IMSA 2022 Long Beach results: Sebastien Bourdais rebounds to help Ganassi win


LONG BEACH, California — Sebastien Bourdais and Renger van der Zande staged an impressive rally, making up a gap of 21 seconds to top the IMSA results for the Acura Grand Prix of Long Beach.

Bourdais started on the pole position in the No. 01 Cadillac after setting a track qualifying record with a 1-minute, 9.472-second lap to earn the DPi pole for the second consecutive race in the WeatherTech SportsCar Championship Series.

But just as in the Twelve Hours of Sebring last month (where the car also finished last in class for the second consecutive race), the Chip Ganassi Racing driver encountered early trouble when he nosed into the Turn 11 tire barrier on the sixth lap, handing the lead to teammate Alex Lynn.

RESULTS: Click here for the final overall finishing order l Click here for the class breakdown

Over the next 24 laps, Bourdais made up a 21-second deficit to reclaim the lead from Lynn.

“The car was so fast,” Bourdais told NBC Sports’ Marty Snider. “I guess I went down the inside of the hairpin, and it just simply didn’t turn. From there, you get the gap — 21 seconds down to the leader — and I was like, ‘Yeah, that’s going to be a tall order.’ That car was so amazing, I just managed to bring it back, do the fuel number and couldn’t be any prouder of the whole team.”

During the race after exiting the car, Bourdais told Snider that he drove so hard, “you kind of go into a bit of a trance when you try to pull off something that really shouldn’t be possible

“You’re on fire because you’re so mad at yourself. I guess I’m accustomed to stupid mistakes and trying to make up for that. Luckily, there wasn’t much damage and I’m just glad we got the lead back.”

Though he joked that Bourdais has messed up by putting the car in the wall, van der Zande watched in awe during his teammate’s charge. On Lap 16, Bourdais broke the track record for the DPi category with a lap of 1:10.317 on Lap 16 in carving his way through the field.

“I think the words of the day are don’t make a Frenchman angry,” van der Zande said. “Sebastien drove it back to the front. He put it in the wall there and then he moved it up the order and gave it to me in the lead. Amazing job by Sebastien, and I just had to drive it home. We had a fantastic car.”

It was the first IMSA victory at Long Beach for both Bourdais and van der Zande and the third for Chip Ganassi Racing, which earned its 62nd victory in the sports car series.

Lynn and Earl Bamber finished second in Ganassi’s No. 02 Cadillac, and No. 5 JDC Miller MotorSports co-drivers Tristan Vautier and Richard Westbrook made it a podium sweep for Cadillac.

A rundown of winners in other categories:


The No. 23 Aston Martin Vantage GT3 earned the first Long Beach victory for the Heart of Racing team, which scored its fourth career victory.

It also was the first Long Beach win for co-drivers Ross Gunn and Alex Riberas.


The No. 1 BMW M4 GT3 of Paul Miller Racing earned its ninth career victory with co-drivers Bryan Sellers (second Long Beach victory, 13th career) and Madison Snow (eighth win, second at Long Beach).


Fastest laps by driver

Fastest laps by driver after race (over the weekend)

Fastest laps by driver and class after race

Fastest lap sequence

Leader sequence

Lap chart

Race analysis by lap

Time cards

Best sector times

Race distance and speed average

NEXT: The IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship will resume with the Hyundai Monterey Sports Car Championship at Laguna Seca Raceway, April 29-May 1.

Saturday’s Supercross Round 5 in Houston: How to watch, start times, streaming info


The championship race has tightened up as the Monster Energy AMA Supercross Series heads to NRG Stadium in Houston, Texas, for Round 5 of the 2023 season.

With his 450 victory in the Anaheim Triple Crown, Chase Sexton has moved within four points of two-time and defending series champion Eli Tomac.

Jason Anderson is coming off a second place in Anaheim after crashing out of the first two rounds while racing in the top five. Ken Roczen earned his first podium last week since the 2022 season opener and the first for Suzuki since Chad Reed at Detroit in 2019.

Here are the pertinent details for watching Round 5 of the 2023 Supercross schedule at NRG Stadium in Houston on Saturday, Feb. 4, 2023:

(All times are ET)

BROADCAST/STREAMING SCHEDULE: TV coverage of Round 5 will begin Saturday at 8 p.m. ET streaming on Peacock and will re-air Monday, Feb. 6 at 1 a.m. on CNBC. The Race Day Live show (including qualifying) will begin on Peacock at 2:30 p.m. ET.

NBC Sports will have exclusive live coverage of races, qualifiers and heats for the record 31 events in SuperMotocross. The main events will be presented on Peacock, NBC, USA Network, CNBC, and NBC Sports digital platforms.

Peacock will become the home of the SuperMotocross World Championship series in 2023 with live coverage of all races, qualifying, and heats from January to October. There will be 23 races livestreamed exclusively on Peacock, including a SuperMotocross World Championship Playoff event. The platform also will provide on-demand replays of every race.

ENTRY LISTS: 450 division l 250 division

EVENT SCHEDULE (all times ET):

Here are the start times for Saturday, according to the Monster Energy Supercross schedule from the AMA:

2:05-2:15 p.m.: 250SX Group C Qualifying 1
2:20-2:30 p.m.: 250SX Group B Qualifying 1
2:35-2:45 p.m.: 250SX Group A Qualifying 1
2:50-3 p.m.: 450SX Group A Qualifying 1
3:05-3:15 p.m.: 450SX Group B Qualifying 1
3:20-3:30 p.m.: 450SX Group C Qualifying 1
4:20-4:30 p.m.: 250SX Group C Qualifying 2
4:35-4:45 p.m.: 250SX Group B Qualifying 2
4:50-5 p.m.: 250SX Group A Qualifying 2
5:05-5:15 p.m.: 450SX Group A Qualifying 2
5:20-5:30 p.m.: 450SX Group B Qualifying 2
5:35-5:45 p.m.: 450SX Group C Qualifying 2
8:06 p.m.: 250SX Heat 1
8:20 p.m.: 250SX Heat 2
8:34 p.m.: 450SX Heat 1
8:48 p.m.: 450SX Heat 2
9:22 p.m.: 250SX Last Chance Qualifier
9:33 p.m.: 450SX Last Chance Qualifier
9:53 p.m.: 250SX Main Event
10:27 p.m.: 450SX Main Event


Click here to view the track map


FINAL 2022 STANDINGS: 450 points standings | 250 East points standings250 West points standings


ROUND 1: Eli Tomac opens title defense with victory

ROUND 2: Oakland postponed by storms

ROUND 3: Tomac holds off Cooper Webb again

ROUND 4: Chase Sexton wins Anaheim Triple Crown


Five things to watch in the 2023 Supercross season

Austin Forkner out for 2023 Supercross season

Malcolm Stewart aims for 450 breakthrough

A new attitude for Adam Cianciarulo in 2023

Ken Roczen signs with Suzuki

Hunter and Jett Lawrence walk a fine line with competition and fans

Three talented rookies move up to 450

Jett Lawrence wants to run 450 division for SMX playoffs