IndyCar results, points after 106th Indy 500


INDIANAPOLIS — With double points available, the results of the 106th Indy 500 naturally had a major impact on the NTT IndyCar Series standings.

With the third victory of his IndyCar career and first this season, Marcus Ericsson jumped from eighth to first in the championship with 226 points, leading by 13 over Indy 500 runner-up Pato O’Ward and 14 over Alex Palou.

Will Power tumbled from first to fourth in the points with a 15th in the Indy 500.

Ericsson notched the first Indy 500 victory for Chip Ganassi since Dario Franchitti in 2012. Ganassi won his fifth at the Brickyard as a solo team owner and sixth overall (having shared the 1989 win with Pat Patrick). Each of Chip Ganassi Racing’s five drivers led at least one lap Sunday, tying a record set by Andretti Autosport in 2013.

The race featured 38 lead changes among nine drivers — the third-highest total in Indy 500 history behind 68 in 2013 and 54 in 2016.

There were 27 cars running at the finish, tied for the second-highest total in Indy 500 history (the record is 30 set in 2021), and 22 cars on the lead lap, tying last year’s record.

Here are the IndyCar results and points standings Sunday after the 106th Indy 500 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway:


Click here for the box score from the 200-lap race on the 2.5-mile oval at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Click here for the lap leader summary and here for the pit stop performance.

Full lap chart

Best section times

Full section data

Event summary

Here is the finishing order in the Indy 500 with starting position in parentheses, driver, engine, laps completed and reason out (if any):

1. (5) Marcus Ericsson, Honda, 200, Running
2. (7) Pato O’Ward, Chevrolet, 200, Running
3. (6) Tony Kanaan, Honda, 200, Running
4. (8) Felix Rosenqvist, Chevrolet, 200, Running
5. (20) Alexander Rossi, Honda, 200, Running
6. (18) Conor Daly, Chevrolet, 200, Running
7. (27) Helio Castroneves, Honda, 200, Running
8. (16) Simon Pagenaud, Honda, 200, Running
9. (2) Alex Palou, Honda, 200, Running
10. (15) Santino Ferrucci, Chevrolet, 200, Running
11. (30) Juan Pablo Montoya, Chevrolet, 200, Running
12. (17) JR Hildebrand, Chevrolet, 200, Running
13. (14) Josef Newgarden, Chevrolet, 200, Running
14. (21) Graham Rahal, Honda, 200, Running
15. (11) Will Power, Chevrolet, 200, Running
16. (13) David Malukas, Honda, 200, Running
17. (28) Kyle Kirkwood, Chevrolet, 200, Running
18. (31) Christian Lundgaard, Honda, 200, Running
19. (4) Ed Carpenter, Chevrolet, 200, Running
20. (24) Devlin DeFrancesco, Honda, 200, Running
21. (1) Scott Dixon, Honda, 200, Running
22. (23) Marco Andretti, Honda, 200, Running
23. (22) Sage Karam, Chevrolet, 199, Running
24. (32) Jack Harvey, Honda, 199, Running
25. (10) Takuma Sato, Honda, 199, Running
26. (33) Stefan Wilson, Chevrolet, 198, Running
27. (29) Dalton Kellett, Chevrolet, 198, Running
28. (12) Jimmie Johnson, Honda, 193, Contact
29. (26) Scott McLaughlin, Chevrolet, 150, Contact
30. (25) Colton Herta, Honda, 129, Mechanical
31. (9) Romain Grosjean, Honda, 105, Contact
32. (19) Callum Ilott, Chevrolet, 68, Contact
33. (3) Rinus VeeKay, Chevrolet, 38, Contact

