Entry list for the 2022 Twelve Hours of Sebring

2022 Sebring entry list
Brian Cleary/Getty Images

The Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring entry list has spiked with a car count increase of more than 40 percent for the second round of the 2022 IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship Series.

There are 53 cars entered for the 70th edition of the prestigious endurance race March 19 at Sebring International Raceway, up from 37 last season. The biggest class jump came in the realigned GT categories, which now race on the same GT3 platform specs and are separated by driver classifications.

Between GTD (17) and GTD Pro (11), there are a combined 28 cars, a double-digit increase over last year (when there were 5 in GTLM and 13 in GTD). There also were modest increases in LMP2 (eight cars, up from five last year) and LMP3 (10, up from six in 2021) with the premier DPi class remaining level at seven cars. Sebring continues the trend from the season-opening Rolex 24, which also enjoyed an influx in car count.

ENTRY LIST: Who will be racing in the 2022 Twelve Hours of Sebring

The three Frenchmen who were the overall winners of last year’s Twelve Hours of Sebring return but on two teams. Sebastien Bourdais, who drove a memorable closing stint on the 17-turn, 3.74-mile road course last year to put the No. 5 Cadillac in victory lane, will be in the No. 01 Cadillac of Chip Ganassi Racing while former teammates Tristan Vautier and Loic Duval will be back (with Richard Westbrook) in JDC Miller MotorSports’ defending winner entry.

Bourdais will be teamed with full-time teammate Renger van der Zande and 2014 Indy 500 winner Ryan Hunter-Reay, who will be making his first IMSA start since winning the 2020 Twelve Hours of Sebring with Mazda.

With the NTT IndyCar Series racing March 20 at Texas Motor Speedway, none of the 12 IndyCar drivers who raced the Rolex 24 will be driving at Sebring. Jimmie Johnson will be replaced on the No. 48 Ally Cadillac by Jose Maria Lopez, who also raced with Mike Rockenfeller and Kamui Kobayashi at Daytona International Speedway.

After winning the Rolex 24 at Daytona with IndyCar teammates Helio Castroneves and Simon Pagenaud as co-drivers in the No. 60 Acura, Meyer Shank Racing’s Oliver Jarvis and Tom Blomqvist will be joined by Stoffel Vandoorne at Sebring.

In the GTD Pro class, Corvette Racing will enter only the No. 3 C8.R as its No. 64 will be racing in the FIA WEC 1000 Miles of Sebring that will be held Friday. Corvette drivers Tommy Milner and Nick Tandy are racing the full World Endurance Championship season, which will be opening its six-round season with its only U.S. stop.

The Twelve Hours of Sebring will begin at 10:10 a.m. ET on March 19 with live flag-to-flag coverage on Peacock starting at 10 a.m. The race will be broadcast from 3:30-10:30 p.m. on USA. Qualifying will begin at 9:15 a.m. ET on March 18.

Click here for the entry list in the 2022 Twelve Hours of Sebring.

Starting lineup grid for IMSA Petit Le Mans: Tom Blomqvist puts MSR on pole position

Petit Le Mans lineup

IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar championship contender Tom Blomqvist put the Meyer Shank Racing Acura at the front of the starting lineup for the Motul Petit Le Mans at Michelin Road Atlanta.

Blomqvist turned a 1-minute, 8.55-second lap on the 2.54-mile circuit Friday to capture his third pole position for MSR this season. Earl Bamber qualified second in the No. 02 Cadillac for Chip Ganassi Racing.

Ricky Taylor was third in the No. 10 Acura of Wayne Taylor Racing, which enters Saturday’s season finale with a 19-point lead over the No. 60 of Blomqvist and Oliver Jarvis (who will be joined by Helio Castroneves) for the 10-hour race.

PETIT LE MANS STARTING GRID: Click here for the starting lineup l Lineup by car number

PETIT LE MANS: Info on how to watch

With the pole, MSR sliced the deficit to 14 points behind WTR, which will field the trio of Taylor, Filipe Albuquerque and Brendon Hartley in Saturday’s race.

“We really needed to put the car in this kind of position,” Blomqvist said. “It makes our life a little less stressful tomorrow. It would have given the No. 10 a bit more breathing space. It’s going to be a proper dogfight tomorrow. The guys gave me such a great car. It’s been fantastic this week so far, and it really came alive. I’m hugely thankful to the boys and girls at MSR for giving me the wagon today to execute my job.

“That was a big effort from me. I knew how important it was. It’s just awesome for the guys to give them some sort of reward as well. It’s always nice to be quick. If you do the pole, you know you’ve got a quick car.”

Though WTR has a series-leading four victories with the No. 10, MSR won the Rolex 24 at Daytona and has five runner-up finishes along with its three poles.

The strong performances of the ARX-05s ensure that an Acura will win the final championship in IMSA’s premier Daytona Prototype international (DPi) division, which is being rebranded as Grand Touring Prototype in the move to LMDh cars next season.

Taylor qualified third despite sliding into the Turn 5 gravel during the closing minutes of qualifying while pushing to gain points.

“Qualifying was important for points,” Taylor said. “Going into it, if we outqualified the No. 60 Meyer Shank Acura, they had a lot to lose in terms of championship points. So, we were trying to increase the gap over 20 points which would’ve made a big difference for tomorrow. We would have loved to get the pole and qualify ahead of the No. 60, but in the scheme of the points, it didn’t change a whole lot. I’m feeling good since it’s such a long race, and the No. 10 Konica Minolta Acura team does such a good job strategizing and putting us in a good position.

“I’m very confident in our lineup and our team compared to them over the course of 10 hours. I’d put my two teammates up against those guys any day. I think we are all feeling optimistic and strong for tomorrow.”

In other divisions, PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports (LMP2), Riley Motorsports (LMP3), VasserSullivan (GTD Pro) and Paul Miller Racing (GTD) captured pole positions.

The broadcast of the 10-hour race will begin Saturday at 12:10-3 p.m. ET on NBC, moving at 7 p.m. to USA Network. Peacock will have flag-to-flag coverage.



Results by class

Fastest lap by driver

Fastest lap by driver after qualifying

Fastest lap by driver and class after qualifying

Fastest lap sequence in qualifying

Best sector times in qualifying

Time cards in qualifying

PRACTICE RESULTS: Session I l Session II l Session III