Lando Norris signs extension with McLaren through the 2025 F1 season

Lando Norris McLaren extension
Andrea Diodato/NurPhoto via Getty Images
1 Comment

Formula One team McLaren signed rising star Lando Norris to a four-year contract extension that locks the young British driver in through the 2025 F1 season.

The 22-year-old Norris is entering his fourth full season of F1 competition. His progression has been steady – improving from 11th in the standings in 2019 as a rookie to sixth overall last season, highlighted by four podium finishes, his first career pole and first 31 laps led of his F1 career.

Zak Brown, head of McLaren Racing, believes Norris can someday be an F1 champion.

McLaren team principal Andreas Seidl echoed that sentiment in Wednesday’s announcement, noting the team’s “belief and confidence” in Norris.

LOSS FOR WORDS: IndyCar star Pato O’Ward enjoys F1 test with McLaren

“It is also a strong sign of trust and commitment from Lando in us as a team and our journey to world championship contention,” he added. “Lando has shown impressive growth as a Formula 1 driver over the past four years and has been an instrumental part of the team’s momentum and performance trajectory.”

Norris and Daniel Ricciardo will be teammates this season for a second consecutive year.

Norris has been part of the McLaren program since he was 17, impressing the organization in a test he earned for winning the McLaren Autosport BRDC Young Driver Award. He was McLaren’s test and reserve driver in 2017 and 2018, then was promoted full time to F1 in 2019 at 19. It made him the 12th teenager to start an F1 race.

“Teams are about people, and I love the people and feel at home at McLaren. I have grown up in this team and I’m part of this journey we’re all on,” Norris said.

Norris has also built an enormous following – especially among teenage girls who often greet him as if he’s a pop star – and his charm has helped McLaren re-establish itself as one of F1’s most respected teams.

Norris finished second in fan voting for most popular driver behind champion Max Verstappen in a global study commissioned by Motorsport Network in partnership with F1 and Nielsen Sports. Norris was listed on 40% of the fan ballots as ranking among their top three favorite drivers. His popularity among female fans was unrivaled in the survey; Norris was on 57% of ballots completed by women.

Norris lost out to Lewis Hamilton as favorite driver from the United Kingdom, but Norris was handily the favorite driver of fans 24 and younger. Ricciardo was fourth in favorite driver voting, and he and Norris helped McLaren win the fan vote for favorite team. McLaren won the 16-to-24 age group with 40% of the vote.

“Last season was another great step, both in my career and the team’s performance, and I see and feel all the work, investment, and commitment for the team to be in a position to challenge for wins and titles in the future,” Norris said. “This all gives me huge confidence looking forward, so it was a natural decision to extend our relationship for the next few years.”

The extension announced Wednesday makes clear he’s part of McLaren’s long-term plan to return to the top of the podium. McLaren’s last driver championship was won by Hamilton in 2008, and its last constructor’s title was in 1998.

Ricciardo led Norris in a 1-2 sweep at last year’s Italian Grand Prix to give McLaren its first F1 victory since the 2012 Brazilian Grand Prix.

“We are still on our journey to fight at the front, and Lando is a key element of our plan,” Seidl said. “So to lock him into place, alongside Daniel and our senior leadership, gives us stability and continuity as we build towards our ultimate shared goal of world championships.”

Starting lineup grid for IMSA Petit Le Mans: Tom Blomqvist puts MSR on pole position

Petit Le Mans lineup

IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar championship contender Tom Blomqvist put the Meyer Shank Racing Acura at the front of the starting lineup for the Motul Petit Le Mans at Michelin Road Atlanta.

Blomqvist turned a 1-minute, 8.55-second lap on the 2.54-mile circuit Friday to capture his third pole position for MSR this season. Earl Bamber qualified second in the No. 02 Cadillac for Chip Ganassi Racing.

Ricky Taylor was third in the No. 10 Acura of Wayne Taylor Racing, which enters Saturday’s season finale with a 19-point lead over the No. 60 of Blomqvist and Oliver Jarvis (who will be joined by Helio Castroneves) for the 10-hour race.

PETIT LE MANS STARTING GRID: Click here for the starting lineup l Lineup by car number

PETIT LE MANS: Info on how to watch

With the pole, MSR sliced the deficit to 14 points behind WTR, which will field the trio of Taylor, Filipe Albuquerque and Brendon Hartley in Saturday’s race.

“We really needed to put the car in this kind of position,” Blomqvist said. “It makes our life a little less stressful tomorrow. It would have given the No. 10 a bit more breathing space. It’s going to be a proper dogfight tomorrow. The guys gave me such a great car. It’s been fantastic this week so far, and it really came alive. I’m hugely thankful to the boys and girls at MSR for giving me the wagon today to execute my job.

“That was a big effort from me. I knew how important it was. It’s just awesome for the guys to give them some sort of reward as well. It’s always nice to be quick. If you do the pole, you know you’ve got a quick car.”

Though WTR has a series-leading four victories with the No. 10, MSR won the Rolex 24 at Daytona and has five runner-up finishes along with its three poles.

The strong performances of the ARX-05s ensure that an Acura will win the final championship in IMSA’s premier Daytona Prototype international (DPi) division, which is being rebranded as Grand Touring Prototype in the move to LMDh cars next season.

Taylor qualified third despite sliding into the Turn 5 gravel during the closing minutes of qualifying while pushing to gain points.

“Qualifying was important for points,” Taylor said. “Going into it, if we outqualified the No. 60 Meyer Shank Acura, they had a lot to lose in terms of championship points. So, we were trying to increase the gap over 20 points which would’ve made a big difference for tomorrow. We would have loved to get the pole and qualify ahead of the No. 60, but in the scheme of the points, it didn’t change a whole lot. I’m feeling good since it’s such a long race, and the No. 10 Konica Minolta Acura team does such a good job strategizing and putting us in a good position.

“I’m very confident in our lineup and our team compared to them over the course of 10 hours. I’d put my two teammates up against those guys any day. I think we are all feeling optimistic and strong for tomorrow.”

In other divisions, PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports (LMP2), Riley Motorsports (LMP3), VasserSullivan (GTD Pro) and Paul Miller Racing (GTD) captured pole positions.

The broadcast of the 10-hour race will begin Saturday at 12:10-3 p.m. ET on NBC, moving at 7 p.m. to USA Network. Peacock will have flag-to-flag coverage.



Results by class

Fastest lap by driver

Fastest lap by driver after qualifying

Fastest lap by driver and class after qualifying

Fastest lap sequence in qualifying

Best sector times in qualifying

Time cards in qualifying

PRACTICE RESULTS: Session I l Session II l Session III