IMSA SportsCar Weekend at Road America: How to watch, start times, schedule, entry list

IMSA Road America start TV schedule

Start times, TV schedule: The IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship will return this weekend at Road America with 35 cars entered across its five divisions.

After a GT race weekend at Lime Rock Park, the top prototype divisions will return to the track for the first time in a month with DPi, LMP2 and LMP3 in action on the circuit’s longest track (4.048 miles). The next race with all five divisions will be the Motul Petit Le Mans season finale on Nov. 13.

In DPi, Wayne Taylor Racing’s No. 10 Acura leads the championship standings with drivers Filipe Albuquerque and Ricky Taylor, who are 81 points ahead of the No. 55 Mazda Motorsports duo of Harry Tincknell and Oliver Jarvis.

In LMP2, No. 52 PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports ORECA drivers Ben Keating and Mikkel Jensen havea  35-point lead on No. 11 WIN Autosport’s Steven Thomas and Tristan Nunez. Gar Robinson (No. 74 Riley Motorsports Ligier JS P320) leads by 96 points over Colin Braun and Jon Bennett (No. 54 CORE autosport Ligier) in LMP3. Ross Gunn and Roman De Angelis (No. 23 Heart of Racing Team Aston Martin Vantage GT3) rank first in GTD by 28 points over Bill Auberlen and Robby Foley (No. 96 Turner Motorsports BMW M6 GT3).

Here are the start times, starting lineup, schedule and TV info for the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Weekend at Road America (all times are ET):

IMSA SportsCar Weekend at Road America start times, schedule, TV info

When: Sunday, 2:40 p.m. ET

Race distance: Two hours, 40 minutes on the 14-turn, 4.048-mile road course

Forecast: According to, it’s expected to be 86 degrees with a 23% chance of rain at the green flag.

Entry list: Click here to see the field for the IMSA SportsCar Weekend at Road America


TV:  8 p.m. ET (delay), NBCSN.

TrackPass on NBC Sports Gold Coverage: Live flag to flag beginning at 2:35 p.m. ET. Dave Burns is the announcer with analyst Calvin Fish and pit reporter Chris Wilner.

Race streaming: NBC Sports App, and TrackPass on NBC Sports Gold live qualifying stream: Saturday, 2:45 p.m. ET.

IMSA Radio: All sessions live on and; SiriusXM live race coverage will begin Sunday at 2:30 p.m. (Sirius 216, XM 202, Internet 992).


Here’s a rundown of the IMSA SportsCar Weekend at Road America in Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin:

Thursday, Aug. 5

2-2:30 p.m.: Mazda MX-5 Cup practice

4:35-5:15 p.m.: Lamborghini Super Trofeo practice

5:30-6 p.m.:Mazda MX-5 Cup practice

Friday, Aug. 6

9-9:30 a.m.: Porsche Carrera Cup practice

9:45-10:45 a.m.: Michelin Pilot Challenge practice

11-11:20 a.m.:Mazda MX-5 Cup qualifying

12:20-12:50 p.m.: Porsche Carrera Cup practice

1:15-1:55 p.m.: Lamborghini Super Trofeo practice

2:10-3:10 p.m.: Michelin Pilot Challenge practice

3:25-4:10 p.m.: Mazda MX-5 Cup Race 1

4:30-5 p.m.: Porsche Carrera Cup qualifying

5:15-5:30 p.m.: Lamborghini Super Trofeo qualifying 1

5:35-5:50 p.m.: Lamborghini Super Trofeo qualifying 2

6:10-7:10 p.m.: WeatherTech SportsCar Championship practice

Saturday, Aug. 7

9-9:35 a.m.: Michelin Pilot Challenge qualifying

9:55-11:10 a.m.: WeatherTech SportsCar Championship practice

11:30 a.m.-12:15 p.m.: Mazda MX-5 Cup Race 2

12:35-1:20 p.m.: Porsche Carrera Cup Race 1

1:40-2:30 p.m.: Lamborghini Super Trofeo Race 1

2:50-4:20 p.m.: WeatherTech SportsCar Championship qualifying

5:35-7:35 p.m.: Michelin Pilot Challenge Road America 120

Sunday, Aug. 8

10-10:20 a.m.: WeatherTech SportsCar Championship warmup

10:45-11:30 a.m.: Porsche Carrera Cup Race 2

11:50 a.m.-12:40 p.m.: Lamborghini Super Trofeo Race 2

2:40-5:20 p.m.: IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Weekend race

Motocross: Chase Sexton to miss Hangtown after midweek practice crash

Sexton Hangtown practice crash
Align Media

Chase Sexton announced on Instagram he will sit out this weekend’s Pro Motocross race at Hangtown in Rancho Cordova, California after a practice crash on Tuesday left him with a concussion.

Sexton’s crash on Tuesday happened during a test session at Fox Raceway.

“Bummed to make this post but I’ll be sitting out this weekend,” Sexton said. “As you guys saw I had a big one during qualifying at Pala, then another one on Tuesday this week that banged me up pretty good. Nothing broken just need a few days to get back to 100%.”

Despite his crash in the first qualification session in Pala, California, Sexton mounted up for both motos and finished second in each race behind his teammate Jett Lawrence, who was making his Motocross debut and won with a pair of first-place finishes. Sexton padded his SuperMotocross points’ lead over the injured Eli Tomac, who is still second in the combined Supercross and Motocross standings despite missing the SX finale at Salt Lake City and the outdoor opener with a ruptured Achilles tendon.

Sexton has an advantage of 78 points over Cooper Webb and cannot give up his SMX lead by missing this round.

At stake, however, is the risk of losing ground to Lawrence in the Pro Motocross championship. Sexton currently trails his teammate by six points and is liable to lose significant ground this weekend.

In addition to his concussion, Sexton has also been diagnosed with mononucleosis and the combination of the two conditions caused the team to make the difficult decision to keep him out of the lineup at Hangtown.

“I’m super-bummed to miss this weekend’s race,” Sexton said in a press release. “I feel like I rode well at Pala, and I was really looking forward to Hangtown because it’s a good track for me. Unfortunately, I was already pretty banged up from my qualifying crash on Saturday, and now with mono and Tuesday’s concussion on top of it, I want to do the right thing and hopefully be back on the track soon.”

A return date for Sexton has not yet been announced.

Other 2023 Injury News

450 riders
Eli Tomac, Achilles tendon | It was just a freak deal
Justin Barcia,
collarbone and shoulder
Jason Anderson, vertebrae
Christian Craig, elbow
Marvin Musquin, wrist
Malcolm Stewart, knee | Signs two-year extension
Aaron Plessinger, hip | returned at Salt Lake City
Dylan Ferrandis, concussion | Will not return until Motocross
Cooper Webb,
concussion | returned at Pala

250 riders
Nate Thrasher, hip
Stilez Robertson, leg
Cameron McAdoo, shoulder
Seth Hammaker, arm and wrist
Austin Forkner, knee | Injury isn’t the hardest part
Jo Shimoda, collarbone | returned at Atlanta
Jalek Swoll, arm | returned at Pala