Two new tracks highlight the provisional MotoGP 2022 schedule

2022 MotoGP Schedule
Getty Images
1 Comment

The 2022 MotoGP schedule begins in March and ends in November with 21 rounds announced on the provisional calendar.

The season kicks off in its accustomed location in Qatar under the lights on March 6-8, but quickly mixes things up with their first of two new venues two weeks later.

Subject to final approval, Round 2 of the series will be held on the newly created Mandalika International Street Circuit in Indonesia.

Rounds 3 and 4 will be a swing through the Americas with Argentina in early April, followed by the US Grand Prix returning to a spring date. In 2021, the race was held in early October with Marc Marquez claiming victory on the Circuit of the Americas in Austin, Texas.

MotoGP then heads to Portimao in Portugal to start an eight-race European stint that culminates in the second new circuit in Finland for the first race in that country since 1982. The Finnish GP will be contested on the 2.88-mile KymiRing circuit that was supposed to debut in 2020 before COVID-19 pandemic disrupted last year’s calendar.

With a visit to Great Britain in early August, the European schedule is briefly interrupted before heading back to the mainland for three events.

The Japanese GP will be return to the schedule in late September as the first of four events along the Pacific Rim. in September and October. That segment of the calendar winds up with the penultimate round of the season at the Sepang International Circuit in Malaysia.

The season ends on November 6, 2022 in Valencia Spain.

2022 Provisional Schedule

Qatar GP, Losail International Circuit, March 6
Indonesia GP, Mandalika Street Circuit, March 20*
Argentina GP, Termas de Río Hondo, April 3
American GP, Circuit of the Americas, April 10
Portugal GP, Algarve, April 24
Spanish GP, Jerez, May 1
French GP, Le Mans, May 15
Italian GP, Mugello, May 29
Catalunya GP, Catalunya, June 5
German GP, Sachsenring, June 19
Dutch GP, Assen, June 26
Finnish GP, KymiRing, July 10*
British GP, Silverstone, August 7
Austrian GP, Red Bull Ring, August 21
San Marino GP, Misano, September 4
Aragon GP, MotorLand, September 18
Japanese GP, Motegi, September 25
Thailand GP, Chang International Circuit, October 2
Australian GP, Philip Island, October 16
Malaysian GP, Sepang, October 23
Valencia GP, Ricardo Tormo, November 6

* subject to approval

NEOM McLaren Formula E announces Jake Hughes will join Rene Rast for 2023 season

McLaren Formula E Hughes
McLaren Racing

Doubling down on their commitment to electric auto sports, McLaren Racing announced Jake Hughes will join Rene Rast to compete in the 2023 Formula E Series (FE), which completes their driver lineup.

The NEOM McLaren FE team was formed by the acquisition of the Mercedes-EQ Formula E team that won the 2021 and 2022 championships with Stoffel Vandoorne and Nyck de Vries behind the wheel.

“Today’s announcement feels like a long time coming,” said Ian James, managing director of NEOM McLaren Electric Racing in a release. “Since May this year, when we first announced McLaren Racing’s entry into Formula E, we have been working tirelessly to get in place the best possible team and structure for sustainable success.

“On the one hand, we have been working on the retention of the amazing talent that already was in place before going into the transitional phase. I’m proud to say I think we’ve done a great job on that front.

“On the other hand, we have been focusing on putting in place new processes and new talent – and the latter includes the drivers.”

The driver lineup clasps the two hands together.

Hughes brings 10 years racing experience in single seater cars, including a role with the acquired Mercedes-EQ team as a reserve and development driver for the past two seasons. He is the 2013 BRDC Formula 4 champion and has multiple wins in Formula 2, including two in 2020.

Announced in August, Rast joins the team after earning two podium finishes and six top-fives in 22 career Formula E starts for Audi Sport ABT before returning to the DTM Series last year. Rast’s best finish in Formula E came in the Puebla E Prix when he finished second to teammate Lucas di Grassi by less than a half second.

McLaren’s commitment to Formula E comes one year after they entered the Extreme E rally series in 2022 with Tanner Foust and Emma Gilmour in the driver lineup. After a modest start to the season, the McLaren XE drivers crossed the finish line first in Round 4 in Chile, but were assessed a time penalty that dropped them to fifth. Last week in the season finale in Uruguay, they held onto a hard-earned second place finish.