Winner’s average speed: 175.428 mph; Time of race: 02:51:00.6432; Margin of victory: Under caution; Cautions: 6 for 31 laps; Lead changes: 38 among 9 drivers; Lap leaders: Palou 1-7; Dixon 8-9; Palou 10-12; Dixon 13-16; Palou 17-21; Dixon 22-29; Palou 30; VeeKay 31; Ericsson 32; O’Ward 33-35; Palou 36-47; Dixon 48-50; Palou 51; Dixon 52-53; Palou 54-57; Dixon 58-59; Palou 60-68; O’Ward 69-72; Dixon 73-79; Daly 80-81; Dixon 82-83; Daly 84-85; Dixon 86-108; Daly 109-111; Dixon 112-140; O’Ward 141-143; Kanaan 144; Ericsson 145; Palou 146-147; O’Ward 148-157; Dixon 158-160; O’Ward 161-164; Dixon 165-174; O’Ward 175-176; Kanaan 177-181; Palou 182-184; Andretti 185-187; Johnson 188-189; Ericsson 190-200.


Click here for the points tally in Sunday’s race.

Here are the points standings after the sixth race of the season for:


Engine manufacturers


Points standings: Ericsson 226, O’Ward 213, Palou 212, Power 202, Newgarden 174, Dixon 166, McLaughlin 162, Pagenaud 157, Rosenqvist 154, Herta 142, Rossi 141, Daly 137, VeeKay 134, Rahal 130, Grosjean 128, Castroneves 123, Lundgaard 103, Sato 100, Malukas 90, Kanaan 78, Kirkwood 77, Harvey 73, Johnson 71, Ilott 71, Ferrucci 62, DeFrancesco 62, Hildebrand 53, Carpenter 49, Kellett 45, Montoya 44, Tatiana Calderon 41, Andretti 17, Karam 14, Wilson 10

NEXT: The Detroit Grand Prix will take place June 5 at Belle Isle Raceway Park. Broadcast coverage will begin at 3 p.m. ET on USA.

HOW TO WATCH INDYCAR IN 2022Full NBC Sports schedule with dates, times, networks/streaming

IndyCar disappointed by delay of video game but aiming to launch at start of 2024

IndyCar video game 2024

An IndyCar executive said there is “absolutely” disappointment that its long-awaited video game recently was delayed beyond its target date, but the series remains optimistic about the new title.

“Well, I don’t know how quick it will be, but the whole situation is important to us,” Penske Entertainment president and CEO Mark Miles said during a news conference Monday morning to announce IndyCar’s NTT title sponsorship. “Motorsport Games has spent a lot of money, a lot of effort to create an IndyCar title. What we’ve seen of that effort, which is not completely obvious, is very reassuring.

“I think it’s going to be outstanding. That’s our shared objective, that when it is released, it’s just widely accepted. A great credit both to IndyCar racing, the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, something that our fans love.”

In June 2021, IndyCar announced a new partnership with Motorsport Games to create and distribute an IndyCar video game for the PC and Xbox and PlayStation consoles in 2023.

But during an earnings call last week, Motorsport Games said the IndyCar game had been delayed to 2024 to ensure high quality.

Somewhat compounding the delay is that IndyCar’s license for iRacing expired after the end of the 2022 season because of its exclusive agreement with Motorsport Games.

That’s resulted in significant changes for IndyCar on iRacing, which had provided a high-profile way for the series to stay visible during its 2020 shutdown from the pandemic. (Players still can race an unbranded car but don’t race on current IndyCar tracks, nor can they stream).

That’s helped ratchet up the attention on having a video game outlet for IndyCar.

“I wish we had an IndyCar title 10 years ago,” said Miles, who has been working with the organization since 2013. “We’ve been close, but we’ve had these I think speed bumps.”

IndyCar is hopeful the Motorsports Game edition will be ready at the start of 2024. Miles hinted that beta versions could be unveiled to reporters ahead of the time “to begin to show the progress in a narrow way to make sure we’ve got it right, to test the progress so that we’re ready when they’re ready.”

It’s been nearly 18 years since the release of the most recent IndyCar video game for console or PC.

“(We) better get it right,” Miles said. “It’s something we’re very close to and continue to think about what it is to make sure we get it over the line in due course.”