How to watch the 2022 IndyCar season on NBC: Start times, TV channels, stream info

IndyCar 2022 broadcast schedule
Brian Spurlock/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images
1 Comment

NBC Sports and the NTT IndyCar Series have released the broadcast schedule for the 2022 season, which will feature a record 14 of 17 races on broadcast network NBC.

The season’s first six races will air on NBC, beginning at noon ET Feb. 27 with the Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg.

Other broadcast highlights of the 2022 NTT IndyCar Series’ 17-race schedule:

–The second running of the Music City Grand Prix will be shown for the first time on NBC, starting at 3 p.m. ET on Aug. 7.

–For the third consecutive year, Indianapolis Motor Speedway will play host to an IndyCar-NASCAR weekend doubleheader with the IndyCar race at noon ET on July 30.

–The 106th Indy 500 will take place May 29 with coverage starting at 11 a.m. ET on NBC.

–The 2022 season finale Sept. 11 at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca will be shown at 3 p.m. ET on NBC.

–The return of IndyCar to Toronto for the first time in three years will be streamed exclusively on the Peacock network at 3 p.m. ET on July 17.

Peacock also will stream all races airing on NBC. Just as in the 2021 season, Peacock also will be the exclusive home of IndyCar practice and qualifying sessions, Indy Lights, full-event replays of 2022 IndyCar races.

Here’s NBC Sports’ broadcast schedule for the 2022 NTT IndyCar Series (all times are Eastern):

Date Race/Track Network Time (ET)
Sun., Feb. 27 Streets of St. Petersburg NBC Noon
Sun., March 20 Texas Motor Speedway NBC 12:30 p.m.
Sun., April 10 Streets of Long Beach NBC 3 p.m.
Sun., May 1 Barber Motorsports Park NBC 12:30 p.m.
Sat., May 14 Indianapolis Motor Speedway Road Course NBC 3 p.m.
Sun., May 29 The 106th Indianapolis 500 NBC 11 a.m.
Sun., June 5 Raceway at Belle Isle Park/Detroit USA 3 p.m.
Sun., June 12 Road America NBC 12:30 p.m.
Sun., July 3 Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course NBC Noon
Sun., July 17 Streets of Toronto Peacock 3 p.m.
Sat., July 23 Iowa Speedway–Race 1 NBC 4 p.m.
Sun., July 24 Iowa Speedway–Race 2 NBC 3 p.m.
Sat., July 30 Indianapolis Motor Speedway Road Course NBC Noon
Sun., Aug. 7 Streets of Nashville NBC 3 p.m.
Sat., Aug. 20 World Wide Technology Raceway (Gateway) USA 6 p.m.
Sun, Sept. 4 Portland International Raceway NBC 3 p.m.
Sun, Sept. 11 WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca NBC 3 p.m.

Note: dates and networks are subject to change

Sergio Perez wins rain-delayed race in Singapore over Leclerc; Verstappen seventh

Sergio Perez Singapore
Clive Rose/Getty Images,

SINGAPORE — Max Verstappen’s Formula One title celebrations were put on hold after the Red Bull driver placed seventh at a chaotic Singapore Grand Prix, won by his teammate Sergio Perez on Sunday.

Perez’s second win of the season saw him finish 7.6 seconds ahead of Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc, with Leclerc’s teammate Carlos Sainz Jr. in third place.

Perez was investigated for a potential safety car infringement but still kept the win after a 5-second time penalty for dropping too far back after being warned.

Verstappen had won the past five races but needed to win here and finish 22 points ahead of Leclerc to be crowned champion for a second straight season. That could happen next weekend at the Japanese GP.

Verstappen made a mistake after the second safety car restart, following AlphaTauri driver Yuki Tsunoda’s crash on Lap 36. When Verstappen tried to overtake Lando Norris’ McLaren, he locked his tires and needed to pit again.

Leclerc started from pole position with Verstappen going from eighth after a team blunder in qualifying.

The race start was delayed by more than an hour to clear water off the Marina Bay Circuit track following heavy rainfall. Drivers had to finish the 61-lap race within a two-hour window; 59 laps were completed.

Tricky conditions saw the virtual safety car deployed three times and DRS was allowed with about 30 minutes remaining.

Perez made a good start and jumped past Leclerc while Verstappen dropped several places. The first safety car was on Lap 8 when Zhou Guanyu’s Alfa Romeo was cut off by Nicholas Latifi’s Williams.

Perez got away cleanly at the restart, while Verstappen climbed into seventh behind Fernando Alonso – whose 350th F1 race ended disappointingly when his engine failed on Lap 21, bringing out the first VSC.

With the track still damp, drivers decided against changing to quicker tires – apart from Mercedes’ George Russell, who struggled for grip.

Hamilton made a rare mistake on Lap 33 and thudded into the crash barrier. Soon after, the leading drivers changed tires in a flurry of stops. They did so just before the safety car was deployed again following Tsunoda’s error.

Verstappen overtook Sebastian Vettel’s Aston Martin right at the end for seventh place.