IMSA starting lineup for Laguna Seca

IMSA Laguna Seca starting lineup

IMSA starting lineup: Filipe Albuquerque turned a lap of 1 minute, 14.441 seconds Saturday at WeatherTech Laguna Seca Raceway, securing the first pole of his IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship career.

It’s the third time that Wayne Taylor Racing’s No. 10 Konica Minolta Acura ARX-05 had qualified first this season with teammate Ricky Taylor taking the pole twice at Watkins Glen International.

Albuquerque’s 108.230 mph broke the DPi track record (107.373) in qualifying for Sunday’s Hyundai Monterey Sports Car Championship at the 11-turn, 2.238-mile road course in Monterey, California.

IMSA AT LAGUNA SECA: Details for Sunday’s race

STARTING LINEUP: Sunday’s grid l By car number

“Such an iconic track; super happy about it,” Albuquerque said. “Starting in P1 at this track is super important, not only for the championship points, but for the run down to Turn 1. It’s important to be on the inside because starting on the outside can be really tricky. I’m happy for the team, they did an amazing job.

“We are on it. But still, this is just ten percent of the weekend. Tomorrow is the most important part. We need a clean race. No mistakes. And grab the opportunity with a fast car.”

With three races remaining this season, Albuquerque and Taylor have the points lead over the Action Express Whelen Engineering Racing duo of Felipe Nasr and Pipo Derani, who qualified fifth in the No. 31 Cadillac DPi.

The Meyer Shank Racing duo of Dane Cameron and Olivier Pla qualified second as Acuras swept the front row. Chip Ganassi Racing’s No. 01 Cadillac of Renger van der Zande & Kevin Magnussen qualified third, followed by the No. 55 Mazda of Oliver Jarvis and Harry Tincknell.

Here were the top qualifiers in other classes:

–LMP2: Ben Keating, Mikkel Jensen, PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports No. 52 ORECA LMP2 07

–GTLM: Antonio Garcia, Jordan Taylor, No. 3 Corvette Racing C8.R

–GTD: Patrick Long, Trent Hindman, No. 16 Wright Motorsports Porsche 911 GT3 R

Click here for the starting grid in the Hyundai Monterey Sports Car Championship at Laguna Seca and here for the starting grid by number.


Click here for the DPi And LMP2 results

Click here for GTLM results/GTD points

Click here for the GTD results


Click here for Session I l Session II

Formula E announces Portland, Oregon as US race in 2023

Formula E Portland 2023
Andrew Ferraro / LAT Images

The American date for the 2023 Formula E schedule will move from Brooklyn, New York to Portland, Oregon on June 24, 2023, filling the calendar at 16 rounds. This will be the first time in the nine-year history of the series that they have raced on the West Coast in only the third different city in the United States. Miami hosted one Formula E race in 2015. The series has visited the United States every season except 2020 due to the COVID-1+9 pandemic.

The 2023 race will be Round 12.

“We are excited to bring the premier electric motorsport world championship to Portland for the first time in June next year,” said Alberto Longo, Co-Founder & Chief Championship Officer, Formula E in a press release. “There is a big, passionate fanbase for professional sports in the city, together with strong ecological credentials which makes Portland a perfect host for the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship.

“The USA remains an important market for Formula E. We are delighted to maintain that critical presence and engage a new audience in the Pacific Northwest region in all-electric motorsport.”

MORE: McLaren Racing’s Ian James organization’s entry into Formula E

Last year’s American round in Brooklyn was made up of two races with Nick Cassidy from Envision Racing winning Race 1 and António da Costa from DS Techeetah taking the second race.

Portland will host only one Formula E race in 2023.

The 2023 season will be highlighted by the new Gen 3 car, which features a battery capable of generating 350 kilowatts with regeneration capability from both the front and rear axles. This contributes to a top speed of 200 miles per hour (m.p.h.), an increase of about 25 m.p.h. from last year.

The 2023 season also marks the entry of two new iconic teams, Maserati and McLaren, who completed their roster of drivers in late November with the addition of Jake Hughes.

Season 9 Calendar

Round 1:  January 3, Mexico City, Mexico
Rounds 2 & 3: January 27-28, Diriyah, Saudi Arabia
Round 4: February 11, Hyderabad, India*
Round 5: February 6, Cape Town, South Africa*
Round 6: March 8, São Paulo, Brazil*
Rounds 7 & 8: April 22-23, Berlin, Germany
Round 9: May 6, Monaco
Rounds 10 & 11: June 3-4, Jakarta, Indonesia
Round 12: June 24, Portland, Oregon*
Rounds 13 & 14: July 15-16, Rome, Italy
Rounds 15 & 16: July 29-30, London

*subject to final FIA Safety and Technical checks,