Joshua Varize to finish Pro Motocross with Rockstar Husqvarna Factory Team

Varize Motocross Rockstar Husqvarna
Align Media

Privateer Joshua Varize will ride for the Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing Team as a teammate to RJ Hampshire for the final two rounds of the Lucas Oil Por Motocross season.

Without full factory backing, Varize has had a successful rookie season in the 250 class, sitting 18th in points and landing 15th in our Power Rankings this week, just ahead of Jalek Swoll, one of the riders who’s injury created the opportunity. Swoll damaged his shoulder at Ironman last week while another teammate, Stilez Robertson, was already sidelined with injury.

Varize has not yet cracked the top 10 in an individual moto or overall finish, but he has come close on several occasions. His worst finish in his last six motos was 16th. He finished 11th overall at Budds Creek – one of three straight top-15 results in the overall standings.

“It feels amazing,” Varize told RacerX’s Kellen Brauer in an interview earlier this week. “A dream come true. Just to get the opportunity to fill in on a factory team for the last two outdoor nationals outings is a blessing. I’m stoked and can’t wait for it.”

In 20 motos this season, Varize has failed to score points only twice with a 22nd in Moto 1 of the opening round at Fox Raceway in Pala. Calif., and a 22nd in Moto 1 at Spring Creek, Minn.

“This year, the beginning of the season, it was kind of like, I was right there,” Varize said. “First moto, I didn’t even score points. Second moto, I think I got 19th. I knew I was in the realm of being able to score points every round. Every round went on and I felt like I was getting progressively better.

“Then on the three-week break, I made a lot of changes to my fitness, eating, and stuff like that, and some changes to my bike as well, minor changes. Then after the three-week break, the changes I made showed that what I did was right and was working.”

Heading back to Fox Raceway this weekend, should be a completely different experience than it was at the start of the year. Not only is he on equipment with factory support, but three consecutive top-15 finishes gives him momentum.

“I was finishing inside the top 15 for Unadilla and Budds Creek,” Varize said. “Then Budds Creek being my best national ever, going 11-11, that one felt real good. I want to for sure be in that area every round.”

Seattle Supercross by the numbers: Three riders separated by 17 points


Three riders remain locked in a tight battle with 17 points separating the leader Cooper Webb from third-place Chase Sexton and these are only a few Supercross numbers to consider entering Seattle.

Seattle Supercross numbers
Chase Sexton made a statement in Detroit with his second win of 2023. – Feld Motor Sports

For the fifth time in 10 rounds. Sexton, Webb, and Eli Tomac shared the podium in Detroit. Between them, the trio has taken 23 podiums, leaving only seven for the remainder of the field. Jason Anderson, Ken Roczen and Justin Barcia have two each with Aaron Plessinger scoring the other.

Webb and Tomac won the last four championships with two apiece in alternating years, but they were not one another’s primary rival for most of those seasons. On the average, however, the past four years show an incredible similarity with average points earned of 21.0 for Webb and 21.3 for Tomac. With five wins so far this season, Tomac (23 wins) leads Webb (19) in victories but Webb (43) edges Tomac (41) in podium finishes during this span.

Tomac has won two of the last three Seattle races and those two wins in this stadium are topped only by James Stewart. Fittingly, if Tomac gets a third win this week, he will tie Stewart for second on the all-time wins’ list. Tomac tied Ricky Carmichael for third with 48 wins at Oakland and took sole possession of that spot with his Daytona win.

Sexton still has a lot to say and after winning last week in Detroit, he is speaking up. The Supercross numbers are against him entering Seattle, however, because a points’ deficit this large after Round 10 has been erased only once. In 1983 David Bailey was 47 points behind Bob Hannah, and like Sexton he was also in third place. Bailey took the points’ lead with one race remaining.

The seven points Sexton was penalized last week for jumping in a red cross flag section in Detroit could prove extremely costly.

In fact, it has been a series of mistakes that has cost Sexton the most. In the last two weeks, he lost 10 points with a 10th-place finish to go with his penalty. Erase those, and all three riders hold their fate in their hands.

Plessinger’s heartbreak in Detroit is still fresh, but the upside of his run is that was his best of the season and could turn his fortunes around. Prior to that race, he led only seven laps in three mains. He was up front for 20 laps in Detroit with five of those being the fastest on the track.

Last week’s win by Hunter Lawrence tied him with his brother Jett Lawrence for 17th on the all-time wins’ list. With the focus shifting to 250 West for the next two rounds, Jett has a great opportunity to pull back ahead. The real test will be at the first East / West Showdown in East Rutherford, New Jersey on April 22.

Last Five Seattle Winners

2022: Eli Tomac
2019: Marvin Musquin
2018: Eli Tomac
2017: Marvin Musquin
2014: Ryan Villopoto

2022: Hunter Lawrence
2019: Dylan Ferrandis
2018: Aaron Plessinger
2017: Aaron Plessinger
2014: Cole Seely

By the Numbers

Anaheim 2
San Diego

More SuperMotocross coverage

How to Watch Seattle Supercross
Dylan Ferrandis may return before SX finale
SMX develops “Leader Lights”
Power Rankings after Detroit
Hunter Lawrence defends Haiden Deegan
Results and points after Detroit
Chase Sexton wins in Detroit, penalized seven points