IndyCar starting lineup for Portland GP


IndyCar starting lineup Portland: Alex Palou scored the first NTT IndyCar pole position of his career Saturday, qualifying first at Portland International Raceway with a lap of 58.7701 seconds.

Hondas swept the top three positions with Palou, Alexander Rossi and Scott Dixon.

Felix Rosenqvist (fourth) was the highest-qualifying Chevrolet. Arrow McLaren SP teammate and points leader Pato O’Ward qualified seventh for Sunday’s race (3 p.m. ET, NBC).

Palou, who trails O’Ward by nine points after gaining a point for the pole, has either led or been in second in the points standings since winning the season opener at Barber Motorsports Park.

GRAND PRIX OF PORTLAND: All the details for watching Sunday’s race

REDS OR BLACKS? Tire designations for the start of the race

Josef Newgarden, who is 20 points behind O’Ward in third, qualified a disappointing 18th as all four Team Penske drivers failed to advance from the first round.

Here’s the IndyCar starting lineup for Sunday’s IndyCar Grand Prix of Portland at the  the 1.964-mile Portland International Raceway road course (qualifying position, car number in parentheses, driver, engine, time and speed in parentheses):


1. (10) Alex Palou, Honda, 58.7701 seconds (120.306 mph)
2. (27) Alexander Rossi, Honda, 58.8573 (120.128)


3. (9) Scott Dixon, Honda, 58.8673 (120.107)
4. (7) Felix Rosenqvist, Chevrolet, 58.9505 (119.938)


5. (15) Graham Rahal, Honda, 59.0067 (119.824)
6. (26) Colton Herta, Honda, 59.2796 (119.272)


7. (5) Pato O’Ward, Chevrolet, 58.9732 (119.892)
8. (18) Ed Jones, Honda, 59.0247 (119.787)


9. (45) Oliver Askew, Honda, 59.0837 (119.668)
10. (8) Marcus Ericsson, Honda, 59.0901 (119.655)


11. (59) Max Chilton, Chevrolet, 59.2346 (119.363)
12. (14) Sebastien Bourdais, Chevrolet, 59.2419 (119.348)


13. (29) James Hinchcliffe, Honda, 59.2537 (119.324)
14. (12) Will Power, Chevrolet, 59.0032 (119.831)


15. (3) Scott McLaughlin, Chevrolet, 59.3563 (119.118)
16. (20) Conor Daly, Chevrolet, 59.0974 (119.640)


17. (06) Helio Castroneves, Honda, 59.4190 (118.992)
18. (2) Josef Newgarden, Chevrolet, 59.1371 (119.559)

ROW 10

19. (77) Callum Ilott, Chevrolet, 59.5008 (118.829)
20. (60) Jack Harvey, Honda, 59.1463 (119.541)

ROW 11

21. (51) Romain Grosjean, Honda, 59.6344 (118.562)
22. (21) Rinus VeeKay, Chevrolet, 59.1885 (119.456)

ROW 12

23. (48) Jimmie Johnson, Honda, 59.7120 (118.408)
24. (30) Takuma Sato, Honda, 59.1953 (119.442)

ROW 13

25. (28) Ryan Hunter-Reay, Honda, No Time (No Speed)
26. (22) Simon Pagenaud, Chevrolet, 59.6591 (118.513)

ROW 14

27. (4) Dalton Kellett, Chevrolet, 59.7438 (118.345)

Ken Roczen signs with HEP Progressive Ecstar Suzuki for 2023

Roczen Progressive Ecstar Suzuki
Align Media

ANAHEIM, California – Ken Roczen will make the move from HRC Honda to H.E.P. Motorsports with the Progressive Ecstar Suzuki team, ending a long and eventful offseason that saw his split from his longstanding team after he committed to running World Supercross (WSX).

“H.E.P. Motorsports is thrilled to announce that the team has signed Ken Roczen as its premier rider for the 2023 season,” the team announced on Instagram. “Former AMA Motocross champion Roczen will be aboard a Suzuki RM-Z450. Roczen, who won his most recent championship on a Suzuki, will be reunited with the brand and bring his exciting style, determination, and grit back to the RM Army.

“Ken Roczen will compete in the upcoming 2023 Supercross and Motocross Championship series which is set to start on January 7 at Anaheim Stadium in Southern California.”

For Roczen, it is a return to the bike of his youth and on which he had some of his greatest professional success.

“This thing has been going on for weeks and weeks and weeks in the making, but there was so much uncertainty,” Roczen told NBC Sports during Monster Energy Supercross Media Sessions. “It was a very unique situation. I just finally signed two nights ago, so it’s really only legit once the ink hits the paper. It’s been in the works for a long time, but there were just a lot of questions and a lot of input from a lot of other teams too.

“Good things take time, and I’m okay with that. I grew up riding Suzuki. Ot’s like a homecoming. It’s a special feeling”

Roczen won the 2016 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship on a Suzuki before making the move to Honda. That year he won nine of 12 Nationals and finished no worse than second as he easily outpaced Eli Tomac by 86 points. He finished third in his next Pro Motocross outing in 2018 after sitting out the outdoor season in 2017.

“I am beyond excited to reconnect with Suzuki for the 3rd time in my career. We’ve had a lot of success in the past and I’m looking forward to seeing what we can accomplish together in our future.” Roczen said in the Instagram post.