2.

That leaves the two moto winners from High Point just outside the top five with Cianciarulo sixth and Tomac seventh.

Cianciarulo struggled in the opener at Fox while Tomac finally found his mojo at High Point.

450 Power Rankings

    1. Dylan Ferrandis [2 overall, 1 moto win]
    2. Ken Roczen [1 overall, 3 moto wins]
    3. Aaron Plessinger
    4. Chase Sexton
    5. Justin Barcia
    6. Adam Cianciarulo [1 moto win]
    7. Eli Tomac [1 moto win]
    8. Marvin Musquin
    9. Cooper Webb
    10. Christian Craig
    11. Joey Savatgy
    12. Max Anstie
    13. Justin Bogle
    14. Zach Osborne
    15. Fredrik Noren
    16. Coty Schock
    17. Brandon Hartranft
    18. Tyler Medaglia
    19. Ryan Surratt
    20. Phil Nicoletti
Power Rankings High Point
High Point was the third round of the 2021 Pro Motocross season and riders are begging to jockey for position. Align Media

In the 250 class, Jett Lawrence retains his top spot in the Power Rankings. Lawrence scored moto wins at Fox and Thunder Valley and swept the podium at High Point. While he failed to win a moto there, he finished second in the overall.

Justin Cooper scored the overall win at Thunder Valley without winning a moto. At the time he was annoyed that he was unable to be the first to the line in either moto. He got off to a slow start in Moto 1 at High Point with a fifth-place result, but got his elusive moto win in the second race to finish third overall.

Hunter Lawrence lands third on the grid this week with top-10 finishes in five of the six motos. His consistent run at Thunder Valley was enough to stand on the podium in the overall rankings and that has boosted him up the grid.

Garrett Marchbanks lands fourth on the grid with consistency. His best moto finish so far this season was a fourth in Race 2 at High Point. Coupled with a 10th in the first race, that gave him a fifth overall.

Jalek Swoll entered High Point with a career-best moto finish of sixth, but one would not have known that by the way he rode. Either High Point was uniquely suited to his riding style, or he’s gaining confidence in the pro ranks. But either way, he scored his first professional win in Moto 1, finished third in the second race, and won the overall.

250 Power Rankings

  1. Jett Lawrence [1 overall, 2 moto wins]
  2. Justin Cooper [1 overall, 1 moto win]
  3. Hunter Lawrence
  4. Garrett Marchbanks
  5. Jalek Swoll [1 overall, 1 moto win]
  6. Colt Nichols
  7. RJ Hampshire
  8. Austin Forkner
  9. Jo Shimoda
  10. Dilan Schwartz
  11. Carson Mumford
  12. Jarrett Frye
  13. Pierce Brown
  14. Max Vohland
  15. Ty Masterpool
  16. Joshua Varize
  17. Ramyller Alves
  18. Derek Drake
  19. Derek Kelley
  20. Max Miller

AJ Foyt Racing promotes Benjamin Pedersen from Indy Lights to IndyCar for 2023 season

Benjamin Pedersen AJ Foyt
AJ Foyt Racing

Benjamin Pedersen is the first driver to land a promotion from Indy Lights into IndyCar for next season as AJ Foyt Racing confirmed Wednesday he’ll be part of its 2023 lineup.

Pedersen, a 23-year-old dual citizen of Denmark and the United States, spent last season running the full Indy Lights schedule for HMD Motorsports. Linus Lundqvist, his teammate, won the Lights title, and Pedersen finished fifth in the final standings. Pedersen earned his only win earlier this month when he led every lap from the pole at Portland.

Pedersen also ran four races for HMD in 2021 with back-to-back runner-up finishes in his debut. Pedersen landed on AJ Foyt Racing team president Larry Foyt’s radar through a “trusted colleague” and Pedersen spent most of last season shadowing the IndyCar team.

His promotion to IndyCar comes ahead of all four drivers who finished ahead of him in the Indy Lights standings, including champion Lundqvist.

“We are really looking forward to having Benjamin as part of the team,” Larry Foyt said. “His enthusiasm is infectious, and he is 100 percent committed to IndyCar, AJ Foyt Racing, and doing the best he can to win races.

“It’s been great to have him embedded with the team this past season, and everyone is excited to hit the ground running when testing begins. It is also great to have a multi-year program in place, which will help him and the team grow together.”

Foyt did not announce a car number for Pedersen. Kyle Kirkwood spent his rookie season driving AJ Foyt’s flagship No. 14 but Kirkwood is moving to Andretti Autosport. The team has not yet announced if Dalton Kellett will return for a fourth season, and a third car for Tatiana Calderon was pulled from competition after seven races because of sponsorship non-payment. Shutting down Calderon’s team removed the only semi-regular female driver from the IndyCar field.

Pedersen, however, was signed to an agreement Foyt said “spans multiple seasons as the team plans to develop the young rookie and is aligned to a longer-term plan for AJ Foyt Racing.”

Pedersen was born in Copenhagen but raised in Seattle and currently lives in Indianapolis. He said his time shadowing the IndyCar team has given him a jump on his rookie preparations.

“I’ve spent a lot of time this season with AJ Foyt Racing learning the ins and outs of making the jump to IndyCar and it’s been really nice to do that in conjunction with my Indy Lights season,” Pedersen said. “IndyCar has been my target goal since I started open wheel racing in 2016. The racing, atmosphere, fans, events, tracks, etc. are all awesome.”