IMSA starting lineup for Long Beach

IMSA Long Beach starting lineup

IMSA starting lineup: Felipe Nasr put the Whelen Engineering Racing Cadillac on the pole position for the Acura Grand Prix of Long Beach as his No. 31 Action Express team continued its championship push.

Nasr turned a lap of 1 minute, 11.620 seconds on the 11-turn, 1.968-mile street course, earning the top starting spot for Saturday’s 100-minute race (the shortest of the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship season).

Kevin Magnussen qualified second (1:11.724) for the No. 01 of Chip Ganassi Racing, and Loic Duval was third in the No. 5 JDC-Miller MotorSports Mustang Sampling as Cadillacs swept the top three starting positions.

“It is always great to get another pole,” Nasr said. “Especially here around the streets of Long Beach. It is a very close field. We have all the Cadillac cars in the top three. It has been a very close competition in DPi all day in practice. We came here with the mindset of maximizing the points. We did that today, and that is a big part of the plan. We have a great Whelen Engineering Cadillac in our hands to fight for the win.”

IMSA AT LONG BEACH: Details for watching Saturday’s race

STARTING LINEUPS: By position l By number

Dane Cameron qualified fourth in the No. 60 Meyer Shank Racing Acura, followed by the No. 10 Wayne Taylor Racing Acura driven by Filipe Albuquerque.

With two races remaining in the season, Albuquerque and Ricky Taylor have a 98-point lead on Nasr and Pipo Derani after winning from the pole position Sept. 12 at WeatherTech Laguna Seca Raceway.

“It is going to be a hard Acura Grand Prix of Long Beach,” Albuquerque said. “P5 in qualifying is not what we aim for, but it is what it is. The race tomorrow is short, but a lot can happen, so we’ll stay positive. The fastest car doesn’t always win and we need to make sure we finish the race. Strategy might surprise us and come our way. It is very hard to overtake here, so let’s stay positive for tomorrow.”

In the GTLM category, Jordan Taylor put the No. 3 Corvette C8.R on the pole position with a time of 1:16.801. It’s the fifth consecutive GTLM pole position for Taylor, who has four victories with teammate Antonio Garcia this season as the team seeks its second consecutive class championship.

In GTD, Laurens Vanthoor was the fastest qualifier (1:18.957) in the No. 9 Porsche 911 GT3R.

Click here for the starting grid in the IMSA Acura Grand Prix of Long Beach and here for the starting lineup by number.


Click here for the DPi results

Click here for GTLM results/GTD points

Click here for the GTD results


Click here for Session I l Session II

Starting lineup grid for IMSA Petit Le Mans: Tom Blomqvist puts MSR on pole position

Petit Le Mans lineup

IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar championship contender Tom Blomqvist put the Meyer Shank Racing Acura at the front of the starting lineup for the Motul Petit Le Mans at Michelin Road Atlanta.

Blomqvist turned a 1-minute, 8.55-second lap on the 2.54-mile circuit Friday to capture his third pole position for MSR this season. Earl Bamber qualified second in the No. 02 Cadillac for Chip Ganassi Racing.

Ricky Taylor was third in the No. 10 Acura of Wayne Taylor Racing, which enters Saturday’s season finale with a 19-point lead over the No. 60 of Blomqvist and Oliver Jarvis (who will be joined by Helio Castroneves) for the 10-hour race.

PETIT LE MANS STARTING GRID: Click here for the starting lineup l Lineup by car number

PETIT LE MANS: Info on how to watch

With the pole, MSR sliced the deficit to 14 points behind WTR, which will field the trio of Taylor, Filipe Albuquerque and Brendon Hartley in Saturday’s race.

“We really needed to put the car in this kind of position,” Blomqvist said. “It makes our life a little less stressful tomorrow. It would have given the No. 10 a bit more breathing space. It’s going to be a proper dogfight tomorrow. The guys gave me such a great car. It’s been fantastic this week so far, and it really came alive. I’m hugely thankful to the boys and girls at MSR for giving me the wagon today to execute my job.

“That was a big effort from me. I knew how important it was. It’s just awesome for the guys to give them some sort of reward as well. It’s always nice to be quick. If you do the pole, you know you’ve got a quick car.”

Though WTR has a series-leading four victories with the No. 10, MSR won the Rolex 24 at Daytona and has five runner-up finishes along with its three poles.

The strong performances of the ARX-05s ensure that an Acura will win the final championship in IMSA’s premier Daytona Prototype international (DPi) division, which is being rebranded as Grand Touring Prototype in the move to LMDh cars next season.

Taylor qualified third despite sliding into the Turn 5 gravel during the closing minutes of qualifying while pushing to gain points.

“Qualifying was important for points,” Taylor said. “Going into it, if we outqualified the No. 60 Meyer Shank Acura, they had a lot to lose in terms of championship points. So, we were trying to increase the gap over 20 points which would’ve made a big difference for tomorrow. We would have loved to get the pole and qualify ahead of the No. 60, but in the scheme of the points, it didn’t change a whole lot. I’m feeling good since it’s such a long race, and the No. 10 Konica Minolta Acura team does such a good job strategizing and putting us in a good position.

“I’m very confident in our lineup and our team compared to them over the course of 10 hours. I’d put my two teammates up against those guys any day. I think we are all feeling optimistic and strong for tomorrow.”

In other divisions, PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports (LMP2), Riley Motorsports (LMP3), VasserSullivan (GTD Pro) and Paul Miller Racing (GTD) captured pole positions.

The broadcast of the 10-hour race will begin Saturday at 12:10-3 p.m. ET on NBC, moving at 7 p.m. to USA Network. Peacock will have flag-to-flag coverage.



Results by class

Fastest lap by driver

Fastest lap by driver after qualifying

Fastest lap by driver and class after qualifying

Fastest lap sequence in qualifying

Best sector times in qualifying

Time cards in qualifying

PRACTICE RESULTS: Session I l Session II l Session III