Helio Castroneves in second Meyer Shank Racing ride full time for 2022; Jack Harvey out

Meyer Shank Castroneves
Brian Spurlock / Getty Images

Helio Castroneves will join Meyer Shank Racing full time next season in the NTT IndyCar Series as the team announced Thursdsay it also will be replacing Jack Harvey.

Castroneves, who won the 105th Indy 500 to become the fourth four-time winner of The Greatest Spectacle in Racing, will drive the No. 06 Dallara-Honda.

“I am thrilled to get the chance to go for a fifth Indianapolis 500 win, and so excited to fight for the IndyCar championship again with a full season of races next year with Meyer Shank Racing,” said Castroneves in a release. “Mike (Shank) and Jim (Meyer) have developed some incredible sponsorships with AutoNation and SiriusXM, and having that support is critical.

“I have been missing racing in IndyCar full time so much! So I cannot wait to get a head start on next year with some strong races to finish this season.”

Meyer Shank Racing also announced the No. 60 Honda will remain full time but without Harvey as the driver of the second car. Harvey has a season-best fourth at the St. Petersburg Grand Prix and is 14th in the points standings. The team said a new driver will be announced at a later date.

Harvey, 28, tweeted a statement that thanked team owners Jim Meyer and MIke Shank and said there “are many opportunities on the road ahead, and I’m eager to share my long-term plans soon.”

Castroneves’ most recent full-time IndyCar season was in 2017 with Team Penske. He continued to start the Indy 500 from 2018-20 while running the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship for Penske.

Last year, Castroneves, 46, moved to a part-time IndyCar schedule with Meyer Shank Racing. His lone start in 2021 has been the Brickyard victory. He will return to the No. 06 next month in the inaugural Music City Grand Prix on the streets of downtown Nashville, Tennessee.

Since a gradual entry into IndyCar in 2017, Meyer Shank Racing has made 42 starts (41 with Harvey) and recorded two podiums, two-front row starts and 12 top-10 finishes.

“There are so many people around us that have given us the opportunity to expand to two full-season entries for next year,” said Shank. “My partner Jim Meyer and I have done this in a way that makes sense for us. I am very excited to have Helio onboard for the 2022 season and I think there will be a lot of excitement around our second driver when we make that announcement as well.”

AUTO: MAY 31 INDYCAR - The 105th Indianapolis 500 Victory Celebration
Helio Castroneves became the fourth four-time winner of the Indy 500, winning the 105th edition in the No. 06 Dallara-Honda (Brian Spurlock/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images).


NEOM McLaren Formula E announces Jake Hughes will join Rene Rast for 2023 season

McLaren Formula E Hughes
McLaren Racing

Doubling down on their commitment to electric auto sports, McLaren Racing announced Jake Hughes will join Rene Rast to compete in the 2023 Formula E Series (FE), which completes their driver lineup.

The NEOM McLaren FE team was formed by the acquisition of the Mercedes-EQ Formula E team that won the 2021 and 2022 championships with Stoffel Vandoorne and Nyck de Vries behind the wheel.

“Today’s announcement feels like a long time coming,” said Ian James, managing director of NEOM McLaren Electric Racing in a release. “Since May this year, when we first announced McLaren Racing’s entry into Formula E, we have been working tirelessly to get in place the best possible team and structure for sustainable success.

“On the one hand, we have been working on the retention of the amazing talent that already was in place before going into the transitional phase. I’m proud to say I think we’ve done a great job on that front.

“On the other hand, we have been focusing on putting in place new processes and new talent – and the latter includes the drivers.”

The driver lineup clasps the two hands together.

Hughes brings 10 years racing experience in single seater cars, including a role with the acquired Mercedes-EQ team as a reserve and development driver for the past two seasons. He is the 2013 BRDC Formula 4 champion and has multiple wins in Formula 2, including two in 2020.

Announced in August, Rast joins the team after earning two podium finishes and six top-fives in 22 career Formula E starts for Audi Sport ABT before returning to the DTM Series last year. Rast’s best finish in Formula E came in the Puebla E Prix when he finished second to teammate Lucas di Grassi by less than a half second.

McLaren’s commitment to Formula E comes one year after they entered the Extreme E rally series in 2022 with Tanner Foust and Emma Gilmour in the driver lineup. After a modest start to the season, the McLaren XE drivers crossed the finish line first in Round 4 in Chile, but were assessed a time penalty that dropped them to fifth. Last week in the season finale in Uruguay, they held onto a hard-earned second place finish.