IndyCar results and points standings after Long Beach


IndyCar Long Beach results and points standings: Colton Herta closed the 2021 season with his second consecutive victory, and Alex Palou clinched his first championship Sunday in the Acura Grand Prix of Long Beach.

Unlike his other two victories this season (which came from the pole position at St. Petersburg and Laguna Seca), Herta charged from the 14th starting position after a surprising elimination in first-round qualifying. The native of nearby Santa Clarita, California, said his sixth career victory was his most special in IndyCar.

“This is the biggest race for me outside of (the Indy 500),” Herta said. “This is the first race I ever was able to come to; I was two weeks old when I first came to Long Beach. My father (Bryan, now his strategist) was driving in 2000. It was the only race I could go to because I was so young, and I couldn’t fly yet. Lucky enough that it came around.

“I remember growing up around here, coming to this race every year when I was 5, 6, 7, all the way up until I was racing in IndyCar in 2019. I can’t believe I won it on my second try. I’m super happy. This is a big one for me.”

Palou, who had three victories this season starting with the season opener at Barber Motorsports Park, became the first IndyCar champion from Spain.

“I’m happy to see that,” he said. “I’m happy to see the success here. It’s going to open some eyes in Spain, and more people (are) going to discover IndyCar. They are going to fall in love with it. That’s amazing. Exactly what we needed.”

Here are the IndyCar results and points standings Sunday after the Acura Grand Prix of Long Beach:


Click here for the box score from the 85-lap race on the streets of Long Beach. Click here for the lap leader chart.

Here is the finishing order in the Acura Grand Prix of Long Beach with starting position in parentheses, driver, engine, laps completed and reason out:

1. (14) Colton Herta, Honda, 85, Running
2. (1) Josef Newgarden, Chevrolet, 85, Running
3. (2) Scott Dixon, Honda, 85, Running
4. (10) Alex Palou, Honda, 85, Running
5. (4) Simon Pagenaud, Chevrolet, 85, Running
6. (15) Alexander Rossi, Honda, 85, Running
7. (25) Jack Harvey, Honda, 85, Running
8. (22) Sebastien Bourdais, Chevrolet, 85, Running
9. (16) Takuma Sato, Honda, 85, Running
10. (12) Will Power, Chevrolet, 85, Running
11. (13) Scott McLaughlin, Chevrolet, 85, Running
12. (9) Ed Jones, Honda, 85, Running
13. (5) Felix Rosenqvist, Chevrolet, 85, Running
14. (7) James Hinchcliffe, Honda, 85, Running
15. (23) Max Chilton, Chevrolet, 85, Running
16. (19) Graham Rahal, Honda, 85, Running
17. (27) Jimmie Johnson, Honda, 85, Running
18. (20) Charlie Kimball, Chevrolet, 85, Running
19. (26) Dalton Kellett, Chevrolet, 85, Running
20. (3) Helio Castroneves, Honda, 85, Running
21. (21) Conor Daly, Chevrolet, 84, Running
22. (28) Oliver Askew, Honda, 83, Running
23. (11) Ryan Hunter-Reay, Honda, 83, Running
24. (6) Romain Grosjean, Honda, 75, Contact
25. (24) Rinus VeeKay, Chevrolet, 48, Mechanical
26. (18) Callum Ilott, Chevrolet, 47, Mechanical
27. (8) Pato O’Ward, Chevrolet, 43, Contact
28. (17) Marcus Ericsson, Honda, 25, Contact

Winner’s average speed: 91.935 mph; Time of race: 1:49:10.3764; Margin of victory: 0.5883 seconds; Cautions: 4 for 13 laps; Lead changes: 7 among 7 drivers; Lap leaders: Newgarden 1-18; Castroneves 19-33; Herta 34-54; Dixon 55; Harvey 56; Askew 57-59; Rahal 60-63; Herta 64-85.


Click here for the points tally in Sunday’s race.

Through 16 races, here are the final points standings for:


Engine manufacturers


Top 10 in the standings: Palou 549, Newgarden 511, O’Ward 487, Dixon 481, Herta 455, Ericsson 435, Rahal 389, Pagenaud 383, Power 357, Rossi 332

Ken Roczen signs with HEP Progressive Ecstar Suzuki for 2023

Roczen Progressive Ecstar Suzuki
Align Media

ANAHEIM, California – Ken Roczen will make the move from HRC Honda to H.E.P. Motorsports with the Progressive Ecstar Suzuki team, ending a long and eventful offseason that saw his split from his longstanding team after he committed to running World Supercross (WSX).

“H.E.P. Motorsports is thrilled to announce that the team has signed Ken Roczen as its premier rider for the 2023 season,” the team announced on Instagram. “Former AMA Motocross champion Roczen will be aboard a Suzuki RM-Z450. Roczen, who won his most recent championship on a Suzuki, will be reunited with the brand and bring his exciting style, determination, and grit back to the RM Army.

“Ken Roczen will compete in the upcoming 2023 Supercross and Motocross Championship series which is set to start on January 7 at Anaheim Stadium in Southern California.”

For Roczen, it is a return to the bike of his youth and on which he had some of his greatest professional success.

“This thing has been going on for weeks and weeks and weeks in the making, but there was so much uncertainty,” Roczen told NBC Sports during Monster Energy Supercross Media Sessions. “It was a very unique situation. I just finally signed two nights ago, so it’s really only legit once the ink hits the paper. It’s been in the works for a long time, but there were just a lot of questions and a lot of input from a lot of other teams too.

“Good things take time, and I’m okay with that. I grew up riding Suzuki. Ot’s like a homecoming. It’s a special feeling”

Roczen won the 2016 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship on a Suzuki before making the move to Honda. That year he won nine of 12 Nationals and finished no worse than second as he easily outpaced Eli Tomac by 86 points. He finished third in his next Pro Motocross outing in 2018 after sitting out the outdoor season in 2017.

“I am beyond excited to reconnect with Suzuki for the 3rd time in my career. We’ve had a lot of success in the past and I’m looking forward to seeing what we can accomplish together in our future.” Roczen said in the Instagram post.