IndyCar results and points after St. Pete GP


IndyCar St Pete results and points standings: Scott McLaughlin opened the 2022 season as a first-time winner in the NTT IndyCar Series, holding off defending series champion Alex Palou for a victory in Sunday’s Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg.

The second-year driver won in his 18th start in delivering the 223rd victory for Team Penske.

It was the second consecutive season for a first-time winner in the season opener as McLaughlin joined Palou, who won at Barber Motorsports Park last year.

Palou opened his title defense with a runner-up finish (rebounding from a crash in qualifying.

Here are the IndyCar results and points standings Sunday after the Firestone Grand Prix of St Pete:


Click here for the box score from the 100-lap race on the streets of St. Petersburg. Click here for the lap leader summary and here for the pit stop performance.

Here is the finishing order in the Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg with starting position in parentheses, driver, engine, laps completed and reason out:

1. (1) Scott McLaughlin, Chevrolet, 100, Running
2. (10) Alex Palou, Honda, 100, Running
3. (2) Will Power, Chevrolet, 100, Running
4. (3) Colton Herta, Honda, 100, Running
5. (5) Romain Grosjean, Honda, 100, Running
6. (4) Rinus VeeKay, Chevrolet, 100, Running
7. (11) Graham Rahal, Honda, 100, Running
8. (7) Scott Dixon, Honda, 100, Running
9. (8) Marcus Ericsson, Honda, 100, Running
10. (22) Takuma Sato, Honda, 100, Running
11. (15) Christian Lundgaard, Honda, 100, Running
12. (16) Pato O’Ward, Chevrolet, 100, Running
13. (23) Jack Harvey, Honda, 100, Running
14. (17) Helio Castroneves, Honda, 100, Running
15. (6) Simon Pagenaud, Honda, 100, Running
16. (9) Josef Newgarden, Chevrolet, 100, Running
17. (21) Felix Rosenqvist, Chevrolet, 100, Running
18. (12) Kyle Kirkwood, Chevrolet, 100, Running
19. (19) Callum Ilott, Chevrolet, 100, Running
20. (13) Alexander Rossi, Honda, 100, Running
21. (20) Conor Daly, Chevrolet, 100, Running
22. (18) Devlin DeFrancesco, Honda, 100, Running
23. (26) Jimmie Johnson, Honda, 99, Running
24. (25) Tatiana Calderon, Chevrolet, 97, Running
25. (14) Dalton Kellett, Chevrolet, 62, Mechanical
26. (24) David Malukas, Honda, 23, Contact

Winner’s average speed: 96.899 mph; Time of Race: 1:51:27.3466; Margin of victory: 0.5095 of a second; Cautions: 1 for 8 laps; Lead changes: Eight among six drivers. Lap leaders: McLaughlin 1-26; Rossi 27-36; Dixon 37-48; VeeKay 49-61; McLaughlin 62-63; Palou 64; Power 65; Dixon 66-79; McLaughlin 80-100.


Click here for the points tally in Sunday’s race.

Here are the points standings after the season opener for:


Engine manufacturers


Top 10 in the standings: McLaughlin 54, Palou 41, Power 36, Herta 32, Grosjean 30, VeeKay 29, Rahal 26, Dixon 25, Ericsson 22, Sato 20

Final 2023 Rolex 24 at Daytona results, stats


DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. — The 2023 Rolex 24 at Daytona overall results were all streaks: two consecutive victories in the endurance classic for Meyer Shank Racing and three in a row for Acura.

And Helio Castroneves became the second driver to win three consecutive Rolex 24s and the first to win in three straight years (Peter Gregg won in 1973, ’75 and ’76; the race wasn’t held in ’74 because of a global oil crisis).

Starting from the pole position, Tom Blomqvist took the checkered flag in the No. 60 ARX-06 that led a race-high 365 of 783 laps with co-drivers Castroneves, Simon Pagenaud and Colin Braun.

RESULTS: Click here for the finishing order in the 61st Rolex 24 at Daytona l By class

Meyer Shank Racing now has two Rolex 24 victories and the 2022 championship since entering the premier prototype category of the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship in 2021.

“I think what’s so special about this team is we are a small team compared to some of our opponents, but the atmosphere, the way we work, enables people to get the best out of themselves, and I think that’s why we’re such high achievers,” Blomqvist said. “I think there’s no egos. It’s a very open book, and that just enables each and every one of us to reach our potential. I think that’s why we’ve achieved so much success in really a short time at this level of competition.”

It’s the 16th IMSA victory for MSR.

The 61st running of the Rolex 24 at Daytona marked the debut of the Grand Touring Prototype category that brought hybrid engine technology to IMSA’s top level.

In other categories:

LMP2: James Allen passed Ben Hanley on the final lap and delivered a victory in the No. 55 ORECA by 0.016 seconds. It’s the second IMSA victory for Proton Competition, which last won at Sebring in 2012. It was the first Rolex 24 victory for Allen and co-drivers Gianmaria Bruni, Fred Poordad and Francesco Pizzi.

GTD Pro: Cooper MacNeil won in the last start of his IMSA career as the No. 79 Mercedes-AMG GT3 scored the first Rolex 24 at Daytona for WeatherTech Racing and the team’s fourth career victory.

MacNeil, who co-drove with Maro Engel, Jules Gounon and Daniel Juncadella, earned his 12th career victory and first at the Rolex 24.

“Winning by last IMSA race is tremendous,” MacNeil said.

GTD: The No. 27 Heart of Racing Team delivered the first Rolex 24 at Daytona for Aston Martin, which has been competing in endurance races at Daytona International Speedway since 1964. Drivers Marco Sorensen, Roman De Angelis, Darren Turner and Ian James (also the team principal) earned the victory in the English brand’s 13th attempt.

It’s also the first Rolex 24 at Daytona win for Heart of Racing, which has seven IMSA wins.

LMP3: Anthony Mantella, Wayne Boyd, Nico Varrone and Thomas Merrill drove the No. 17 AWA Duqueine D08 to victory by 12 laps for the team’s first class win in IMSA.


Fastest laps by driver

Fastest laps by driver after race (over the weekend)

Fastest laps by driver and class after race

Fastest lap sequence

Lap chart

Leader sequence

Race analysis by lap

Stint analysis

Time cards

Pit stop time cards

Best sector times

Race distance and speed average

Flag analysis

Weather report

NEXT: The 2023 IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship season will resume with the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring March 18 with coverage across NBC, USA and Peacock.